We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Incredible hotel, amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible hotel, amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights after a holiday rental in Florence city. We took the train from Florence to Vicchio, which took about an hour and was very straightforward, and then a taxi on from there, organised by the hotel (about €30).

We chose Villa Campestri based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor and were not at all disappointed. The villa is right at the top of the valley with great rural Tuscan views. The house is beautiful both inside and outside. We had a huge room overlooking the garden, with a stunning en suite bathroom. Just outside our room was a lovely upstairs lounge with a big stone fireplace. There was another lounge downstairs - all quite dark, which was a nice contrast to the blazing sunshine outside.

I spent most of the weekend by the pool, which was lovely and overlooked the Mugello valley. We also went for some strolls in the beautiful villa grounds, along the olive groves and around some little streams. We didn't have a car, but found plenty to do for a few days around the villa.

We booked the Dine With Us package through the villa's website, which was expensive - but turned out to be amazing value because the food was fantastic! The maitre d' at the restaurant was really great and helped make the atmosphere over dinner on the terrace really relaxed and convivial. The food was incredible - huge portions, beautiful local Tuscan food, great variety.

I'd really recommend this place for a fantastic treat if you like great countryside, a bit of luxury and amazing food. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissPettigrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    77
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
160
326
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Life is what you make of it...People, Places and Things. If you have a passion for food, olive oil or truffles, cooking, rustic old world charm, panoramic landscapes, and picturesque sunsets...then, Villa Campestri should not be missed.

My stay here was part of my first trip to Italy and by far the most memorable part of my trip. Read all of the reviews and you will have many reasons to visit and stay at Villa Campestri (VC). The reviews are spot on...the physical beauty of the Tuscan countryside, old world charm of the Villa's interior and exterior, warm and gracious staff. We knew our time was limited and would decide on Truffle Hunting or a Cooking Classes later but for sure wanted the Olive Oil Tasting Class.

As I wrote, the reviews are spot on which is the reason we booked VC; the location, the staff, the food and a very high rating by TA! We knew the rooms were sans AC. Didn't remember the walk down to the pool as much as how refreshing it was, what a breathtaking view, especially at sunset, and watching the swallows 'swoop' down for a drink.

Our stay at VC was excellent on it's own but it exceed our expectations because of Gemma Pasquali, daughter of Paolo Pasquali, the owner of VC and creator of the Oleoteca and OliveToLive. Gemma's passion and knowledge of the Olive Oil Industry is impressive and infectious. The family is mentioned in the book Extra Virginity and is very well respected in the industry. Accommodating our party of four at an early time in the morning for the Olive Oil Tasting (all other time slots were sold out! same for the Cooking Classes and Truffle hunting so book them early!) we strolled through the Olive fields with Gemma learning more about olive oil than one thought there was to know! The depth of knowledge was remarkable, the information thought provoking but her passion and commitment are genuine and heartfelt. It is apparent in every aspect of VC.

Standing under a tree, learning about the color, shape and taste of the olive leaves, Gemma introduced us to Luigi, the Head Chef, as he walked by us in the field, dressed in his white chef's jacket, hunting for fresh herbs and berries for today's lunch and dinner. Luigi's no different than Gemma when it comes to passion about their craft and sharing it with others. Honestly I couldn't tell you what was warmer...the July heat, or Gemma, Luigi and the staff at VC.

We continue on, down into the Oleoteca where Gemma educates us about the history of Olive Oil trade, the current state of affairs and teaches us the technique of strippaggio, how to taste an Olive Oil and what true Extra Virgin Olive Oil means and taste like. (No more store bought EVO for this family!)Seriously, the way I think of not just olive oil but nutrition on the whole, it has changed my perspective and healthier eating habits. The time we spent with Gemma was more than a class, it was time where strangers bonded, exchanged experiences, had an impact on each other and developed a friendship.

Our dinner each night was perfectly prepared. The salads, beef, pasta, all made with the freshest ingredients and paired well with wines but no matter what we ate or ordered we could not get enough of the Strawberries and (fresh, Luigi, hand picked) Sage Sauce. Writing this is making me salivate reliving the taste! Where else do you meet the Chef picking the herbs for your meal and get a lesson on why it is being served?

When it came time to depart and head further south, we wished we would have made more time to stay at VC. During our stay we shared our itinerary with Gemma. She went above and beyond the call of duty for us knowing when we were departing and where we were headed, she provided us with three or four stops along the way. We decided on the Sulfur Springs and the Wine Estate of Frascole. Frascole was a true gem and we never would have come across this on our own! A small producer in Tuscany, home to the # 1 rated wine in Italy! The sulfur springs rejuvenated us for the continuation south towards Amalfi, again without Gemma and her suggestion, no spa!

On a side note, we fell in love with one of Gemma's dogs. A native breed to Italy of course, the Laggotto Romagnolo, a rescue dog, known historically as a Truffle Hunter. Gemma's three dog's were the first to greet me as I opened the door to my car, and stepped foot on the VC grounds. It so happens my girlfriend and I have been in the market for a dog and now are looking for a Lagotto.

There is a difference between staying in a great place and a great place to stay. VC is a great place to stay. All of it made possible because of the owners top down approach. This is the difference. Gemma could have easily went on with her day. Instead she personally took the time to get the name, address, directions, description of the attraction, name of the proprietor or contact. Wrote it down by hand and then typed it on her computer, translated it into English and printed up separate copies for each couple and handed it to us for inspection before we left. Each stop only enhanced our vacation and memory of Tuscany and Florence and is forever part of our lives and traveling experiences.

I opened the review saying Life is what you make of it...People, Places and Things. The People, Places and Things experienced while at VC were above and beyond our expectation. This stay was a combination of the right place, at the right time, traveling with the right people. People who have a passion for life, passion for their craft and a genuine desire to share their experience with you. We are sure to visit again, order Olive Oil at harvest, and name our Lagotto, Gemma or Luigi! That is the impact staying at Villa Campestri had on us. Thank you Trip Advisor! It is easy to see why Villa Campestri, again and again are a TA award winner for 2013! Prego Gemma! Prego! Thank you for your time and memories, Adam, Liz, Angel and Kellie

Room Tip: My only advice is, spend as little time in your room when not sleeping, as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed for 2 nights. We had spent 4 days in Rome, 1 in Florence and were on our way to Venice. Our stay at Vill Campestri was outstanding. It was a vacation within a vacation. The grounds were wonderful for lesurely walks, the pool was nice to relax during the day. The staff was so accommodating. They were outstanding. In addition, every meal was well done from breakfast through dinner. One evening, my husband even went into the kitchen to thank the chef! Our room was very unique. It must have been the kitchen of the Villa when it was first constructed. It was very nice and roomy, but could use one or two more lamps. My only criticism is that the comforter and linens smelled musty. Otherwise, this was a perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My Husband and myself have just returned from a week long stay at Villa Campestri. We had read all the excellent reviews before deciding that this sounded like a special place to stay. I can honestly say it far exceeded our expectations in every way. All the staff were so warm,friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant twice and had delicious meals both times. The villa is beautifully furnished and is set in a stunning location, it was hard to tear ourselves away to explore all that the area has to offer. All the excellent reviews and visitor photographs cannot do it justice, you have to experience it to appreciate how wonderful it is.
Many thanks to everyone who plays a part in the running of Villa Campestri.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Made a mistake. Only booked Villa Campestri for 2 nights. Should have booked for longer stay. Quick ride from Florence...though you need a detailed map or GPS. Absolutely lovely location, stunning views and hospitality beyond compare. Personnel always very attentive but not to a point of being annoying. The room we had was excellent.

We will make Villa Campestri a regular on our future Italy itineraries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MikeHouston Texas,
Thank you for your comment! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return very soon!

All the best,

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Rented a car in florence and drove about 35km to Villa Campestri, driving can be challenging when you're in a foreign country, as was expected . We took the back roads and drove through the tuscan countryside armed with a paper map and 2 gps(s)! The views were stunning! It's worth the drive! We stayed at the villa for four nights in june, the grounds was charmingly natural and not overly manicured. The pool overlooked the countryside, the view was especially awesome early in the morning when the mist is rising out of the valley. The room they gave us was lovely and spacious, we loved the skylights and the claw foot tub! Every piece of furniture and fixture in the room was carefully selected to not deviate from the character of the region, no detail was spared, from the bed linens to the telephone! At night we opened the windows to let the breeze in and amazingly enough there were no bugs or mosquitoes, not one! And we were only about a floor up. The villa is relaxing, quiet, and comfortable - you won't hear car engines running, no machines humming, nor elevators ding-ing! If you want a quality tuscan countryside experience, intimate crowd, and non-commercial feel then this place is for you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in the deluxe apartment with our three children and enjoyed our stay very much. The apartment was beautifully appointed and comfortable with three separate bedrooms and one bath. The staff was gracious and welcoming. The villa grounds are so beautiful! The pool and view from there fantastic! It is everything you hope a Tuscan villa would be. The breakfasts were also wonderful. My daughter loved making her own fresh squeezed orange juice on the juicer. The restaurant there was good but somewhat slow moving. We seemed to be the first and the last there. Not sure why that was but my husbands main course arrived like 20 minutes after all of us finished ours and the waitress didn't put in my order of the chocolate dessert so we ended up waiting another 20 minutes after the rest of my family finished their desserts. I think dinner lasted 3 hours which wouldn't have been a big deal if we were not tired and cold from the chilly outdoor air. I should say, however, that Danilo was a gracious host. As far as distance from Florence we were an hour by car. Thanks to GPS we navigated the city and its parking just fine. I can't imagine having done without it as Florence is pretty challenging to drive through. If you rent a car get the GPS. It is invaluable even with an iPad. We used both to navigate through 6 countries. There will be times you won't be able to access your iPad maps so the GPS was a godsend. Florence is fantastic. Do yourself a favor and reserve tickets ahead of time for the Accademia and Uffizi online. The resort recommended a visit to Scarperia but we really didn't care for this town. Very sleepy. Unless you want to buy knives don't bother. We did enjoy a winery tour at Colognole which they recommended. We tried to go to top rated restaurant La Casa del Prosciutto in the nearby town of Vecchio but it was closed on Mondays. That's when we learned there is a law in Italy where restaurants need to be closed one day a week. There is a Tuscan barbecue place that looked really intriguing but it too was closed. Overall Villa Campestri was a lovely place to stay
and, even though its a bit secluded, it's a wonderful countryside respite. One last unrelated thing- if you can go to Cinque Terra! Vernazza is one of the most beautiful places you'll ever see!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Property: Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Address: Via Campestri 19/22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing