We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are villas in Tuscany and this one is beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“There are villas in Tuscany and this one is beautiful!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in the deluxe apartment with our three children and enjoyed our stay very much. The apartment was beautifully appointed and comfortable with three separate bedrooms and one bath. The staff was gracious and welcoming. The villa grounds are so beautiful! The pool and view from there fantastic! It is everything you hope a Tuscan villa would be. The breakfasts were also wonderful. My daughter loved making her own fresh squeezed orange juice on the juicer. The restaurant there was good but somewhat slow moving. We seemed to be the first and the last there. Not sure why that was but my husbands main course arrived like 20 minutes after all of us finished ours and the waitress didn't put in my order of the chocolate dessert so we ended up waiting another 20 minutes after the rest of my family finished their desserts. I think dinner lasted 3 hours which wouldn't have been a big deal if we were not tired and cold from the chilly outdoor air. I should say, however, that Danilo was a gracious host. As far as distance from Florence we were an hour by car. Thanks to GPS we navigated the city and its parking just fine. I can't imagine having done without it as Florence is pretty challenging to drive through. If you rent a car get the GPS. It is invaluable even with an iPad. We used both to navigate through 6 countries. There will be times you won't be able to access your iPad maps so the GPS was a godsend. Florence is fantastic. Do yourself a favor and reserve tickets ahead of time for the Accademia and Uffizi online. The resort recommended a visit to Scarperia but we really didn't care for this town. Very sleepy. Unless you want to buy knives don't bother. We did enjoy a winery tour at Colognole which they recommended. We tried to go to top rated restaurant La Casa del Prosciutto in the nearby town of Vecchio but it was closed on Mondays. That's when we learned there is a law in Italy where restaurants need to be closed one day a week. There is a Tuscan barbecue place that looked really intriguing but it too was closed. Overall Villa Campestri was a lovely place to stay
and, even though its a bit secluded, it's a wonderful countryside respite. One last unrelated thing- if you can go to Cinque Terra! Vernazza is one of the most beautiful places you'll ever see!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    77
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
162
329
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place is breathtaking! Staff was so nice! We traveled with 2 teenagers and they really have the best memories here. The smell in the air.... The peace.... The food.... We will be back the next chance we can. This hotel truly is like a dream.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
303 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We were there for two days, our last place in Chianti area on this trip. Romantic settings that we liked, very quiet place and wonderful surroundings .
Food could be much better, wines
decent. We had to leave early in the morning, this was messy, gate was closed, so this made the ending a bit troublesome!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winesurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We pre-paid for two days for two rooms for our party of eight and left after the first night. The grounds were breathtaking but there was not much else to do except walk the hilly grounds. Getting to the hotel was so hilly and treacherous that you don't want to leave for the evening dinner and are stuck with the hotel for the night. The pool was difficult to get to for my mother-in-law down a long hill without useful stairs. We had dinner at the hotel and the food was good but very pricey. The rooms we had were dark and without air conditioning. My first night was horrible as the air was dead still in our dark room. The windows are without screens so opening them risks letting in any creature, bugs or critters of the night. Towels are available for the pool at 3 euros - ridiculous given the cost of the rooms. When I left early, I was hoping to get a partial refund for the prepaid second night but the staff was unwilling to refund a single cent, not the 18 euros for towels, the 200 euros for dinner or the 800 plus euros for the nights we didn't use. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MikeS37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We were counting the days prior to receiving the review. In fact, we were sure to receive this bad review by MikeS37209. To our Tripadvisor readers, let me tell you that the reason why Mr. MikeS37209 wrote this review is not even one of those explained but simply the fact that we didn't pay him back the not-refundable offer for the second night. The Guest asked several times to be refunded at the front desk. As the offer provides a substantial discount of 15% without the possibility of cancellation or changes, the refund is not possible.
When Mr. MikeS37209 left, he explained ​​that the family (8 people) had to visit Venice and not that they did not like the Resort. I am not going to comment the points he wrote except the point where he says that they couldn't open the windows because of supposed "insects or creatures". Well, I can assure you that no "bugs" or "creatures" flies at a height greater than 5 meters. The windows of the first floor are at a height greater than 5 meters, then this phobia is not based on reality. By the way, Mr. MikeS37209 (travelling with his wife, 4 children, mother-in-law and a friend, total 8 people) spent EUR 766,30 for the 2 nights (please note: free upgrade to a junior suite because the mother-in-law had problems with stairs) which turns to be about EUR 47 per person per night. At dinner, he spent total EUR 172,00 in our in-house Restaurant which is EUR 21,50 per person with a bottle of fantastic Chianti Classico. I am seriously wondering if we are a pricey Resort and we are running a pricey restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just returned from 7 days at Villa Campestri.......Totally relaxing, fanatastic food,wine and i had a massage in the olive trees (a must at only 80 euro's for a full hour).
You will need a car as up in the hills but the views are fantastic.
We only left the hotel once and that was for a days visit to Florence which is also beautful and well worth the effort. We drove , very easy but other we knew used the train.
The hotel is very special and all the staff are excellent.
We will definetly be returning, very soon I hope.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDevonExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rented a car in Milan and drove out to Tuscany to Villa Campestri. What an adventure - me and GPS system had some words! the Villa is located up a curvy (and I mean curvy) lush road. The grounds are fantastic - green and very well kept. The "lobby" area is charming and very welcoming. We stayed in the Dalia Apartment that is adjacent to the owners' quarters and their super friendly adorable dogs. The apartment is spacious with all the amenities you'd find in your own house. The furniture is so perfect for the location - it's just perfect. The beds were comfortable with extra bedding and towels available. I really felt like I was home.
The breakfast was simple and delicious. A special shout out to the energetic lady working the breakfast area - she did it all alone (at least for the 5 days we were there); and she would come and go and always very polite, friendly and with a smile on her face :D The outside terrace where we took our breakfast is breathtaking. You want a place to get away from it all and relax and regain your energy - this is the place! We spend a couple of days by the pool that is simply beautiful! We also had dinner there and it was so worth it. Excellent, rich, aromatic food that really hits the spot. My only complaint was that I wasn't able to fit in a cooking class - would have loved to have learned a few tips from the chef. The owners- they are friendly, involved and genuinely seemed to care how our stay was going; the front desk & massage lovely ladies - all super friendly and helpful; loved passing by them in the morning and evening to get a smile (they made you feel like family); the restaurant ladies - attentive, friendly and warm. Everyone was great and they made our stay all that much better. Need to get away, go to Villa Campestri - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a beautiful property located off the beaten path. The accommodations are well appointed, the grounds are wonderfully maintained and the resturant is to notch. All a staff were professional, helpful and very accomodating. Of particular note were Dario (thanks for the gluten free accommodations), Gemma and Tatiana were all gracious.

This is a great place to escape to and relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esteffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,256 reviews
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
841 reviews
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
308 reviews
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Property: Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Address: Via Campestri 19/22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing