We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poking old coil matresses on beds, cold and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Alighieri Residence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stra
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is an apartment, not a hotel. I had to get up early to ask someone to stop playing with a dog on the corridor right in front of my door! The reception was closed when we arrived so another tenant came to front desk after ringing door bell 100 times, a long wait and she looked furious and barked at us.This angry woman with make-up that looked like she was going to do some "theater" performance called a hotel employee to say she didnt understand us, that we were speaking "foreign". I understood her Italian though my husband spoke English to her. She became slightly more civil when I spoke in Italian. She handed me the phone to speak to receptionist who was away, he told me check in was only at 4pm, this was 1pm, but after they realized room was paid, they let us in, all while being very rude. The beds had bumps, I felt the half a century coils in the mattress which should be put in the garbage!. Beds were uneven and broke our backs, plus the pillows were pancake thin. Room is ugly, cheap furniture, cold with no heater, only a thin blanket, really shabby. Location is fine if you have a car, good neighborhood, 40 min from Venice so we got to see other areas and enjoyed it. This is nearer Padova and not a place for those who want to see Venice more than a day but a good value if you don't mind sleeping uncomfortably and see the rural areas nearby.

Room Tip: Check in only after 4pm! 40 minutes drive to Venezia but a good area to visit nearby towns and to se...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarinorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Villa Alighieri Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were only travelling through, so we spent 1 night only in Villa Alighieri. We informed them in advance about our late arrival, but we had to call them, because instead of 9pm we arrived at 22:30. They were very kind and there was no problem with the delay.
They have a nice, big parking space, we liked it a lot.
The room was small and simple, but clean. On the bed there was only one big blanket which was a bit uncomfortable, because we are just not used to it.
The shower is really tiny. The walls were thin, so it was quite noisy in the morning.
The breakfast was terrible...2 slices of 5x5cm sized sea-biscuit, butter and cereal. It was rather poor and we remained hungry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nagyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The room were not that great. Bad interiour and little space.
Not comfortable at all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ulrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

I travel frequently on business and I have stayed at hundreds of hotels. This is a terrible hotel. The door to the room only opened 45 degrees because there was a desk blocking the way. The lights in the room were not working and had to be replaced. There was a cabinet in our room that was locked and seemed to be used by the hotel to store things. It felt like the room was not rented very frequently. It is also a very hard town to find and we got lost several times trying to find the town. The floors are also marble and the furniture in the rooms include heavy wooden chairs. There was a bus tour at the hotel the night we stayed there and as soon as people are awake the noise of people walking on marlble floors wakes up everyone in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CdnFreequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CevdetBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank anngri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripley68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stra
2.6 mi away
Antille Hotel
Antille Hotel
#9 of 9 in Dolo
78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Barchessa Gritti
Hotel Barchessa Gritti
#1 of 4 in Fiesso d'Artico
112 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Angi
Hotel Angi
#1 of 2 in Fosso
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#7 of 7 in Mirano
128 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel In
Hotel In
#2 of 2 in Cazzago di Pianiga
62 reviews
15.0 mi away
La Meridiana
La Meridiana
#8 of 9 in Mogliano Veneto
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alighieri Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alighieri Residence Hotel

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 15, 30039, Stra, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Stra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stra
Price Range: $41 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Alighieri Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Villa Alighieri Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alighieri Residence
Villa Alighieri Residence Hotel Stra, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing