We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seeing and savoring Italy takes on a whole new meaning when staying in a farmhouse at Castello di Bibbione”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Bibbione
Reviewed May 21, 2014

If total immersion into the Italian lifestyle is what you are looking for, brush up on your Italian, climb into your Fiat 500 rental and stop at the COOP for groceries because seeing and savoring Italy takes on a whole new meaning when staying "in country" in a farmhouse at Castello di Bibbione. Located a short distance from the village of San Casciano in Val di Pesa about 15km from Florence you can step into another time and place to experience the fatal charm of Italy that will make you want to return for more. And I have. Over 15+years and 15,000+ miles traveling in Italy on business and pleasure I have stayed more than once in the farmhouses on the grounds that were once part of Machiavelli's hunting lodge. Wake up to groves of olive trees and the scent of lavender with a view of the hills of Chianti staying in tastefully restored apartments, cottages and farm houses (fattorie) on the estate grounds. Accommodations are well-appointed yet kid-friendly and everyone on site does their best to ensure that your stay is most comfortable. Over the years groups of 2, 6 and 8 have stayed at LeGinestre (down the hill) a two storied farmhouse with a private garden, Tuscan fireplace and outdoor bbq perfect for cooking a bistecca and Poggiosanto, all on one level (up the hill) with a staired entrance. Both felt like we had arrived at our own Italian home in Tuscany. There is a very nice pool and the grounds and surrounding area are perfect to walk. Be aware that you are traveling beyond the beltway and the drive up to the property is steep and winding but the location is not remote and there is access to the town with grocery stores, hospitals, restaurants, gas stations and easy access to main roads to travel throughout Tuscany.

Room Tip: Our favorite is Le Ginestre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

This estate is really well positioned to explore all of beautiful Tuscany. It is close to the larger centres like Florence and Sienna but also an ideal starting point to visit the smaller, charming little villages and wine farms. We even managed a day trip to the Cinque Terre from here!

We stayed in 'La Canonica' which was ideal for our family of 4 with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The unit was the middle level of a three level converted medieval building and had its own little garden. We moved the outdoor chairs from the back of the building to the front to soak up the sun and the views in the afternoons. The configuration of the apartment is unusual due to the medieval bones of the building, but this just added to the charm and authenticity.

There is a gorgeous, well maintained pool set in pretty peaceful gardens with beautiful views over the valley below. We felt that our stay here offered extremely good value for money.

The only thing that would be a valuable addition to the on site facilities would be a laundry. When staying for a week, especially as part of a longer holiday, it is necessary to do some laundry and, although there is a laundry nearby, it means you have to drive into town and then wait while your laundry is being completed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivetoTravelRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Niccolò Machiavelli’s hunting lodge brings you back to medieval times. Surrounded by greenery, the accommodations enjoy spectacular views of the Chianti hills. The lodges are furnished with Tuscan charm. We are a family of 5 and stayed in the 74 Le Ginestre. Our lodge/villa was very comfortable and spacious. The main living area is downstairs with a kitchen, dining room and living area. Upstairs are two bedrooms with a common living area and fireplace. The only downside was that there was no air conditioning. The location is wonderful because it is convenient to Florence & Siena and many of the smaller Medieval towns in Tuscany. We enjoyed the wonderful grounds of the Castle, especially the relaxing infinity pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is our second time staying at Castello di Bibbione and once again it exceeded our expectations. The castle and small villas give you a real Tuscan feel. The villas are spacious and nicely furnished with all of the modern amenities. The views outside are breathtaking and very relaxing. One great thing about Castello di Bibbione is the location. It is only 20 minutes from Florence and very close to some amazing Tuscan villages (Castellina, Greve, San Gimignano, Cortona, Volterra and Siena). This allowed us to stay in one place for the week while we toured the area. Although you are close to the Superstrada, you still feel like you are out in the country...very quiet and serene. The Staff, Sarah and Cristiana, are very accommodating and are very helpful in making your trip more enjoyable. If you are planning to tour Tuscany, Castello di Bibbione is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmmr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

... you'll want to spend a good, long week.

If not longer.

The property is located just enough South of Florence to miss big city traffic and just close enough to San Casciano and Bargino that you have quick access to small town amenities and great restaurants.

Bibbione is a treasure.

Florence, Siena, Greve in Chianti and many other beautiful places are easy drives from the Castle. Sometimes harrowing, but. easy. (Most of us have driveways wider than the road up to the castle).

Our apartment, Canonica I, is the middle floor of a 3 story lodge. It has two bedrooms, two baths, a large Living Room with fireplace, a well stocked Kitchen and a spacious Dining Room. Views through the Bedrooms' and Master Bath windows are beautiful. The backyard has a nice sitting area, and we relocated some of the lawn furniture to the front of our apartment so we could enjoy the beautiful view across the valley to neighboring olive groves and vineyards. The middle floor location also had a ground floor, front yard seating area. Closed to our access, the lodge also has an old Chapel that is part of the structure.

The staff (Sarah and Valeria) are knowledgeable tour-information providers, as well as the friendliest folks around!

We would highly recommend the Castello di Bibione.

Room Tip: I did not see views from all of the units, but, Canonica I is a 3 story unit with both the 1st and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faldago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband is from Florence (Firenze) Italy and although we have a home in Florence when we come home to visit, we escape from the city, to Castello di Bibbione we love to stay in the converted hunting lodges they are warm, inviting and give you the true experience of country Tuscan living. In the year 1511, Niccolò Machiavelli (who possessed family estates about 6 km from Bibbione in Sant’Andrea in Percussina) bought the Castle and the farmland using it as a hunting lodges, the family converted the hunting lodges into the current guest cottages complete with kitchen and everything to cook with if you so desire, living room, fireplace bedroom and bathroom. The grounds are exquisite. Well located to Toscana and nearby regions. If you are looking for a true Tuscan Experience, this is it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

my wife and I were travelling through the tuscany and found this lovely place by accident. The castello has the medivial charme, located on a hill, sourrounded by the picture book tuscany landscape. The apartment was huge (90 m2), having a fireplace, a well equipped kitchen, and big bath-and bedroom with a cosy bed. The price was really reasonable and the service was excellent. There was nothing I could complain about - it was just a perfect stay and we will definitley come again. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bibbione, Responsabile reception at Castello di Bibbione, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Cari Paul & Victoria,
Many thanks for your post! We are very happy to know that you spent a nice holiday with us.
We will go on doing our best to keep up to our Customer expectations!
We really hope to see you again!

All the best,
Sara, Cristiana and Valeria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Casciano in Val di Pesa hotels
2.6 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
817 reviews
3.6 mi away
Castello di Gabbiano
Castello di Gabbiano
#4 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Relais Poggio Borgoni
Relais Poggio Borgoni
#2 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#4 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
543 reviews
1.5 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
596 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fattoria la Loggia
Fattoria la Loggia
#6 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Bibbione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Bibbione

Address: Via di Collina 66 | 50026 Loc. Montefiridolfi, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: $97 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castello di Bibbione 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niccolò Machiavelli’s hunting lodge brings back to medieval atmospheres. Surrounded by greenery, the accommodations enjoy a splendid view of the Chianti hills and are furnished with all modern convenience while keeping to the traditional Tuscan style.The Wellness Centre offers massages and yoga classes.At few kilometres from the estate, it is possible to practice horseback riding, tennis, and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castello di Bibbione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Bibbione Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Castello Di Bibbione Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing