We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casella, Eco Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ficulle
St. Louis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Many Disappointments”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We really wanted to have a great experience at La Casella but overall we were disappointed.

First the Good
The Unit - The unit we stayed in was roomy and the views from the deck were fantastic. The resort did a good job designing the units to fit the architecture of the region. We stayed in one of the newer2 bedroom units and it was clean and updated. There were three levels of living in the unit, a main level that housed the kitchen, eating area and covered deck for outside meals and an upper and lower level which held private bedrooms with attached bathrooms. This design provided a good sound barrier between the bedrooms (very private).

Now the Bad
• Despite 80-90 degree weather, the main pool was not open for the year.
• The Hot Tub pictured on the resort web site was not included and was only available as part of a spa package that was very expensive.
• The horseback ride and dinner event that was so positively talked about in other reviews was only conducted in the summer months and not available during our stay.
• The spa which provided massages did not keep regular hours and was only available to guests with multiple day notice. This would not be a big deal but if you wake up one morning and say to yourself, ”this would be a great day for a message” you are out of luck.
• We had dinner at the resort and found the food subpar compared to almost every meal that we eat at during our trip. .
• The Unit did not have basic items that would allow for cooking meals, such as oven mitts, microwave, oven safe dishes , pots and pans.
• The gravel road that is 7 km long, leading to the resort is not well maintained. It has tons of potholes and large rocks which really tears up your auto. Our poor rental car really took a beating.
• The resort is not very close to many of the attractions offered in the Umbria and Tuscany regions. We mistakenly, used this resort as a central location to visit Rome, Florence, Siena, Assisi and the Chianti wine region but found that we spent more time in the car then at the desired locations.

Room Tip: No not use the GPS it will lead you to the wrong gravel road no where near the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brimco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    85
    33
    39
    31
See reviews for
72
132
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

At the outskirts of Fabro-Ficulle, well off the beaten track, you will find La Casella. They offer accommodation at a couple of places. All houses are postcard beautiful and so are the surroundings. We stayed a couple of nights at La Terazze. The room was big and rustic. The pool area is quite big and they also have a small spa.

We also had the pleasure of enjoying the dining at La Casella. The food is the local genuine cuisine with lots of vegetables, nicely presented and always to our utmost satisfaction.

We took part in an out-door trekking arrangement on horse-back. We had wonderful days in Umbria and Tuscany with our brilliant guides and the great food from La Casella. Nice horses, beautiful countryside, we all had a fantastic experience.
I just hope to come back another time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank icca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The one-bedroom Polombara timeshare unit was very comfortable. The resort has units distributed throughout a lovely country setting. It is a bit off the beaten path - several miles of unpaved road to reach La Casella, but that is part of the beauty.

Be sure to have one or more evening meals in the La Casella dining room. The local food is expertly prepared.

Ficulle is a good location for driving to hill towns that are scattered throughout Umbria. Be sure to have a GPS to find your way around the Italian roads. The Fabro-Ficulle train station is just few miles away and provides for any easy train ride to Florence. There is a co-op grocery store near the train station that can provide all that you need for your timeshare stay.

Wi-fi is available but not very reliable. There is a PC in the main lodge for guest use but be aware that it is painfully S-L-O-W.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamJaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We went with friends staying in a 2 bed apartment in La Casselina. Plenty of room for 4. Spacious bedrooms and lounge with small but adequate kitchenette. Breathtaking views from balcony with table/chairs and 2 sun loungers. No shade and temperature hit 33 deg during the week.We had shopped in Orvieto before arriving via Fabro Scala. The supermarket was just near the railway station and stocked a good range of goods significantly cheaper than the CooP in Fabro Scalo which we used for the rest of the week. The Coop is closed 1 til 4pm. The main part of the resort including the pool and restaurant are about 1 mile from La Casselina apartment and we had been told that they put up a footbridge in summer across the river to bring this trek down to about 1/4 mile - work on the river prevented this. We ate in the restaurant on SUnday lunch and 3 other evenings - long tables and a mix of guests. Excellent set 5 course menus but the chef will substitute items if you wish - I do not like rabbit so this was replaced with chicken one night. Wine is included and they will usually put out the local white but added red when we asked. Really good value at 25 euros each. The bar and coffee in the resort were good VFM too- 2 wines 2 beers 5 Euro. 4 coffee 5 euro. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The views are tremendous. We saw Wild Boar on the fields at dusk. The pool was a little cold but never crowded. The road to Fabro is an adventure especially if you meat traffic the other way!! We travelled out to Assisi, Florence and Siena and stayed around the resort the other days enjoying the sun, scenery and wildlife. Overall an excellent week.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Will_Hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed in a timeshare unit which was spacious with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It was one of a small cluster of units with their own pool. The unit was very comfortable. We didn't have opportunity to experience the other services of the resort, despite having to pay a compulsory fee for the spa facilities, but they did appear to be pricey. We intended to stay the week at the resort to explore Umbria and Tuscany and this became difficult because the of the resort's remote location, especially after heavy rain when the one route became impassable. A dinner at the restaurant is highly recommended should you wish to experience a truly Italian 5 course dinner experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGregA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Wonderful site, pleasant staff, excellent food and cooking but the stay has been a bit compromised due to a lot of insects and wasp of any kind and measure....sunbathe it's really impossible as well as have a dip in the pool (a lot of floating insect).
Anyway, the service too could be improved in some aspects: free newspaper and coffee included in meals will be appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed there for a week in Aug. 2006 as a base to see Assisi, Orvieto, Chiusi, Perugia, Sienna and Castialago de leon, we would definitely go back to the resort. We tried to book a week through RCI in 2007 , but the resort was booked. We became regulars in the town of Fabro, go to the Mom and Pop and daughter town store. Fresh cut Procuitto was perfect to the taste at the store. A family owned very modest restaraunt La Perla (2006 and in 2007) located by the train station. Enjoy a wonderful meal and Morretti beer. Cross over the Autostrata bridge through Fabro on the northwest side you can find a gift shop named Morretti, great hospitality and wines.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank like2travel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ficulle
23.8 mi away
Domus Volumnia Residence
Domus Volumnia Residence
#24 of 66 in Perugia
178 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
567 reviews
3.2 mi away
Relais Borgo San Faustino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
14.9 mi away
Hotel Bramante
Hotel Bramante
#7 of 17 in Todi
456 reviews
18.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Casella
Agriturismo La Casella
#1 of 4 in San Terenziano
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casella, Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casella, Eco Resort

Property: La Casella, Eco Resort
Address: Strada Casella 4, 05016 Ficulle, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Ficulle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ficulle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casella, Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casella, in the beautiful Italian countryside, a tourism enterprise that aims at combining the concepts of sustainable economics and high quality standards. La Casella has transformed the countryside Vacation in a life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Casella, Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casella, Eco Hotel Ficulle
La Casella Eco Terni
La Casella, Eco Resort Italy/Ficulle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing