We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tranquil hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquil hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel has the potential of being a very classy 5* hotel. It is in a great location with stunning views across the hills and valleys of Chianti with easy access to the main roads of Florence and Siena. Most rooms are very spacious with the majority having a separate seating area (according to the fire floor plan) with some of the lower ground rooms having private/semi-private courtyards. Our room also stayed really cool during the day due to its thick stone walls and being located in the oldest part of the Villa.
In our room, the upholstery was marked which made it look a bit tired and spoilt what was otherwise lovely furniture. Our bathroom was very dated and the clunky shower spilled water like Niagara falls which flooded the floor if we didn't put towels down in strategic places.
We were a bit sceptical about the food as it was buffet style and there was only one dessert but, on the whole, was quite good. But we found the restaurant did lack atmosphere and most diners seemed confused about the self service procedure. Local wine was acceptable and, for the connoisseur, there was a wider choice to choose from.
One of our main frustrations was the lack of Internet access beyond some of the common areas. We also had to reapply for a different pass code every 24 hours.
The staff at the reception were very helpful and obliging, offering to take us into town etc.
Housekeeping was satisfactory although to make it extra special it is always nice to have a turndown service.
Our only grievance was the restrictions on using the public areas that were imposed due to a wedding being held on one of the days.
Overall it is a lovely hotel which we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMolesofSkelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Sirs,

we are really happy that you wish and plan to come back "malgré" the drawbacks and we'll treasure your critics, complains and suggestions. We can promise to fix showers and make internet more easy to use...and I think our new chef's cuisine will make amend for the buffet service!

Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    158
    27
    23
    11
See reviews for
135
390
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You feel like a real guest in this beautiful classic "mansion". All the rooms were amazing and pool and spa facilities first class. The food was excellent from the huge range on offer at breakfast to the outstanding dinners (7 courses)! - we ate here every night of our stay. Lovely tranquil spot to visit Chianti towns and Florence. Staff were very helpful in recommending and helping to organise trips (tickets to Uffizi).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G0IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to all of us, we are so happy when our guests appreciate our efforts and enjoy their stay.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is not a hotel, but as the name says a (very noble) historic mansion. It can not get more authentic. The owners are wealthy people from Florence who run the place as kind of select guesthouse.

So forget about standard hotel services and amenities, but enjoy noble living and real peace.

The gardens and the (unheated - mind the cold Tuscan nights) pool are stunning as is the arrival alley - like out of an opera set. Monica, the manager, is a very energetic, hard working and extremely welcoming woman who along with her informal team obvioulsy love the place and their guests.

Classical music is playing in the impressive drawing room with its honesty bar or alternatively you can enjoy drinks seated under the huge loggiato.

Rooms in this original house vary in style and size. They are very clear on their website regarding view and size. So choose carefuly and don';t complain if you get no view.

Bedding is comfortable and the bathrooms adequate. Don't hesitate asking for a bathrobe and perhaps visit the new spa with a very kind therapist.

Breakfasts have now much improved and apart from the somewhat cramped inside seating there is the ouside terrace overlooking the Tuscan countryside.

Money here is well spent as you are in the middle of all, near Florence and 4 kilometres from one of my favourite Michelin starred restaurants "La Tenda Rossa" in Cerbaia.

The place is also specialized in exclusive rentals for events and catering can be done by the above mentioned "Tenda Rossa" or on a more modest level by Villa Il Poggiale itself.

Room Tip: The "Tuscan Hill" junior suites which at about EUR 200 are GREAT value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank behuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear special guest,

You are always welcome at Villa il Poggiale and we are so happy to meet you also next here!
Guest satisfaction is the best reward to our efforts to make your stay at Il Poggiale a long lasting remembrance.
A big hug
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a very tasteful hotel which will satisfy the discerning traveller. Not quite enough staff in the dinning room which is a buffet for breakfast and dinner. Room cleaning not very thorough but overall a very nice stay in tranquil surroundings with everything else done with style and care.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure to receive your review.
We are going to improve our services so that you may be prepared to give us full marks the next time you are with us.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Fantastic. Large bright room with four poster bed. The Villa was transformed into a Hotel only 6 years ago and they have managed to maintain the feeling of a family home. Excellent food and the staff are charming. A lovely respite from the hustle and bustle of the City (Florence) and great for touring the Chianti region. We would highly recommend the Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica and it obviously attracts repeat visitors, as we met many in the lovely drawing room whilst supping a very nice glass of vino.

Room Tip: Superior Doubles are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear special guests,

Thank you so much for the beautiful review.
We are so happy that we were able to make your stay a wonderful experience, and for all of our staff it is the most important goal.
Come back soon at Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a wonderful experience it was to spend a few days in this magnificent villa, situated in a peaceful yet central part of Tuscany. Monica's gracious welcome and care and attention to detail ensures the smooth running of this beautiful property.The public rooms are superb
and the luxurious suites are a real treat.As the main road is close by the quieter rooms are on the pool side of the villa so best to request one of these.The honesty system in the main sitting room reflects the relaxed atmosphere of this special place .Highly recommended!

Room Tip: A room on the poolside with a view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!
We hope to welcome you again soon at Villa il Poggiale.

All our best,

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights from 8th may. From the moment we arrived we were awestruck by the sheer beauty and peacefulness of the hotel and the location. The perfect base from which to explore Tuscany. Our room (villa) was spacious and comfortable with its own private entrance. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and assisted with some of the planning for our stay. Breakfast was included and the buffet style provided ample sustenance to start the day. The hotel has its own restaurant for residents only where a buffet meal is served nightly at an additional cost. The food is well prepared and typically Tuscan. There is a very good wellness centre where you can relax and be pampered. Whilst there is no formal bar an honesty bar is available in the large sitting room where you can indulge yourself with wine, beer or spirits. In the afternoon there are complimentary nibbles put out as an accompaniment for afternoon tea, or wine. Villa il Poggiale is a truly enchanting place which I would recommend to anyone who would like the peace and charm of typical Tuscan accommodation alongside a good base from which to visit the Chianti Region

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you so very much for your beautiful words and for sharing your experience!
Hoping to see you again in your next trip to Tuscany we send you our warmest regards

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
11.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#4 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
3.5 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#2 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Le Dimore Mezza Costa
B&B Le Dimore Mezza Costa
#1 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Property: Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing