We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNFORGETTABLE”
Review of B&B Le Due Volpi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Le Due Volpi
Ranked #3 of 6 Vicchio B&B and Inns
Groveland, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“UNFORGETTABLE”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We have been coming to Italy for more than 20 years. Of all the places we have stayed at, including a few 5 star resorts, Le Due Volpi beats them all. Here you will find yourself secluded away in a most quiet pastoral and panoramic setting in Italy. But more than that you will have a spacious room in a 14th century farmhouse, decorated accordingly, but with every modern convenience. Spend a full day in Florence--a one hour trip by train to the heart of the city--and then return to another world of beauty and tranquility. Of course, if you want to dance the night away, just stay in Florence.
Yes, location, location, location puts Due Volpi on top of the list. But what really makes it charming are the owners Heidi and Lorenzo who make you feel that their home is also your home. Periodically Heidi prepares a dinner which you will never find in any restarurant. Don't miss the opportunity. When she isn't cooking dinner there are several good restaurants in the nearby town.
This is a place for people who really want to see another part of Italy free from the hordes of tourists that swarm through the larger cities of Italy. It's best to have a car, but one can take a train to Le Due Volpi and Lorenzo will pick you up and even make arrangements for a local car rental to visit the local towns.
Don't worry about the language. Heidi speaks perfect English and Lorenzo speaks (so does Heidi) perfect Italian. And you can learn a lot about Italy from politics to cuisine to gardening from them.
If you don't find Le Due Volpi a delighful experience, then there isn't much in the world that you can ever enjoy.

John and Diana Gilligan
Groveland, Illinois, USA

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

A couple of friends and I spent two weeks in Italy in October 2010, and we purposely scheduled a few days at this B&B in the middle of the trip so we could rest and recharge. Little did we know what we were in for.

I've stayed in lots of B&Bs in lots of countries in Europe, but this ranks as probably in my top three favorites, if not THE favorite. The house is BEAUTIFUL, the food AMAZING, the scenery BREATH-TAKING, and the hosts (Heidi and Lorenzo) absolutely CHARMING. It's a little out of the way, but that's exactly what we were going for... get away from the city and enjoy the true charm that IS Tuscany.

We loved the authentic furniture and comfortable beds. The room was perfect from top to bottom, and the price was more than reasonable. Heidi and Lorenzo were also a great wealth of information when it came to recommendations on places to eat in the nearby towns and where to do some shopping.

I don't know if my travels will ever take me back to Italy, but if they do, I'll be sure to book at least another three or four days here.

Coincidentally, it was a review from TripAdvisor that first caught my eye and got us looking at Le Due Volpi --- and I'm glad it did!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Guana Cay
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We just spent 3 days, late Oct, with Heidi and Lorenzo. Beautiful home in quiet country side of the Mugello. A special area north of Florence. Easy to location to visit the deep mountains or Florence. Vicchio has several very good restaurants that Heidi guided us to. The hosts are generous, helpful and thoughtful. We were the only guests for our midweek visit and so we got to spend time with them. House and rooms are well appointed, nice views from Superla room,.
Breakfasts were great. Unfortunately we did not get to sample their occasional dinners. This place deserves its number one rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guanacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for 3 days with Heidi and Lorenzo at B&B Le Due Volpi in the first week in Sept 2011. Wow. What a lovely place! Heidi and Lorenzo made us feel really welcome in this lovely peaceful setting. Our two rooms were spacious and comfortable and we loved the idea of having our own kitchen area and fridge. The care taken over our breakfast each morning was second to none with so much choice and wonderful fruit, breads, cakes, cheeses and meats and lovely coffee. Perfect! Heidi cooked a wonderful meal for all of her guests on the second night we were there and the two of them created this magical atmosphere in which we all indulged truly delicious food. We will be going back without doubt!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyfromStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We booked Le Dul Volpi for three weeks in July as are main holiday to escape the heat of the Middle East. A friend who stayed there in 2010 recommended it and we are so pleased we followed his advice an booked Le Dul Volpi - it far exceeded are expectations. The owners Heidi and Lorenzo were so welcoming and hospitable and their local knowledge really helped to make our holiday so special and memorable. The wine tasting at a local castle which Heidi recommended was excellent and we loved visiting the local markets. The swimming pool, table tennis and garden were enjoyed by all especially by our two children aged 7 and 11. The views from the terrace where we ate several of Heidi's delicious meals was stunning. We strongly recommend you sample some of Heidi's home cooked Tuscan meals accompanied by the great wines selected by Lorenzo. Our room on the first floor was lovely which accommodated all four of us easily. It was very useful having the use of a small kitchen just outside our room as well as the outdoor kitchen which breakfast was served in. Le Dul Volpi has everything, you can relax round the pool or do some sight seeing further a field - we visited Siena, Florence, Pisa, Lucca and other smaller towns and villages - we didn't mind getting lost in the Tuscan countryside as its so beautiful. The train system is also very convenient and cheap. As one other reviewer said 'Le Dul Volpi is definitely the best kept secret in Tuscany'. We hope to return next year as there is still so much more to see and do as well as enjoy Lorenzo and Heidi's great hospitality.

Jane & Dayle Kelly - Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Room Tip: Hiring a car is a must. Take plenty of mosquito/ insect spray as there were a lot around when we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellysAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I don't usually write reviews on trip advisor but will make an exception for Le Due Volpi. This b and b is wonderful with the perfect mix of rural splendor, authentic lodgings and unfaultable hospitality. Heidi and Lorenzo are great hosts and will ensure you have a relaxing stay. We stayed in 6 b&bs during our trip and this was easily the best. David and Vanessa

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movingtractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We’re home now for a few days and we absolutely miss being at Le Due Volpi . We recommend this place for everyone who is looking for:

- The nicest, most generous, welcoming owners ever. Lorenzo and Heidi are great hosts: they give great service without bothering you. They know where you should go for good food, nice wine and all other things you’d like to do. If you ask for travelling tips, they will take their time to help you

- Beautiful surroundings: the mountains, hiking paths, it's really quiet, but still 10 minutes away from a small town for grocery shopping and only 40 minutes away from Florence

- Lovely breakfast: every day we had fresh fruit, cakes, bread, croissants and coffee in a warm room with a nice view

- Meeting nice people: all the other people we met at Le Due Volpi were very friendly. The house can be a bit noisy (we could hear the kids of a guest running around), but it never bothered us

- A garden: big enough to find your own privacy somewhere, even though there are other guests at the property

- Great views from the terrace of the house: mountains, we even saw deer one day

- A great apartment for a very reasonable price: we stayed in the Brionvega apartment for a week. It was big enough for the two of us. We had a small kitchen, which was fine for making our own salads or small dishes, a very comfortable bed, a small table to eat at (all in the same room) and a comfortable bathroom

- A pool: it wasn’t warm enough for us in the beginning of May, but in summer it must be great

- A place where your boyfriend (and yourself) doesn't check his IPhone all the time. There is no wireless internet. We liked being away from Facebook, work e-mail, etc for a while. If you do need internet, you can probably ask Heidi and Lorenzo

It was our second time in Tuscany. Although there’s enough to see and to do in that beautiful area, we love doing as less as possible when we’re there. Le Due Volpi was the best place to just sit, read, play games, enjoy the sun, food and wine.

Heidi and Lorenzo, Le Due Volpi, the weather: it all made our vacation perfect!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PS: Heidi, if you read this: thank you for letting me touch your AGA. It was the highlight of our trip (for people who think that’s a code for something weird, it’s not: it’s an oven).

Room Tip: Brionvega: own kitchen, entrance from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
4.5 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
6.5 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
263 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel dei Vicari
Hotel dei Vicari
#2 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Park Hotel Ripaverde
Park Hotel Ripaverde
#1 of 2 in Borgo San Lorenzo
92 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monsignor Della Casa Country Resort
Monsignor Della Casa Country Res...
#1 of 11 in Borgo San Lorenzo
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Poggio Bartoli
Villa Poggio Bartoli
#1 of 6 in Vicchio
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Le Due Volpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Le Due Volpi

Property: B&B Le Due Volpi
Address: Via Molezzano 88, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal spot for a romantic getaway in old recently restored Tuscan farmhouse, immersed in rural setting about an hour's drive from Florence. Spacious comfy rooms, terraces for evening drinks, swimming pool to cool off in, delicious breakfasts served in outside loggia or in front of log fire. Tastings of local food on request. English speaking owners always available for tips and suggestions on visits to local sites of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Le Due Volpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Le Due Volpi Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing