We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuscan Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“A Tuscan Jewel”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Splendor and authenticity are hallmarks of Villa Campestri, an idyllic retreat where the Pasquali family sees to every detail with grace and style. It is seemingly remote yet just a short, exquisite drive from Florence. In the midst of olive groves and stately cypress trees, this 13th century villa is luxurious and, still, utterly without pretension. We were there for a week of culinary adventure led by the renowned food writer and historian Nancy Harmon Jenkins -- an experience complete with olive oil tastings, trips to stellar vineyards and cheese makers, and hours in the kitchen with the the Villa's great, good humored chef Roberto Zamieri. Other guests were there for romantic getaways, family weekends, or all by themselves in search of serenity. No matter your reason for going, Villa Campestri will dazzle.

Room Tip: Corner rooms overlooking the great lawn are majestic, huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    77
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
162
329
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We arrived on 17th June and were made very welcome.
We booked a junior suite which was lovely and with wonderful views.

The terrace for dinner is excellent, so beautiful and with Dario and the team, the food quality and atmosphere, this made for a very special visit.

The surrounding area is very nice, good vineyards, not far to Firenze etc.

We booked a very special treatment, a massage in the open air. do it if you can as it is very relaxing.

We stay in many hotels, both business and private and we cannot speak more highly about Campestri, it was excellent.

Sean and Monika Starkey

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nicoslindos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port st lucie, florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

arrived to a beautiful summer day in the mountains...flowers and grain fields highlight the surrounding valley with the village of vicchio in the background. Olive trees dotted the landscape ...we checked in ...staff were very friendly and informative..the villa is well maintained and our rooms were a delight. Highlight times were cooking lessons with Roberto (Jerry) ..three cooking lessons supplied us with hands on italian meals that can be done at home. We picked sauces, appetizers, and breads for our three themes. Later at the dinner table we were supplied with the fruits of our labor in the kitchen. Visits to the small villages during small day trips along with relaxing hikes in the mountains completed our visit. Would go back again in a heartbeat. 5star review...great value

Room Tip: the apartment was a great value and sized appropriately for our family of four adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryh249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beek, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

In July 2011 we stayed at Villa Campestri for 1 week with 1 child (7 years). In 1 word EXCELLENT.
So this year in July we are visiting the Villa for a few days again. I am looking forward to the delicious dinner and breakfast with home-grown products. The
The entire complex is extremely well cared and very clean. The rooms are very beautiful. Just a GORGEOUS place to be.
The professor and his 2 daughters are very friendly, like all the staff. It is also a children friendly hotel.
We just run out of their delicious olive oil, and certainly will buy a few cans for the coming year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel is beautiful!

We went for a wedding which was 15mins away, below are some helpful points:

-easy to get to Vicchio on the train Pisa-Florence-Vicchio cost about 15euro each for just under 2hr journey and the trains are really nice

-a taxi ride was 20euro from Vicchio train station to the villa

-nothing in walking distance of the villa to eat

-the food in the evening AMAZING at the villa

-the lunchtime menu is small and simple and the sandwiches arnt very filling

-I had a massage which they offered 70euro , you have to have it in your room , it's a shame there isn't a spar room as it would have made a bit more special- very good massage though!

-the manager was very helpful and nothing was too much for them

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckys2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Fells, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I spent a week at Villa Campestri in May and continue to reflect on the beauty of the resort, the optimal service provided and the sumptuous food I enjoyed. The setting of the villa overlooks the Mugello Valley. At times I could not believe the sheer beauty of the views from every corner of the property, including the room. The grounds are extremely well kept and have flowers, cypress trees and of course olive trees in abundance. There are benches and chairs provided throughout the grounds so one can find a private place to read or to contemplate the wonder of the setting.The Pasquali family and their highly trained staff simply cannot do enough for you. I was impressed not only with their willingness to help you with anything you needed, but that they also anticipated and filled my needs and those of the group I was with before anyone could even think to ask. As for the food, some of the best I have ever had in my life. Traditional Tuscan food made from fresh quality ingredients by a talented and gregarious chef. I also took part in an olive oil tasting and have added the enjoyment of that product to my everyday life at home. I rarely visit the same place twice, but after my week at Villa Campestri I am already dreaming of returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCiardiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We arrived during a very heavy rainstorm and so our first views were severely impeded. Luckily the next morning was lovely and so we could appreciate the stunning scenery and the loveliness of the hotel grounds. Our room was rather small and a little cramped, which was exacerbated by the fact that we had to spend longer in it than we would normally have chosen, due to the weather. The meal was a little disappointing. My chestnut pasta dish was a little bland and the lamb cutlets which we both ordered were burnt on one side and almost raw on the other. That was a schoolboy error and shouldn't have been allowed to be served.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Nick, Thank you so much for your kind words about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort. I am sorry it rained so much when you were here but obviously we can't do anything about the weather. About the room: you booked a Classic Double Room. This category is furnished with fine antiques harmoniously matching with the warm colours of the fabrics - in your room wonderful coloured butterflies are the decorations of the fabrics. The rooms belonging to this category measure from 30 sqm (323 sqft) to 35 sqm (376 sqft): we are confident that the room cannot be defined "cramped". About the meal, I wish that you had told us about your disappointment. Dario, our Maitre/Sommelier, couldn't believe about your disappointment when I showed him your review. Your husband looked satisfied with the meal, eating all the 4 lamb cutlets and you didn't eat the last 4th cutlet saying that it was raw. We are always happy to make changes: if you had told us about your disappointment, we could have offered a new dish. Please let us know when you are coming back as we would like to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,256 reviews
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
841 reviews
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
306 reviews
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Property: Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Address: Via Campestri 19/22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing