We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“for a best vacation in tuscany”
Property and a part of the garden, view and the town
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Property and a part of the garden, view and the town
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Property and a part of the garden, view and the town
David
Firenze in the night
Ponte Vecchio
Mercato di San Lorezo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
nec14e
Haifa, Israel
1 review
“for a best vacation in tuscany”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We visited Le Massucce last august for 7 nights.
It is situated in a lovely country side scenery in a village called San Casciano.
We found a perfect apartement beautifully decorated, clean and well equipped.
Our host was very welcoming and eager to assist with all our needs, and recommended on excelent restaurants in the area.
Le Massucce location is perfect for those who wish to spend a vacation in tuscany,
30 minutes drive from Florence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl S
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great central location.”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Le Massucce in San Casciano Val di Pesa. From this house, we were able to explore Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, and many small towns in between. We were looking for a house with enough beds for our family of 5, Wifi for my husband to work in the evening, and a clothes washer. The apartment was not large, but it did have everything we needed and it was in good working order. Benedetta and her mother, Christina, were very kind and even though Benedetta had just had her baby, she still made a point to check on us regularly, and offered suggestions for places to go. I wish my Italian had been better so that I could talk with her mom more.

The town is small and very relaxed, so it is a great place to walk around in the evening with our children. The people here were friendly and there were several good restaurants in the center as well as one VERY good Gelateria. The market in the park was especially fun to see.

If I were to stay there again, we found it would be helpful to have a mirror in another room for people to get ready while others were using the bathroom, and it would be very nice if the hot water were more consistent in the shower. Out of the 9 houses we stayed in, it was only consistent in two, so this might be normal in Italy.

Overall, this was a good experience and a great value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Benedetta was very nice and it was easy to get to many places of interest.
Liked least: The hot/cold water in the shower.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petach_13
Petach Tikva
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent place in Tuscany”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This villa is in an excellent location in the center of Toscana, a maximum distance of an hour from the sites.
In the nearby town has a large supermarket where you can buy what you'll need.
The villa itself is spacious and pleasant to stay there.
The owner is very nice and help in everything possible.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JannHH
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
“Perfect location, perfect rooms, perfect hosts”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2015

In April 2015 we have been here for our second stay in Le Massucce after being here in 2008 for the first time. The location of the farmhouse is located approx 15 km south of Florence, in San Casciano in Val di Pesa, in the heart of the Chianti area. The farmhouse is surrounded by a very nice garden with lots of flowers, herbs, olive and lemon trees etc.

The hosts:
The hosts Cristina and her daughter Benedetta live next to the farmhouse. Both of them are very friendly and helpful and always have good tips available where to go for sightseeing, restaurants etc. Benedetta speaks Italian, English and German language. Both of them always respect your privacy, but they are available in case you have questions or want to have a nice conversation in between. As we have been here for the second time, it was like coming back to old friends this time.

Our apartment:
The farmhouse offers 2 apartments, ours provided 2 bedrooms so the 4 of us were accomodated comfortably. The bathroom is big and provides a shower. In the kitchen you find a gas stove and a nice wooden table where we often had our breakfast. The living room (satellite TV available there) creates a nice atmosphere and has the main entrance to the apartment from the terrace.
The terrace belongs to the apartment and is surrounded by some plants which create a natural atmosphere and gives you some privacy. The terrace is located on a sunny spot which is great for having breakfast or dinner outside. With umbrellas and a "pergola" which can be opened and closed, Benedetta and Cristina provide some protection against the sun - in case it gets too sunny.

The location:
To make it short: We cannot imagine a better location to discover Tuscany.
Benedetta always points out to visit the little villages in the surrounding Chianti area, which indeed are worth visiting, e.g.: Greve in Chianti, Panzano, Castellina in Chianti, Badia or Valigondoli.

But also for the well known Tuscan cities, this farmhouse has excellent location: Florence is just some kilometres away, Siena can be reached directly via the "raccordo" street in approx 45 min. Pisa, Livorno can be reached in almost the same time via FI-PI-LI street connection. There is lots more to discover, Benedetta and Cristina will always be helpful in giving advice. We have already arranged to return next year.

Thanks for a wonderful vacation in San Casciano / Chianti Classico area. See you next year!

Jann & famiglia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J H
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect vacation”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in Le Massucce for one week. The location is perfect to tour the Chianti area, the rooms and facilities were wonderful. Benedetta and her family were great as hosts, very helpful, friendly and generous. We would defenitely return and highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zeev67
Kiryat Tivon, Israel
2 reviews
“Excellent location and great hosts”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2014

We have stayed at le Massucce for 8 days on June 2014.
Benedeta and Johnathan made everything to make us fill well and they succeeded!
The apartment's location in San Casiano is great, it included everything we have needed, and Benedeta helps us with recommendations regarding restaurants, Cafes and information about nice small village we have never heard of.
We miss them a lot and we'll come back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the friendly hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon O
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A perfect stay near Florence”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2015

We were for few days at La Messucce villa; it was superb! Very close to Florence and in a beautiful village San casiano. very good location . The owner ; Benedetta is a great host ,she speaks few languages and was very kind and helpful for our family. She took care and interested in all our needs. About the place : they have 2units ; both of them are very clean and comfortable ! The kitchen is well equipment with new electronic devices and you can feel like home ! It's really high quality of all! The bathroom are excellent codition and very clean. the living room is a warm snd cosy ! there has a nice garden with view and table wich you can relax and eat; there is a private parking . We loved to stay at La Messucce ; it's lovely place and the owner Benedetta made it be a perfect stay for our family; highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean , great and helpful owner , there is all you need!!!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing