We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic though remote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is an amazing resort. The cook is top-notch, rooms are very spacious, huge bathrooms, original 1400 floor and ceiling in some parts, very relaxing atmosphere.
Be aware that Florence is 35 Km away, but that takes one hour along a long and winding (though charming) road. So this resort is in the middle of nowhere, which adds to its charm.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasquale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 697 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

A fantastic place to relax and enjoy the weather, countryside and Florence. Only 30 minutes on the train to Florence from Borgo San Lorenzo (a 10 min drive). Great contrast to bustling, frenetic Firenze. Around the park, there are chairs and tables, pool set into the hillside, plenty of space for kids to run around and explore. The hotel itself is located in an old restored villa. A lot of effort has been made to keep the authentic character of the villa. All the rooms are decorated with antique furniture, wall carpets, paintings. The restaurant is also fantastic starting with the complimentary glass of Prosecco, to the indulgent examples of Italian gastronomy. The menu has a very large selection of Italian dishes prepared with olive oil. The hotel produces its own olive oil. Ask Dario, the restaurant maestro, for advice on wines etc as he is always very helpful. Breakfast is also good and complete, with delicious pastries. All the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival we were heartily greeted, served a cold cuts and cheese platter and wine (due to late arrival and restaurant being closed). We appreciated the personal attention very much and are visiting again this summer with our children this time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debisc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went here with my sisters and it was quiet, peaceful, relaxing, staff was friendly and helpful! The food/wine/service of all our meals were excellent. My sister is celiac and needs gluten free food. We made the staff aware of this and at every meal there was either gluten free pasta, bread, buns or anything she needed. We thought it would be hard for her to eat because of needing gluten free and they were very accommodating. I will go back on my next Italy adventure no matter what. The best views of Tuscany were amazing waking up to, as well as picking a fresh lemon and lime while going on a quick morning walk. The room had so much character and charm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Kendra N,
Thank you so much for your comments. When special needs occur, it is always a great challenge for us trying to please our Guests. Everyone now here at Villa Campestri is very proud after your review and your words really help us keeping high standards in our work during the new season that is approaching. We will re-open on March 25th 2013. Please follow us on our Facebook Page. We recently reached the one thousands fans!
Thank you again and hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here! Beautiful setting and very hospitable.
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Wonderful food, romantic location and hotel room of a very high standard.
Would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puffy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were very reluctant to leave this haven. The food service and ambience are all superb. This is what holidays in Tuscany are all about. We will ask HW to rearrange our itinerary to include a 5 nights stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've never felt that a hotel should charge more before staying at Villa Campestri.

The setting and the views are fantastic.

The olive oil experience was lovely and unique.

The sunset dinners were superb. The food was amazing and the service was excellent.

We had major issues with the Italian postal service from our prior hotel, which Villa Campestri staff were hugely helpful in addressing for us. Without them we'd still be tracking our personal possessions across Italy!!

If the rooms had air conditioning it would be totally perfect. Because of the hotel being a listed building (or something of the sort), the hotel is without air con. We stayed in the very height of summer and we still managed to sleep well. The walls are very thick so it's a naturally very well insulated building.

We can't wait to come back here. Just a great, high quality, incredibly relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Dear Villa Campestri team,
Thank you for keeping this charming Villa in such a splendid condition, also for keeping the history of the place still alive.
We enjoyed our stay in your house. Hope to see you again in the near future. Yours sincerely Fam. DC

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PP77NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
21.6 mi away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,322 reviews
5.8 mi away
Relais Pian d'Ercole
Relais Pian d'Ercole
#1 of 1 in Montebonello
97 reviews
8.2 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,120 reviews
10.9 mi away
Il Salviatino
Il Salviatino
#91 of 411 in Florence
758 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#22 of 411 in Florence
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via Campestri 19/22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range: $111 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing