We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location,great people”
Review of Villa Sant'Andrea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Sant'Andrea
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed in this lovely villa for 5 nights this past June. The room was huge and the bathroom as well. We were amazed by the size for a country notorious for small rooms. (see attached pictures) The breakfast each morning was varied but always included fresh fruit and the most delicious croissants, as well as the usual meats, cheeses egg etc. The ladies at reception were most helpful with directions and suggestions of things to do and see and also provided help with luggage as there is no elevator. This is a very quiet location out in the country but with many nearby resturants. The only thing keeping the rating from being excellent is the lack of any outside areas for sitting. There is a magnificent view from most any direction and no terrace or seating outside to enjoy it. Other than that and the need for a better reading light in the room it was perfect. By the way, there was also free internet!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sant'Andrea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2009

With the aid of our GPS we had no difficulty finding the Villa and after a few minutes at reception we were on our way to our own cottage, La Quercia, via a private road through grape vines, olive trees and freshly ploughed fields. Our building contained three units like ours and was surrounded by beautiful lawns and garden which included a swimming pool and BBQ area. Our unit had two large bedrooms each with a bathroom (with a tiny shower cubicle) and a central large living/dining area with well-equipped kitchenette with sink, gas stove, microwave and fridge. With tiled floors throughout, the unit was spacious, well-kept, clean and cool. Heating was available for winter.The two king-sized beds were very comfortable as was the pull-out lounge-bed. There was a separate laundry building with automatic washing machine in the garden area for common use.
Our teenage daughter found it too isolated and quiet for her tastes and was a bit put off, too, by the dead snake on the back lawn when we arrived. But the rest of us loved the beautiful rural setting including the occasional pheasant, deer and wild boor, not to mention the friendly little gecko who shared our shower recess for the first two days.

There were several little village restaurants and shops within a couple of kilometres and a proper supermarket, shops, pharmacy, more restaurants etc in San Casciano about 8-9kms away. With the freeway literally a couple of minutes away, there was a fairly easy commute into Florence or longer drives to Pisa and Sienna. We found the GPS invaluable for negotiating the small narrow local roads and not getting too lost.

The staff were obliging and helpful and provided a tour through the 600 year old wine cellars and a tasting of the villa's wines and olive oil.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictorZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We have spent two wonderful Christmas vacations in the Villa Zobi of Villa S. Andrea, the whole family together. The house has an open fireplace where we placed our Christmas tree. It has big spaces for everyone to move around and a wonderful garden with pool. Of course we couldn't use the pool but we will come back another time in the summer also. We had sunny, beautiful days for walks in the countryside and trips to Florence. Of course a couple of days were spent cooking for the Christmas dinner. The kitchen was big and had everything we needed. The whole house was very clean, pots and pans seemed to be new, as a matter of fact all the furniture seemed new. The people in the reception were very friendly, very helpful and professional in every way. We will certainly go back and we recommend it to everyone.

Marieann Spangberg and family

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank n0ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

The building is set on a property with amazing panoramic views of the peaceful valley below.

The rooms and bathrooms are large and well decorated, each with a/c and heat. Our bathroom had both a shower and a tub and was bigger than some hotel rooms we had stayed in before. Some rooms had separate balconies with breathtaking views, and there are other properties connected to the Villa that can be rented for larger groups.

Overall, the best part of our stay was the staff. We had originally booked a double room with an extra bed, but were upgraded to the empty two room suite upon arrival. The wonderful ladies working the reception area gave us great tips on the area's wineries, restaurants, and sights.

The breakfast each morning provided many options for us. There were fresh cornettos, yogurts, cereals, fruits, coffee, hot water, jams, toast.

We also loved our tour of the winery.

All in all, we would not reccommend anyone we know to stay in any other place in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bbdidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

We had a very informative tour of the winery. Our tasting guide Julia was British (married to a local) and very friendly. Lunch was served on the estate with traditional "bread" soup. It was a very relaxing learning experience. Great Chianiti Classico and estate extra virgin olive oil. We recommend you seek them out, just a short drive from Florence (Firenze). We'd love to return and stay at their bed and breakfast inn. The beautiful Tuscan countryside would make staying here a delight. --Susan, October 2007

Thank SusanJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

We stayed at the La Salvia apartment and found the whole stay most enjoyable.
It is a self catering apartment and all equipment looked new or very lightly used. We arrived from Pisa approximately 1hr 30min drive that's not including the time we spent lost. The road signs are a bit hit and miss in Italy they don't seem to be constantly indicating the same town/village. So I would recommend a good map don't just rely on directions.
The first morning we had breakfast at the villa cost was €7 each this was a typical continental breakfast.
The nearest main town we visited was San Casicano a dive of aprrox 20mins it has a COOP supermarket which will have most of your requirements however they do not except credit cards.
There is a market on Monday in San Casicano.
The swimming pool was of a good size but there were no steps in/out. The pool was kept clean but we did find a dead frog in it one morning. Also one day there seemed to be a swarm of wasps that came to drink from the pools water.
The tour of the wine cellar and wine tasting was interesting.
The main road which links Florence and Siena is only a 5min drive away.
We drove to Florence in the evening it took 45mins arriving at 6:30pm we found traffic leaving Florence to be one big slow traffic jam at that time.
The drive south to San Gimignano took 45mins and this town is well worth a visit.
The views from the apartment were restricted due to the way the old building has been converted i.e. high windows or windows facing on to the car park.
At night you may see bats flying around and fire flies in the grounds. We stayed here for a wedding which was held a the villas church and then the reception was held by the swimming pool with the meal being served as sunset followed by a disco under a gazebo. The staff were friendly and helpful through out our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Towni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

We had planned to stay at a farmhouse at the Villa San Andrea for 5 nights. We were driving from Milan and had a quite difficult time finding the villa, even with good directions and a map. The roads in the Chianti region are very windy and the signs are not that good. Our farmhouse was located on top of a hill, that took about 20 minutes to drive up on a gravel road. We were afraid we could get a flat tire on our rental car. We did not realize it was like this prior to arriving. However the scenery is very beautiful & the farmhouse rustic and romantic. There was a swimming pool outside, however there was a dead rat in it, which completely spoiled it for us. They have a washing machine, which was broke, but someone came to fix it immediately. However it took 2-3 hours to do one load of wash. The biggest downfall was that we didn't realize how far an actual town was from the farmhouse - it was at least a 20 minute ride, granted you don't get lost. At night there were several large spiders and centipedes we found in the farmhouse, even with all the windows and screens shut they somehow got in. There was mosquito netting over the bed - perhaps so you dont' swallow the spiders at night?? We decided to leave after two nights' stay and the lady at the reception was anything but friendly and understandable about our situation. She literally told us off and told us to go stay at the Sheraton and never to stay in the countryside again!! We could not believe how inhospitable she was. She was also completely unsympathetic that we were having a hard time finding our way around the area and getting lost frequently. She wanted to charge us an extra night, but once we explained about the rat in the pool, she only charged us the two nights. Due to the horrible customer service on her partm we would never again stay here.

7  Thank Caetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Casciano in Val di Pesa hotels
5.9 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
777 reviews
3.2 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
573 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#4 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Villa Il Fedino
Villa Il Fedino
#6 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
#1 of 1 in Montefiridolfi
237 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tenuta il Corno
Tenuta il Corno
#1 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sant'Andrea

Address: Via di Fabbrica 63, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: $118 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa Sant'Andrea 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Chianti wine district of the Tuscan countryside, Villa Sant' Andrea features a large garden with 2 free outdoor pools and BBQ area. This farm stay produces its own wine, grappa and olive oil. Set in a partially renovated country house, rooms include the use of the outdoor pools, set 1 km and 3.5 km from the property. All accommodation has rustic style and offers a private bathroom and satellite flat-screen TV. WiFi is free throughout. Sant' Andrea Villa is located in the small ancient village of Fabbrica, 10 km from San Casciano Val Di Pesa. Both Florence and San Gimingnano are within a 30-minute drive from the property. Free parking is available on si ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Villa Sant'Andrea Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing