We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Nearby Hotels
Hotel di sor Paolo(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Ambrosina(Tavarnuzze)(Great Value!)
$88
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ristorante Bellavista Impruneta(Impruneta)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Cesi(Impruneta)
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel Chianti(Tavarnelle Val di Pesa)(Great Value!)
$81
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Calzaiolo(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello di Fezzana(Montespertoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveler rating
577
187
35
26
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
187
35
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhonor barsan cascianodrawing roomour honeymoonglass of winetuscan countrysideother guestscommon areasbeautiful propertyroom was largebefore dinnerrelaxing stayspent nightschianti areamagical placesmall town
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 839 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had an incredible stay at Villa Il Poggiale for our group of 7 people for 4 wonderful days! The grounds and the Villa are straight out of a post card, you are surronded by views of a lush valley filled with olive trees and grape vinyes. The breakfast was delicious, we enjoyed a barbecue the first night there, and 4 from our group took the cooking class which was given by Anna, she was terrific! The rooms were comfortable, the staff, Daniele, Irene and Alma were all so accomadating. Highly recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tga088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Special Guests,

What a lovely message you wrote! Thank you for your enthusiastic review.
Come back as soon as possible as we loved your company as well!
Best greetings to all of you,

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel has the potential of being a very classy 5* hotel. It is in a great location with stunning views across the hills and valleys of Chianti with easy access to the main roads of Florence and Siena. Most rooms are very spacious with the majority having a separate seating area (according to the fire floor plan) with some of the lower ground rooms having private/semi-private courtyards. Our room also stayed really cool during the day due to its thick stone walls and being located in the oldest part of the Villa.
In our room, the upholstery was marked which made it look a bit tired and spoilt what was otherwise lovely furniture. Our bathroom was very dated and the clunky shower spilled water like Niagara falls which flooded the floor if we didn't put towels down in strategic places.
We were a bit sceptical about the food as it was buffet style and there was only one dessert but, on the whole, was quite good. But we found the restaurant did lack atmosphere and most diners seemed confused about the self service procedure. Local wine was acceptable and, for the connoisseur, there was a wider choice to choose from.
One of our main frustrations was the lack of Internet access beyond some of the common areas. We also had to reapply for a different pass code every 24 hours.
The staff at the reception were very helpful and obliging, offering to take us into town etc.
Housekeeping was satisfactory although to make it extra special it is always nice to have a turndown service.
Our only grievance was the restrictions on using the public areas that were imposed due to a wedding being held on one of the days.
Overall it is a lovely hotel which we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMolesofSkelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Sirs,

we are really happy that you wish and plan to come back "malgré" the drawbacks and we'll treasure your critics, complains and suggestions. We can promise to fix showers and make internet more easy to use...and I think our new chef's cuisine will make amend for the buffet service!

Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

You feel like a real guest in this beautiful classic "mansion". All the rooms were amazing and pool and spa facilities first class. The food was excellent from the huge range on offer at breakfast to the outstanding dinners (7 courses)! - we ate here every night of our stay. Lovely tranquil spot to visit Chianti towns and Florence. Staff were very helpful in recommending and helping to organise trips (tickets to Uffizi).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to all of us, we are so happy when our guests appreciate our efforts and enjoy their stay.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is not a hotel, but as the name says a (very noble) historic mansion. It can not get more authentic. The owners are wealthy people from Florence who run the place as kind of select guesthouse.

So forget about standard hotel services and amenities, but enjoy noble living and real peace.

The gardens and the (unheated - mind the cold Tuscan nights) pool are stunning as is the arrival alley - like out of an opera set. Monica, the manager, is a very energetic, hard working and extremely welcoming woman who along with her informal team obvioulsy love the place and their guests.

Classical music is playing in the impressive drawing room with its honesty bar or alternatively you can enjoy drinks seated under the huge loggiato.

Rooms in this original house vary in style and size. They are very clear on their website regarding view and size. So choose carefuly and don';t complain if you get no view.

Bedding is comfortable and the bathrooms adequate. Don't hesitate asking for a bathrobe and perhaps visit the new spa with a very kind therapist.

Breakfasts have now much improved and apart from the somewhat cramped inside seating there is the ouside terrace overlooking the Tuscan countryside.

Money here is well spent as you are in the middle of all, near Florence and 4 kilometres from one of my favourite Michelin starred restaurants "La Tenda Rossa" in Cerbaia.

The place is also specialized in exclusive rentals for events and catering can be done by the above mentioned "Tenda Rossa" or on a more modest level by Villa Il Poggiale itself.

Room Tip: The "Tuscan Hill" junior suites which at about EUR 200 are GREAT value for money.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank behuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear special guest,

You are always welcome at Villa il Poggiale and we are so happy to meet you also next here!
Guest satisfaction is the best reward to our efforts to make your stay at Il Poggiale a long lasting remembrance.
A big hug
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a very tasteful hotel which will satisfy the discerning traveller. Not quite enough staff in the dinning room which is a buffet for breakfast and dinner. Room cleaning not very thorough but overall a very nice stay in tranquil surroundings with everything else done with style and care.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure to receive your review.
We are going to improve our services so that you may be prepared to give us full marks the next time you are with us.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews