We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quite a wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite a wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose this Villa mainly for the olive oil experience. This experience more then satisfied our expectation. Gemma, the young woman that presented the course and tasting was so very knowledgable, charming and engaging. We learned a great deal. One of the things offered was an opportunity to plant an olive tree. We did that for our ancestors and for our family that they would always remember their roots. The food was a gourmet delight and the service was as good as any 5 star restaurant . We have been to Italy many times and will return again to the Villa for sure. We recommend this wonderful place and the Mugello Valley highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ljcapuano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    75
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
157
321
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited Villa Campestri last week and I can’t recommend it enough. A friend told me about the hotel as they have visited on numerous occasions and I am so pleased that they shared their secret with us. Both my husband and I loved our stay from the moment we arrived. Unfortunately we had serious problems getting from the UK to Florence (thanks to Meridiana Fly) and instead of arriving in Florence at midday on Monday we arrived in the early hours of Tuesday morning. This threw everything out of sync (our car hire, our return flights, airport parking etc) and I was in quite a state about it all. The staff and owners at Villa Campestri were so accommodating, friendly and welcoming that we soon forgot about the ordeal we had been through to get there.

The Villa is situated in the hills overlooking beautiful, very well maintained, grounds. We hired a car from Florence airport and it was a very easy drive to the hotel. Our welcome to the hotel was lovely and such a relief after the journey. Everyone who works on the front desk is lovely, extremely fluent in English and so helpful. We were offered a drink and were given loads of information about the area and things to do.

We stayed in a room on the top floor of the main building (there is another building just across from the courtyard) and we had the most incredible view over the garden. We even had a spectacular view from the bathroom!! We overlooked the Tuscan countryside and couldn’t have asked for more. The room itself was fantastic. Furnished tastefully, very spacious, clean and so comfortable in all respects.

We stayed at Villa Campestri for 5 nights and it felt like a proper holiday. Breakfast is included each day and it’s a culinary delight – everything from the freshly squeezed orange juice (that you squeeze yourself) to the spread of local produce including meats, cheeses, breads, eggs and fruit.

We booked ourselves on to three cooking classes with “Chef Jerry” and we both enjoyed them immensely. We spent two hours a day learning how to cook Tuscan sauces, Tuscan starters and made our own pasta. The best thing about the class is that you get to eat your handiwork for lunch afterwards.

We also booked ourselves on the olive oil tasting session with Gemma – it was so interesting to learn about the process, the industry, history and the proper way to taste. Gemma is extremely knowledgeable but at the same time so personable and passionate. Lastly, I had an olive oil massage which was lovely and relaxing.

I can’t finish this review without mentioning the restaurant and the food. We actually ate at the Villa every night we were there so I can easily say we sampled the menu in detail!! The waiters, the food, the special VC wine and the atmosphere is what kept bringing up back each night! There are different menu’s and one can mix and match from each one having a primi from one menu and a secondi from another and then a main from the special menu of the day.

I would like to mention that a previous reviewer stated that he was unhappy about having an opened bottle of wine served to his table. The first thing I noticed was that Dario, our very friendly and knowledgably waiter, opened our wine at a little table and let it sit there for a few minutes to breathe (regardless of the wine chosen) and then tasted the smallest amount before bringing it to the table. This is completely normal and we really liked the fact that this was done. It’s a sign of a good restaurant.

All in all, the resort is highly recommended. It’s a place to leave the busy hustle bustle of your everyday life behind and to just sink in to relaxation and luxury.

Room Tip: I am sure that all the rooms are beautiful but we were on the top floor and the view could not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just a short jaunt from the Florence, Villa Campestri is a quiet, cool, and green departure from the dust and bustle of the crowded city. I spent two wonderful days there and was enchanted by lovely villa, the caring staff, the verdant grounds, and the unexpected pleasure of dining on artfully crafted dishes featuring the resort's olive oil. This is not your average agriturismo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YOUNIRHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a few days stay at this delightful hotel. It provides the ideal base for discovering the charms of the Mugello valley and is only 20 miles or so from Florence. The facilities at the hotel are first rate and as a wheel chair user I found the staff helpful and anxious to please. The restaurant is first rate particularly the concern to present local olive oils in pristine condition ( an obsession I believe of Paolo Pasquali one of the family who own the hotel).Breakfasts also particularly good

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narwhal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights. We were looking for a romantic place, close enough to florence, and far enough for the quite vacation we needed. Every single detail is amazing about this place: the rooms, the resort, the location, the service and the food. We will come back there for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moransig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Villa Campestri is a special place where to spend a terrific holidays in Tuscany!!! A wonderful villa located in a very relaxed resort, luxurious rooms and delicious gourmet restaurant. We loved the staff, so kind, professional and helpful too. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Thank you to all of the staff at VCOOR for making our "Babymoon" so special. We booked the "love and a drop of olive oil" package, upgraded to gorgeous suite; had relaxing massages, enjoyed the delicious cuisine and were very happy with the service.

Room Tip: Suite 59 was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
20.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
21.6 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
23.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
5.8 mi away
Relais Pian d'Ercole
Relais Pian d'Ercole
#1 of 1 in Montebonello
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa Olmi Firenze
Villa Olmi Firenze
#1 of 5 in Bagno a Ripoli
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Property: Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Address: Via Campestri 19/22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing