We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Days in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I just returned from three nights at the beautiful and unique Villa Campestri. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome byTatiana, who took us up to our suite with a fabulous tile and beamed ceiling. The ancient walls and tile floors created a Tuscan ambiance, but with all the modern conveniences. During the olive oil tasting with Jemma, we learned so much about olive oil production and what to look for in a good olive oil. Many cooking classes are offered, and I took one on Italian sauces with Chef Cristian. It was a great learning experience combined with fun and a great tasting afterward. The villa offers an abundant complimentary breakfast and an elegant dining room. We ate in the restaurant two of our three nights and enjoyed each meal and the suggested wine. Viola helped us with directions and suggestions for an afternoon day trip. The family who owns the villa has created a wonderful retreat in the beautiful countryside of the Mugello region of Tuscany. What sets this resort apart is the active role the family plays in all aspects of the Villa Campestri experience. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The rooms are large with private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbills50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 706 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I spent three wonderful, relaxing nights at Villa Campestri. The resort is beautiful, with sweeping views of Tuscany and just remote enough to make you feel like you are the only two around. The restaurant was quite good, and the breakfast was delicious! Also the front desk service was wonderful! They were all very helpful. We got massages during a rainy afternoon and it was the most relaxing massage I've ever had. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Tuscany - 45 mins away from Florence, but also a world away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

a week's peace and quite in the most lovely resort. This family owned hotel is the best place I have stayed for many years. The family welcome you as if you are entering their own home, the rooms are well-appointed and food is excellent. The chef experiments with the home grown olive oil and makes some exceptional dishes. The ambiance and grounds are lovely - although too cold to swim yet, the pool looked inviting and the gardens and grounds are lovely for a peaceful walk or a rest in a deckchair with a book. a haven away from the stresses and strains of work and the city and somewhere to visit again and again.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely, but those in the annexe across the courtyard offer a separate ahven if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

When you have enjoyed a holiday previously so much, it is often with slight nervousness that a second visit might disappoint,but how could there have been any doubt! From the moment you drive through the magnificent entrance you breath the calm and pace that the location dictates.The warm welcome from the family and staff can only confirm that your choice to return was the right one.
The rooms were elegant and spacious and the attention to detail much appreciated
The wonderful walks around the house give fantastic and spectacular views of the area, you completely understand how this area inspired so many artists over the centuries.Campestri makes a welcome rest from nearby cultural centres as here after a day perhaps sightseeing you have a sense of coming home and are immersed into this living canvas.
Thank you Paolo and his family and attentive staff for making once again a special trip to remember and one we have no hesitation in reccomending to others.
Liz

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Villa Campestri is located in the beautiful Tuscan countryside. It is a 45 minute drive from Florence and after a day of seeing museums and spectacular views of this bustling city we were so glad to be at this glorious location away from the city. I found Paolo and his family to be warm and inviting, always willing to take time to share information about the beautiful hotel and surrounding property. They are passionate about exceptional Olive oil and everything is geared towards helping people to see the beauty of the tree and it's glorious fruit. The food was outstanding and from the delicious breakfast that we enjoyed in the sun on the back patio to the coffee and cantucci cookies we enjoyed after our daily adventures into Florence, to the spectacular dinner menu which is geared to people really understanding the beautiful pairings of different olive oils with specific foods you will truly learn to see how olive oil can be used in so many wonderful combinations and just how complex and wonderful an addition it is to your diet. I took a very good cooking class, you can plant an olive tree, get a massage and so many other activities if you want them. Or simply drink up the beauty of the awe inspiring location. Many times I felt as though I was in a location for a Jane Austen novel....simply breathtaking!! I look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: they are all special and different since this is an 800 year old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hchris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Thank you to Paolo, his family and dedicated staff for a lovely stay in your beautiful retreat. The meals were delicious and plentiful - especially the breakfast including home made honey and other treats. We enjoyed the walks around your beautiful retreat and te Tuscan hills.

The suite of rooms were spacious though could do with a bit more lighting. The rooms were always cleaned to a very high standard. The olive oils were delicious and the theatre created as different types were offered at dinner was indeed a treat.

Thank you again to Paolo and team for a wonderful stay. We did so enjoy it and would love to return.

Candy White

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We returned to Villa Campestri in August 2013, having spent two weeks there in 2012. Our room was fabulous, with two young kids you really need a bit of space and a decent bathroom and on both these criteria, the resort really delivers. The rooms are so large and airy that even on hot summer days it is still really comfortable and never prevents a good nights sleep.

The restaurant was as good and even perhaps slightly improved over our first trip, with Dario on terrific form with the wine selection.

All in all a wonderful place to spend time, amazing massage treatments on offer, the whole olive oil theme/concept running through the resort, terrific scenery and of course the location. We enjoy driving and having Firenze, lago di bilancino and even Lucca all within a couple of hours is perfect. I would however advise anyone wishing to explore Firenze to heed the advice of the amazing team that runs Campestri, to take the train from Borgo San Lorenzo, rather than driving ....and parking!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

What a nice start to our 2014 Tripadvisor season. We're really thrilled with your recent great review! Thank you! Your remarks mean so very much to all of us here at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
21.6 mi away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,337 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#30 of 410 in Florence
1,126 reviews
8.2 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#21 of 410 in Florence
845 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residenza di Campagna Montelleri
15.2 mi away
Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio
Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio
#1 of 3 in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via Campestri 19/22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range: $108 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing