We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love Italy you will love La Foresteria!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Foresteria Serego Alighieri
Reviewed August 24, 2010

A beautifully appointed apartment on a delightful, historic vineyard in the Valpolicella. Friendly, helpful service always delivered with a smile and faultless servicing of the appartment. Good continental buffet breakfast served in delightful surroundings. Air conditioning was provided in the bedroom; it worked well and made sleeping comfortable despite being on the top floor during the hottest part of the year. Kitchen facilities more than adequate (dishwasher included) but little used due to excellent value Pizzeria/Ristorante Casalinga (Primavera) nearby. Verona, Lake Garda, Monti Lessini all in easy reach but you need a car to make best use of the local attractions. A shop on site sells wines from the vineyard (and also by MASI) at very attractive prices. We attended a (complimentary) cooking course, which was quite simply excellent (taught in English by a local Italian who had lived in America for several years). If you love Italy you will love La Foresteria!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpahull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 53 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2008

We went with a small tour and really enjoyed our stay. If you're looking for a hotel with it's features, then this is not the place. We loved that the estate had such a history. The apartments were comfortable. It was October and we did not need air conditioning. As part of our package we had cooking classes so we prepared most of our own food. Otherwise we used the estate as a base for trips to into the surrounding areas and ate at our destinations. Breakfast was adequate, but probably less than the average American expects. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TexasLavenderLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We stayed here for 3 hot days during which time the AC never got the bedroom (the only room with AC) below 85 degrees F. I agree with the previous reviewer about inadequate lighting which made reading in bed ( it was too hot to sleep) impossible. Staff was virtually non-existent and for most of the day the "front desk" is vacant. The hotel has virtually no amenities and that would be fine if you expected to stay at a hostel but we did not. The exterior of the building is lovely but the interiors are drab and shabby with not a comfortable place to sit. If you want to be comfortable after a long day of touring the beautiful Veneto don't consider La Foresteria.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We've just returned from a week at La Foresteria Serego Alighieri and I cannot say enough about what a very special place it is. We came with another couple. He imports olive oil from Italy to the U.S. and we came to Vinitaly, probably the largest wine expo in the world, which also has a huge olive oil component. I booked La Foresteria on-line so we had no idea what to expect. It's on a large wine and olive oil estate that has been in the Alighieri family for 20 generations. The apartments are spacious and well-appointed, the beds comfortable, and the staff could not have been friendlier and more accommodating, particularly Joseph and Marina. The breakfast is great, lots of fresh fruit, cheese, yogurt, etc., and the best cappuchino in Italy.
An earlier review (which I read after we'd booked) mentioned small windows as a negative. We laughed at this...the place was build in the 1300s and picture windows had not yet been invented. I'm amazed at that negative review. Trust me, if you're planning a visit to the Veneto (Verona, Vincenza, Venice, Treviso, Lake Garda), this is the perfect base.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stoupagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
Thank Guido Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank angelo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella
1.7 mi away
Villa Quaranta Tommasi Wine Hotel & SPA
3.4 mi away
Villa Cordevigo Wine Relais
Villa Cordevigo Wine Relais
#1 of 6 in Cavaion Veronese
345 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Giona
Villa Giona
#2 of 6 in San Pietro in Cariano
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Dimora del Bugiardo
Agriturismo Dimora del Bugiardo
#1 of 7 in San Pietro in Cariano
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa San Giorgio
Villa San Giorgio
#1 of 1 in San Giorgio di Valpolicella
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casale Bergamini
Agriturismo Antico Casale Bergam...
#1 of 6 in Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Foresteria Serego Alighieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Foresteria Serego Alighieri

Address: Via Giare 277, 37015, Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella
Price Range: $162 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Foresteria Serego Alighieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Foresteria Serego Alighieri Hotel Sant`Ambrogio Di Valpolicella
La Foresteria Serego Alighieri Italy/Province Of Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing