We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glorious family friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to chillax on our travels through Italy. This is a haven of good service, good food, excellent and accommodating staff. The views are stunning too. Nothing is too much trouble including baking a special birthday cake. Kids are asked to respect that others are relaxing too and it works! I will certainly be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Professionalmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Good morning from Villa il Poggiale Team,

Thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 818 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Set high in the Tuscan Hills with superb panoramic views, this Villa was of the highest quality in terms of location, character and service. The food was superb and the staff really friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room had plenty of character with high ceilings and wooden beams. The swimming pool and leisure areas were great and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikos100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to all of us, we are so happy when our guests appreciate our efforts and enjoy their stay.
Come back soon at Villa il Poggiale!!
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful villa in the Tuscan countryside near a small town. The villa is beautiful as are the grounds around it. Very nice pool for exercise or just relaxing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A bit out of he way if you don't have a car though. The nearby town has numerous great restaurants. The only things that I would tell the staff is to cover the wonderful breakfast foods to keep the flies off. Also to be careful where they recommend that guest park when visiting major cities nearby. They sent me to park in areas where lots were small and filled, but that is everywhere in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscarmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Sirs,

We thank you for your comment.
We really hope to welcome you again in the next future and make your stay even more memorable, so that you will be able to give us the maximum score.
We 'll keep account of your tricks about the breakfast even if keep insects away in the countryside is almost impossible.
Come back soon at Villa il Poggiale
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Villa il Poggiale for two nights during July 2013. The villa is situated about 20 km outside of Florence in the countryside, surrounded by wine and olive fields. The villa is huge and very elegant, it dates back to 1408 and was bought by an Italian couple after the Second World War as a holiday residence. After the couple passed away, their two sons and heirs decided to turn the villa into a hotel. Even though we just booked a "classic" room (which is supposed to be the minor and less expensive one), we had a very elegant room which has huge (about 30 square metres) with beautiful original paintings on the walls and ceilings, a king size bed, several arm chairs and lots of closet space, TV and a large bathroom with a bathtub (ask for room number 9 if you book a classic room). The good part about this room was also that it had WIFI that actually worked the whole time (the hotel only guarantees WIFI coverage in the common/shares areas of the villa), probably because it was situated just besides the large common living room near the lobby. The villa also has a nice pool area, an honesty bar in the living room, a ping pong table, plenty of books for loan in various languages in the libraries, a restaurant which serves light lunch meals and dinners and a beautiful garden. The service was generally good and the staff was very informative about the villa and trips around the Chianti region. Also, the villa has a SPA with a very good therapist and reasonably priced treatments. Parking is available free of charge in a small parking lot just opposite the entrance to the villa. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kosmopolitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Sirs,

It is people like you, it is your sincere words of praise which make our efforts and our job rewarding.
We thank you and look forward to have you here again.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had an incredible stay at Villa Il Poggiale for our group of 7 people for 4 wonderful days! The grounds and the Villa are straight out of a post card, you are surronded by views of a lush valley filled with olive trees and grape vinyes. The breakfast was delicious, we enjoyed a barbecue the first night there, and 4 from our group took the cooking class which was given by Anna, she was terrific! The rooms were comfortable, the staff, Daniele, Irene and Alma were all so accomadating. Highly recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tga088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Special Guests,

What a lovely message you wrote! Thank you for your enthusiastic review.
Come back as soon as possible as we loved your company as well!
Best greetings to all of you,

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel has the potential of being a very classy 5* hotel. It is in a great location with stunning views across the hills and valleys of Chianti with easy access to the main roads of Florence and Siena. Most rooms are very spacious with the majority having a separate seating area (according to the fire floor plan) with some of the lower ground rooms having private/semi-private courtyards. Our room also stayed really cool during the day due to its thick stone walls and being located in the oldest part of the Villa.
In our room, the upholstery was marked which made it look a bit tired and spoilt what was otherwise lovely furniture. Our bathroom was very dated and the clunky shower spilled water like Niagara falls which flooded the floor if we didn't put towels down in strategic places.
We were a bit sceptical about the food as it was buffet style and there was only one dessert but, on the whole, was quite good. But we found the restaurant did lack atmosphere and most diners seemed confused about the self service procedure. Local wine was acceptable and, for the connoisseur, there was a wider choice to choose from.
One of our main frustrations was the lack of Internet access beyond some of the common areas. We also had to reapply for a different pass code every 24 hours.
The staff at the reception were very helpful and obliging, offering to take us into town etc.
Housekeeping was satisfactory although to make it extra special it is always nice to have a turndown service.
Our only grievance was the restrictions on using the public areas that were imposed due to a wedding being held on one of the days.
Overall it is a lovely hotel which we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMolesofSkelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Sirs,

we are really happy that you wish and plan to come back "malgré" the drawbacks and we'll treasure your critics, complains and suggestions. We can promise to fix showers and make internet more easy to use...and I think our new chef's cuisine will make amend for the buffet service!

Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

You feel like a real guest in this beautiful classic "mansion". All the rooms were amazing and pool and spa facilities first class. The food was excellent from the huge range on offer at breakfast to the outstanding dinners (7 courses)! - we ate here every night of our stay. Lovely tranquil spot to visit Chianti towns and Florence. Staff were very helpful in recommending and helping to organise trips (tickets to Uffizi).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to all of us, we are so happy when our guests appreciate our efforts and enjoy their stay.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
8 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
666 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
655 reviews
3.7 mi away
Castello di Montegufoni
Castello di Montegufoni
#1 of 1 in Montegufoni
227 reviews
14 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: $98 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing