We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream place! Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at Salvadonica and the only thing we regret is our VERY short stay (we didn't want to leave!).

Staff is so caring, professional and helpful and i HAVE to also mention ... Scheggia the dog - anyone will fall in love with her immediately .. Such a sweet heart :).

The grounds are impressive, and besides the outdoor pool, one can play golf, tennis, football amidst the super landscaping. There is also a cute outdoor spot with few gym equipment and a small playground for kids.

We were two couples in a junior suite and all was fine with the accomodation. Room was clean and comfortable.

Keep it up!

We definitely intend to visit again... Hopefully this time next year :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara4702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear S.,
what a lovely review! Thank you very much for your enthusiastic words! This is really a good adv!
Come back soon so that we can share some more chatting about your beautiful island!
With our best regards,
Beatrice, Francesca
all the Staff who join for a hearty thank you for the good things you said, and Scheggia who is moving her tail fast !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 584 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited Villa Salvadonica on July. We came late night and we got room which we didnt order.
After not really welcome conversation with both manager and after good dinner we had to move to Florence to Hotel San Gallo, because room was really terrible and we refused to stay in this room. We reached Florence at midnight and manager promised us we will get our room next day. We came in the afternoon next day after Florence sigtseeing and we got room which we ordered. It was really bad beggining of our short holiday. Anyway, Villa is situated in quite place, there is a restaurant with nice view to the wineyards and with nice Tuscany kitchen, they are serving good wines as well. Double room which we ordered and got second day is equipped in Tuscany style and for our comfort is quite enough, just very important thing is, you are not able to open window during the nigt, there are no mosquito netting and you have to use AC. There is a pool as well and morning swiming is a wonderful begging to each Tuscany day. Reccomendation: for accommodation ask for rooms which are situated in main house!!

Room Tip: Use rooms in main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear F,
Thank you for your review!
It is sometimes weird how things turn up... The day you arrived we had assigned you a nice small Apartment instead of the Classic Room you had actually reserved, thinking to please you with a free upgrade!
We felt so sorry that you firmly decided to leave to spend the first night somewhere else instead of accepting the offer to let you change accommodation the next day.
Anyway, we are relieved that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the Restaurant and all the other services we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
All the best,
Beatrice, Francesca
and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Over one year ago, my husband and I took a leap of faith and chose Salvadonica only from internet research and tripadvisor reviews as our wedding venue and invited our friends and family from Canada and the United States to spend 3 days celebrating with us. From the very beginning, Beatrice, Francesca and Consuelo were very responsive to our emails - they replied promptly on a daily basis with detailed answers and clarified any questions or concerns that we had regarding our event. When our wedding planner (who they had never met before) got in touch with them, the communication between them was seamless, and they worked together to make sure the wedding would be perfect. As one can imagine, planning a wedding from across an ocean can be quite stressful, but Salvadonica worked very hard to make sure that we had all the information we needed to feel comfortable with our plans.
When we arrived, we couldn't believe how lucky we were to be in definitely one of the most beautiful places in the world - all of the views you see in the pictures are real and even more beautiful in person. My husband and I stayed in Melograno 12 which is the converted stable room and it is for sure the most unique and special room that is available, we loved it. The borgo is conveniently located near a town where groceries and amenities are readily available, and trips to cities like Florence and Sienna are an easy car trip away, and surrounded by local wineries. Our guests enjoyed the convenience of these day trip possibilities. Beatrice, Francesca, Consuelo and all of the staff members were a pleasure to meet - they were warm and friendly and made sure that all of our guests had everything they needed. The restaurant served absolutely delicious traditional food using good quality local ingredients at reasonable prices - the cheesecake is the best cheesecake we have ever had. We enjoyed several bottles of the house wine during our stay by the pool while enjoying the view, and we regret that we did not bring some home to enjoy their delicious olive oil.
The day before the wedding, the awesome staff at Salvadonica prepared the most delicious welcome dinner, cooked over an open fire and served buffet style. The set up and decor for the meal was rustic and beautiful and was the perfect way to welcome our guests from their long journey and to kick off our wedding celebration.
The day of the wedding, Beatrice and Francesca surprised us by leaving a beautiful basket of flowers in our room. They also helped our wedding planner to coordinate set up of the event with the caterers. Jessica who is one of their best waitresses was available for the entire evening to make sure all our needs were taken care of. It was the most perfect wedding day a bride could hope for – perfect weather, beautiful views at every turn and never having to worry about the needs of her guests because it was already being taken care of.
Thank you to everyone at Salvadonica for an incredible vacation and for working so hard to make sure this special trip was so perfect for us. We will be definitely be back one day!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear K, Dear M,
..... we simply love you! This is the Review we printed out and framed!!!!!
Only one word: Thank you!
You were the Guests every hotel would like to have: respectful, smiling, positive...
Come back soon... with children!
Beatrice, Francesca
and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Salvadonica for 1 week and during our stay, celebrated the marriage of my sister with 35 close family and friends. The property is breathtaking and very well maintained. On arrival the first night, we had the pleasure of dining at the restaurant and all of the food was authentic and delicious! We truly felt at home and loved lounging either by the pool or sitting in the various seating areas that are scattered around throughout the property: all great places to take in the view while enjoying a glass of the property's delicious wine. Our 3 children had ample space to roam and play safely. Breakfast was always fresh and the chef was happy to accommodate any food allergies. The staff had a quiet presence, but were always happy to help when asked, which is ideal for a relaxing vacation. A big thank you to Francesca, Consuelo, Jessica and Marissa for making our stay memorable! My only regret is that I wasn't able to leave with the Salvadonica cheesecake recipe - the best cheesecake I have ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lngu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear L,
Although we are not allowed to mention any names for privacy reason, we know exactly who you are! We loved your company and you, your children and your family were the best Guests ever: extremely polite, discreet, respectful and always smiling. Thank you for your kind review!
Our Chef's cheesecake is indeed to-die-for and besides it is served on the terrace by a smiling attendant while you are on holiday, with your legs stretched under the table: maybe this is the secret combination of ingredients which is only missing in yours !!!
Best greetings to you all,
Beatrice, Francesca
and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Salvadonica with another couple near the end of June 2013 and didn't want to leave! While we used the beautiful villa as a central point from which to make day trips to Florence, Pisa, San Gimignano and Radda, each evening we could not wait to get back to Salvadonica to enjoy a bottle of wine poolside overlooking the incredibly beautiful countryside. And we also returned each evening so as not to miss the magnificient dinners served in the Ristorante!

The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived after a long train ride from Rome and a stressful drive in a rental car from Florence. Beatrice and Francesca gave us a warm welcome, giving us a tour of the facilities and showing us our rooms. While the addition of air conditioning this year was a wonderful inviting addition, it actually wasn't needed during the late June days. We stayed in Rooms 14 and 15 and both were outstanding, with recently renovated bathrooms. What a treat to awaken to the beautiful view out the windows!

Breakfasts were fantastic, with a wide variety of fruits, pastries and drinks, as well as hot dishes created by the on-site chef that were seasoned with herbs from the villa's garden and which were indescribably delicious! Dinners at Salvadonica are truly a memorable experience, drawing not only guests from the villa, but also locals from nearby towns. The setting is perfect, whether seated inside or outside. And the service was outstanding - Jessica was an absolute delight!

Our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer at Salvadonica. I can't count how many times we said to ourselves "we need to come back here, and stay longer"! Beatrice and Francesca encouraged us to come back at grape picking time in November and December! Well, I'm not sure about that - they said it is an awful lot of work!!

Don't pass up Salvadonica if you are planning to spend time in Tuscany! It will provide you with a truly idyllic Tuscan experience from a "home base" perfectly situated in the Chianti region.

Room Tip: Now that air conditioning has been added to every room and the bathrooms have all been renovated, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guests,
... after reading you words we had tears of joy in our eyes... Jessica was very touched that you mentioned even her...she is the latest (and youngest) who joined the Crew and she was very proud!
Thank you to all!
Come back one day: we are here to make your dreams come true!!!!
Beatrice, Francesca
and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I and our 3 teen age daughters stayed here in order to visit friends in a nearby village and see the sights in Firenze, Lucca and Sienna. We were welcomed incredibly warmly, as was our little dog! Everything was gorgeous, clean, beautiful and authentic. The food was superb and the charming chef made us all feel like old friends. Fantastic pool in the most beautiful scenery -- we didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Each room was very individual as all the buildings hae been carefully restored, retaining their rust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EIE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guests,
You are the Guests every hotel would like to welcome every day: polite, very attentive, smiling, charming, open hearted... what else?
Come back soon,
Francesca, Beatrice
and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Wow!!! Beautiful property with stunning sunsets!! From our initial reservation through check out my family truly felt as though the owners and staff truly CARED about our experience!!

When you go you MUST eat dinner at their restaurant where the food is excellent and the staff is incredibly attentive.

Breakfast = wonderful

Dinner = wonderful

Location = easy to find and very convenient!

Cooking Classes = loved by my 16 and 14 year old daughters!

Property = stunning

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JZwinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Family,
What a lovely message you wrote! Thank you for your enthusiastic review.
Come back as soon as possible as we loved your company as well!
Best greetings to all of you,
Beatrice, Francesca
and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
3.5 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
794 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
575 reviews
6.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
702 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
552 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti

Address: Via Grevigiana 82 | San Casciano Val di Pesa, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: $74 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Chianti hills, this stone guesthouse features an outdoor pool and is located in the rural hamlet of Salvadonica. Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, it offers en suite accommodation with Tuscan-style furnishings, air conditioning, minibar, tv and free Wi-Fi.Rooms and apartments are uniquely decorated and have different rustic features, such as wrought iron beds, frescoed walls, or exposed wood-beamed ceilings.Pastries, jams, meats and cheeses feature in the buffet breakfast , which is served in a room overlooking the Tuscan hills. The Salvadonica features a wine cellar where wine is produced, bottled and aged. Part of the cellar is carved in volcanic tuff.Guests can relax in the large garden, which encircles the swimming pool and overlooks the Tuscan countryside.The property provides free private parking and is well placed for visiting Florence, 18 km away, Siena; San Gimginano, Pisa and son on as well as the marvellous Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing