We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umbrian hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Locanda del Borgo
Ranked #1 of 5 Pietralunga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A perfect stay in a family run country hotel. Our suite, up 50 steps! was at the top of this interesting hillside house, with a small balcony where we sat in the cool of the evening. The bed was comfortable and we loved all the attention to detail.

The family were wonderful- from the moment we arrived when our cases were whisked upstairs, to lots of things to do and places to visit. The Locanda is renowned for its local food and that's why we ate in every evening- we have never eaten such beautiful mushroom pasta, cannelini beans, chocolate, chestnut and ricotta pud, chicken, pork, the meltingly delicious local beef and the day the fish man called- mmmmmm. Their choice of wines for our meals was superb- we wanted a real taste of Umbria- and that's what we got.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beechenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for La Locanda del Borgo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 216 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were booked in to stay at this lovely Locanda for four nights by local friends, who were having a big celebration and didn't have room to put everyone up. It was truly charming and really welcoming. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have a separate sitting area and the one we were lucky enough to have also had a balcony with table and chairs, so that you can sit out and have drink. We heard from other guests that the evening meals were excellent, but we didn't have a chance to eat there ourselves, as our friends were catering. Next time! We will certainly be back. It's also a great location from which to visit Gubbio, if you are touring, as we went on to do. Highly recommended. Anne F

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend 2 weeks ago, the only bad thing was the weather.
This is a small family run place and they couldn't be friendlier. The room was great, with a separate upstairs sitting area and a balcony.
Had dinner there the first night and it was incredible! The best ravioli I have ever had with out question.
Absolutely loved this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at La Locanda del Borgo a couple of years ago for a few days, and I had the good fortune of spending another visit in April. Simone and Manuele make you feel so comfortable. They gave us rooms with a separate living area that was so charming and comfortable I wanted to extend my stay. As we left for the day, we informed them we would be having dinner that night in the restaurant. I forgot to tell them that I don't eat meat, and worried about it all day. That evening, Simone handed me a separate menu from everyone else stating, "We have special vegetarian meal for you, and the potatoes were cooked in olive oil". How amazing that he remember that little detail after two years.
Now let me say something about the food. Paulo, Simone and Manuele's dad is the chef and a master one at that. The food here is worth the drive to Pietralunga even if you are not staying at the hotel.
There is free wifi, the rooms are charming, there is a little court yard to sit in and two wonderful brothers who make you feel like family..what more could you ask.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filisann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Some colleagues and I stayed here are few nights while on our way to Vasto.
We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and quaint decor.
The restaurant prepared excellent food and was well-priced.
The staff were very pleasant and the surrounding scenery was tranquil and beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a place!
I stayed here with my girlfriend for one night whilst driving around Umbria.
The decor is sensational throughout the house, the rooms are full of features that are in keeping with the best of rural Italy.
The owners are lovely family who will run through walls to help you.
Definitely stay here if you're in the area. Very reasonable prices, and great value for money - only downside, is that the toen of Pietralunga is not that interesting, but still its a superb base for trips to Assisi, Montone, Gubio etc.

The food is excellent value for money. There are some up-market restaurants in the area, but the restaurant here doesn't try to be one. Its very good for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My family and I visited La Locanda del Borgo for dinner on multiple occasions during our recent trip to Umbria. Each time, we were absolutely enthralled with the cuisine, the ambiance, and the wonderful staff. Each evening, the food is fresh, locally sourced, and amazingly flavorful, and some of our best memories of our vacation stemmed from this place. I wouldn't hesitate to direct anyone here-- especially those who want an authentic meal for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietralunga
8.2 mi away
Hotel Fortebraccio
Hotel Fortebraccio
#1 of 6 in Montone
546 reviews
9.9 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 10 in Citta di Castello
534 reviews
15.7 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
716 reviews
3.4 mi away
Castello Cortevecchio
Castello Cortevecchio
#20 of 23 in Gubbio
303 reviews
8.5 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Borgo

Address: Via Roma 139, 06026 Pietralunga, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Pietralunga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pietralunga
Price Range: $69 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda del Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda del Borgo is situated in the village of Pietralunga (2400 b.). Pietralunga is located in Umbria - the heart of Italy. It is the historical land of saints and pilgrims. This is a region of green countryside, high in the Tiber Valley (elev. 590m), where the climate remains mild throughout most of the year. Just a few miles away you enter the TuscanianValleys of Val di Chiana and Val d'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Locanda del Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing