We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In my opinion - the best beach in Montenegro”

Long Beach (Velika plaza)
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Ulcinj
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In my opinion - the best beach in Montenegro”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is the largest beach in Montenegro, located in the south of the country. The most important thing for me - it is sandy! The sand is grey and very soft. After the rocks at the other beaches in Montenegro it feels like heaven! My husband learned wakeboarding - he enjoyed it very much! There are many parts of the beach owned by the hotels nearby and arranged with chaise longues and beds (in September we enjoyed them for free!), but there is also plenty of space where you can lie as you like. The sea is clean and the water is great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenaskylark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    68
    25
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Less busy than the town beach”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you find the town beach too busy then this should be more to your liking. Accessible by taxi boat you have to wade ashore up to chest deep as there is no jetty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekAndLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best beach in South Montenegro”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The most important thing about this beach - it's a sand beach, which is not a common thing in Montenegro. We had to drive from Bar (~30 km) to get proper swimming experience - all other beaches with stones that harm legs.
As it was written in other reviews - the best way to come to Long beach is by car. The road is narrow and not good for walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best beach for adventures”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is the best beach if you want to relax fully. There are many adventures available, many sports, it great for water sports, fishing, parties... I would only advise higher hygiene.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice beach but not nice surroundings....”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beach is nice espeacially in the morning when the water is clean. However nothing special as the sand is grey and the water color not blue.... What i didn't like are the surroundigns... Not nice view at all ( very flat ) and full of mosquitos! i wouldn't go back ... Except for the dinner at Misko!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Beach (Velika plaza) also viewed

Ulcinj, Ulcinj Municipality
Ulcinj, Ulcinj Municipality
 
Ulcinj, Ulcinj Municipality
Budva, Budva Municipality
 

Been to Long Beach (Velika plaza)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing