We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A beautiful Villa with a lovely and helpful crew.
We had a great time and stayed for another night...
Nice spa area and a great breakfast.
17 km from Florence, 20 min. by car, waking up in the country side was great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YS696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Sirs,

It was such a pleasure to receive your sweet review.
Guest satisfaction is the best reward to our efforts to make your stay at Il Poggiale a long lasting remembrance.
With my best wishes and thanks from all of us.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 819 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you are seeking a classical Tuscan villa in the heart of Chianti, you have found the place. The villa is situated in beautiful surroundings only a short drive from both a number of wineries, high class restaurants and Firence. The level of service is extremely high, and the staff did everything possible to make sure we had a great stay in Tuscany.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room as high up as possible to make sure you get a decent view of the surroundings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalErikE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Sirs,

We really appreciated your message and we thank you for your words .
All the warmest wishes from all of us.
Villa il Poggiale Team
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at VIP for 3 nights (extending twice). Upon arrival your are breath-taken by the view of the villa tucked away behind a long circular driveway. We got a great rate for this place, so I was astonished at all the luxuries that were offered. The free breakfast was un-real with eggs, meats, cheeses, bread and even free cappuccino delivered by one of the many incredible butlers. Free wi-fi in the lobby was great as you can sip some wine or espresso as you research your next stop. The service here is incredible. For example, we had a slight mishap here our first night when my gf slipped in the bathroom and cut here eye pretty bad. It was almost midnight and the only person left was the cook who spoke broken english, but was quick to deliver all the medical supplies needed, ice, etc. Then the concierge / head clerk personally drove us to the local doctor in town for a free eval. It was very easy given the help the crew provided. There is pool out back that would undoubtedly be great in the summer. This place has amazing dinners that are authentic italian served buffet style (all u can eat). A great price for what you get. I still think I had the best meal in italy here. The only things that I would change were the temperature in the rooms and the noise with the kitchen next to our room on the bottom floor. Other than that, everything was great. I highly recommend this to couples on the road in italy. It is a heavenly retreat!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Sirs,

It is people like you, it is your sincere words of praise which make our efforts and our job rewarding.
We thank you and look forward to have you here again.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here only a week ago and have to say it was the best accommodation of our whole trip. Its 17km outside of Florence city but still worth going outside the city if you have a car as it was less expensive than everything else we priced and I would imagine the fact its a 14th century villa quite difficult to match. We were recommended an excellent restaurant not far by car to eat which was equally as excellent. The views were amazing and we will return to Tuscany and Villa Il Poggiale without a doubt as we didnt get the best of weather when we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaclaireMal... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests at the villa and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the atmosphere of this corner of Tuscany.
Come back soon to visit us.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My friend and I just finished a tour of the big three areas of Italy and our stay at Villa il Poggiale was easily the best of the trip! Just driving through the front gate is enough to 'wow' you but once you meet the staff it gets even better. We found them to be friendly and very helpful. We were given a tour of the Villa, definitely necessary, and our guide told us that the staff was more like family than co-workers. They helped us find free parking in Florence, let us use their computers to print out vital travel paperwork, and just made us feel very welcome. The only downside was that we could not spend more time in Tuscany with them. I have already recommended the Villa to friends planning their honeymoon and will make Villa il Poggiale the focus of my next trip to Italy.

Room Tip: Just ask and the staff will go out of their way to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear special guests,

It was such a pleasure to receive your sweet review.
Guest satisfaction is the best reward to our efforts to make your stay at Il Poggiale a long lasting remembrance.
With my best wishes and thanks from all of us.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

VIP is a wonderful place. A 14th century villa situated amidst grape vineyards and olive plantations with a wonderful view of the Pesa valley - it is a Tuscan heaven.
A 30 minutes ride from Florence aboard the SITA bus, it isn't very far from civilization. The town itself has a pretty decent market place where you get almost everything. Location-wise, it is a great place to set base to explore Florence, Sienna and the other regions of Chianti and Toscana.
The villa is a wonderful structure with great ceilings and painting adorned walls. The rooms are lavishly decorated with very comfortable settings. Oh yes, you have a nice jacuzzi and sauna you can use after a tiring day out in Florence.
Our 3 night stay was made all the more wonderful because of the hospitality of the villa staff. Special mention for Daniele here who was of great help. The staff doesnt hesitate in going out of the way to make your stay special. Another person who should be mentioned is Cyril who makes wonderful breakfasts and Srilankan pollo.
I would definitely like to visit the place again, perhaps for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask Daniele to suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv_Anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Sirs,

So grateful for your appreciation, makes our efforts worthwhile.
Looking forward to welcoming here again, we send you our best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very nice place: comfortable, clean, close to the Chianti region and to Firenze.
The staff is very kind, their suggestions good and useful.
Excellent breakfast, no noise, relaxing and high level location.
Great experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your kind review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed thsi Tuscan corner.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!
I really hope you can stay with us again soon!

Kindly,

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
8 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
666 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,048 reviews
7.3 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
5.3 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: $97 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing