We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is probably 'The Place"...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Bibbione
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is probably 'The Place"...”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

... you'll want to spend a good, long week.

If not longer.

The property is located just enough South of Florence to miss big city traffic and just close enough to San Casciano and Bargino that you have quick access to small town amenities and great restaurants.

Bibbione is a treasure.

Florence, Siena, Greve in Chianti and many other beautiful places are easy drives from the Castle. Sometimes harrowing, but. easy. (Most of us have driveways wider than the road up to the castle).

Our apartment, Canonica I, is the middle floor of a 3 story lodge. It has two bedrooms, two baths, a large Living Room with fireplace, a well stocked Kitchen and a spacious Dining Room. Views through the Bedrooms' and Master Bath windows are beautiful. The backyard has a nice sitting area, and we relocated some of the lawn furniture to the front of our apartment so we could enjoy the beautiful view across the valley to neighboring olive groves and vineyards. The middle floor location also had a ground floor, front yard seating area. Closed to our access, the lodge also has an old Chapel that is part of the structure.

The staff (Sarah and Valeria) are knowledgeable tour-information providers, as well as the friendliest folks around!

We would highly recommend the Castello di Bibione.

Room Tip: I did not see views from all of the units, but, Canonica I is a 3 story unit with both the 1st and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faldago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    14
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband is from Florence (Firenze) Italy and although we have a home in Florence when we come home to visit, we escape from the city, to Castello di Bibbione we love to stay in the converted hunting lodges they are warm, inviting and give you the true experience of country Tuscan living. In the year 1511, Niccolò Machiavelli (who possessed family estates about 6 km from Bibbione in Sant’Andrea in Percussina) bought the Castle and the farmland using it as a hunting lodges, the family converted the hunting lodges into the current guest cottages complete with kitchen and everything to cook with if you so desire, living room, fireplace bedroom and bathroom. The grounds are exquisite. Well located to Toscana and nearby regions. If you are looking for a true Tuscan Experience, this is it!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

my wife and I were travelling through the tuscany and found this lovely place by accident. The castello has the medivial charme, located on a hill, sourrounded by the picture book tuscany landscape. The apartment was huge (90 m2), having a fireplace, a well equipped kitchen, and big bath-and bedroom with a cosy bed. The price was really reasonable and the service was excellent. There was nothing I could complain about - it was just a perfect stay and we will definitley come again. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bibbione, Responsabile reception at Castello di Bibbione, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Cari Paul & Victoria,
Many thanks for your post! We are very happy to know that you spent a nice holiday with us.
We will go on doing our best to keep up to our Customer expectations!
We really hope to see you again!

All the best,
Sara, Cristiana and Valeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lovely place. Beautiful setting. Easy trips to both Florence and to explore smaller towns. Suites were clean and well maintained. Staff very friendly; they made a special effort to accommodate and to help us. Highly recommended. Good breakfast; also enjoyed the wine tasting and tour of Machiavelli family castle.

Room Tip: choose from a variety of sizes to suit size of your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffymilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Castello di Bibbione in the Canonica 1 apartment. It was very clean, charming and comfortable for 4 adults. We used this as a base to visit villages all over Tuscany on day trips. The view over the Tuscan countryside is spectacular. We saw hot air balloons flying overhead in the mornings and watched the glorious sunsets in the evening. This was our first villa experience so I was a little apprehensive, but we would visit here again for sure. The reception staff was incredible. They gave us great restaurant suggestions in nearby villages and helped in any way we requested.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
295 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Eight adults and two children shared Villa il Poggio for a sun filled week in Tuscany. It was our second stay, the last being 4 years prior. The location allows day trips to Florence, Sienna, Pisa, etc., but we opted to lounge at the pool soaking in the sun and enjoying the view of the rolling hills of Tuscany.

We reserved breakfast at property's restaurant the first morning, but I wouldn't recommend it for the money. The offering was very sparse and not replentished often enough. Our party of 10 was squeezed into space enough for six and the other diners had desimated the "buffet".

The villa itself is charming with 3 large bedrooms in the main house and a one bedroom apartment below--great for the couple and their 2 children. The bedrooms, although lovely, have only a single thin pillow on each bed and only a few hangers are provided in the wardrobes. I remembered this from our last visit and brought wire hangers enough for everyone.

The kitchen was well equipped with everything needed to cook a gourmet dinner with local products. The coop in San Casciano has everything you could dream of--at prices half of what one would pay in the US.

We also tried all of the estate bottled wine offerings which were very good.

But the setting was divine! One can imagine why Tuscany, with its magical light quality, has inspired so many artists. At Castello di Bibbione you will truly get a preview of what heaven will be like.

Room Tip: Round up family or friends and rent VIlla il Poggio--complete with its own private swimming pool set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fififlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the full villa poggio, two families of four, and had a wonderful time. The accommodations are lovely, and quite detailed to the care of the guests. Small touches abound, anything we needed was available. We spent many hours in the afternoons after our daily adventures in the awe inspiring pool. Sipping wine and enjoying the great views. The villa is situated at the top of a hill and has 360 views of the surrounding areas. The staff was excellent, polite, and went above and beyond in all our interactions. I highly recommend a stay here.
Dawn Cornell
New Jersey USA

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Casciano in Val di Pesa hotels
2.6 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#3 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Relais Poggio Borgoni
Relais Poggio Borgoni
#2 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tenuta il Corno
Tenuta il Corno
#1 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Il Fedino
Villa Il Fedino
#6 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Bibbione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Bibbione

Property: Castello di Bibbione
Address: Via di Collina 66 | 50026 Loc. Montefiridolfi, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Castello di Bibbione 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niccolò Machiavelli’s hunting lodge brings back to medieval atmospheres. Surrounded by greenery, the accommodations enjoy a splendid view of the Chianti hills and are furnished with all modern convenience while keeping to the traditional Tuscan style.The Wellness Centre offers massages and yoga classes.At few kilometres from the estate, it is possible to practice horseback riding, tennis, and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castello di Bibbione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Bibbione Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Castello Di Bibbione Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing