We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscan Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tuscan Wedding”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Feeling of being in a Tuscan home, albeit a grand one, combined with great service. Made to fell like part of the family. Each room has unique design. Great location, gorgeous views, wonderful staff.

We had our wedding with 40 guests and everyone is still talking about the "fairy tale" experience at Poggiale

We will make sure every visit to Tuscany includes a stop at Villa il Poggiale.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. We hope to try them all...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miniamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Friends

I hope you have all settled down into your daily routines after such a wonderful wedding party.
We all enjoyed your wedding, for us it was just as like being one of your guests.
It was a pleasure helping you to fulfill your wishes…
You came to us as strangers and you left as friends.
Thank you to everyone and may you continue on your journey sharing this happiness

Villa il Poggiale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    172
    29
    24
    11
See reviews for
144
449
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A one night stay here was not enough - an amazing Renaissance Villa, set in beautiful gardens which we would have liked to have had time to explore, stunning rooms, great breakfast and the buffet dinner we had on our late arrival at 8pm was more than we expected. Anna was a delight - loved her accent. A great place to use as a base for exploring Tuscany. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cas055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
It was so nice to have you here, and we’d like to thank you for appreciating our hospitality.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards
Villa Il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Twelve months preparation for a huge European trip meant everything researched on the Internet - Villa Il Poggiale looked just right for us to enjoy our first experience of Tuscany. Everything about the Villa was exceptional, starting with that vital first impression as you drive through those gates - this really is Tuscany; and the views from the driveway are just great. But the real pleasures start on arrival, with the most attentive and caring staff we have ever met, and the room actually exceeded our expectations. The entire "package" is top drawer, including an "honesty" bar, with everything possible available with just a little form to complete to indicate consumption. The staff were so helpful in every respect including negotiating a more reasonable car hire than I had researched and making excellent suggestions for day trips (including where to park for free in Florence!!). We booked this wonderful place on the basis that it was a "Bed & Breakfast", but every night there is a sumptuous meal available should you not wish to venture out to the village - it was exceptional traditional Tuscan food where it was easy to make friends with other guests. As we live in outback Australia, it is unlikely we will ever be able to return, but would not hesitate to recommend this property to any discerning traveller.

Room Tip: There are stairs throughout the property, but as long as that doesn't present a problem the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We really appreciated your comment .
All the warmest wishes from all of us.
Villa il Poggiale Team
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

First visit two years ago and rated excellent. Second visit gave us no reason to change that rating. We love Villa il Poggiale. The rooms, the setting, the wonderful staff, the access to so many other wonderful places in the Tuscany region... And, considering all, very affordable. The food is great, plus you have close access to wonderful restaurants in San Casciano. We will return to Italy, and il Poggiale will always be a part of our visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 06MellowYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear sirs,

It was so nice to have you here, and we’d like to thank you for appreciating our hospitality.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A last minute booking found us at this Villa. What an amazing place! We had a suite of rooms that were beyond all expectations. Beautiful 4 poster bed and stunning furniture. We arrived late and so went straight to the dining room where we enjoyed a sumptuous buffet and fabulous house wine. Breakfast was also a delight. Anna was a breath of Scottish fresh air. It was a privilege to have stayed in such a wonderful villa. Would have liked to have made this as our base to tour the Chianti region but sadly it was booked out. Definitely recommend Villa Il Poggiale.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WenKerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We thank you for your kind review and we are glad to know that you enjoyed our Villa and our service.
We really hope to have you here again in the next future not too far.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed again this year....three nights early September
As usual a warm welcome and excellent service...efficient and considerate without being over formal or intrusive
All staff friendly and helpful....special thanks to Monica and Anna....I hope the owners appreciate how fortunate they are to have them running the hotel
Anthony & Christine

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to all of us, we are so happy when our guests appreciate our efforts and enjoy their stay.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This Villa was recommended to us by friends, and we were not disappointed. It is a beautiful building in a beautiful setting. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed as were all the communual rooms. The restaurant is very good and serves lunch and evening meals (if required), at a reasonable price. What realy 'makes' a hotel/villa in my opinion are the staff, and in the case of the Poggiale, they were all excellent. I have rarely stayed somewhere where the staff were all so friendly, efficient and helpful - thank you. The Villa itself is outside a small town (San Casciano), which has some nice restaurants and bus/train connections to major nearby cities at very reasonable prices (certainly by UK standards); Pisa, Florence and Sienna are all an easy bus/train ride. The hotel runs an on request shuttle service to the town for $5 eu from 8am to 10pm. The villa has free WiFi which works well in all communual areas but not so well in bedrooms due to the thickness of the walls. Take mosquito repellant - they bite! Overall an excellent experience and one I wish to repeat again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sirs,

It was so nice to have you here, and we’d like to thank you for appreciating our hospitality.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
19.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
16.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
11.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Property: Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing