We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“This was the cheapest but best accommodation we stayed in on our 4 day Tuscany trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Sliema
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was the cheapest but best accommodation we stayed in on our 4 day Tuscany trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here only a week ago and have to say it was the best accommodation of our whole trip. Its 17km outside of Florence city but still worth going outside the city if you have a car as it was less expensive than everything else we priced and I would imagine the fact its a 14th century villa quite difficult to match. We were recommended an excellent restaurant not far by car to eat which was equally as excellent. The views were amazing and we will return to Tuscany and Villa Il Poggiale without a doubt as we didnt get the best of weather when we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaclaireMal... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests at the villa and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the atmosphere of this corner of Tuscany.
Come back soon to visit us.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    154
    27
    22
    11
See reviews for
130
382
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My friend and I just finished a tour of the big three areas of Italy and our stay at Villa il Poggiale was easily the best of the trip! Just driving through the front gate is enough to 'wow' you but once you meet the staff it gets even better. We found them to be friendly and very helpful. We were given a tour of the Villa, definitely necessary, and our guide told us that the staff was more like family than co-workers. They helped us find free parking in Florence, let us use their computers to print out vital travel paperwork, and just made us feel very welcome. The only downside was that we could not spend more time in Tuscany with them. I have already recommended the Villa to friends planning their honeymoon and will make Villa il Poggiale the focus of my next trip to Italy.

Room Tip: Just ask and the staff will go out of their way to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Venlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear special guests,

It was such a pleasure to receive your sweet review.
Guest satisfaction is the best reward to our efforts to make your stay at Il Poggiale a long lasting remembrance.
With my best wishes and thanks from all of us.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

VIP is a wonderful place. A 14th century villa situated amidst grape vineyards and olive plantations with a wonderful view of the Pesa valley - it is a Tuscan heaven.
A 30 minutes ride from Florence aboard the SITA bus, it isn't very far from civilization. The town itself has a pretty decent market place where you get almost everything. Location-wise, it is a great place to set base to explore Florence, Sienna and the other regions of Chianti and Toscana.
The villa is a wonderful structure with great ceilings and painting adorned walls. The rooms are lavishly decorated with very comfortable settings. Oh yes, you have a nice jacuzzi and sauna you can use after a tiring day out in Florence.
Our 3 night stay was made all the more wonderful because of the hospitality of the villa staff. Special mention for Daniele here who was of great help. The staff doesnt hesitate in going out of the way to make your stay special. Another person who should be mentioned is Cyril who makes wonderful breakfasts and Srilankan pollo.
I would definitely like to visit the place again, perhaps for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask Daniele to suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv_Anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sirs,

So grateful for your appreciation, makes our efforts worthwhile.
Looking forward to welcoming here again, we send you our best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant'Ambrogio di Torino, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very nice place: comfortable, clean, close to the Chianti region and to Firenze.
The staff is very kind, their suggestions good and useful.
Excellent breakfast, no noise, relaxing and high level location.
Great experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your kind review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed thsi Tuscan corner.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!
I really hope you can stay with us again soon!

Kindly,

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here with another couple in March/April 2012. It was fantastic and breathtaking. The location is great to go visit Florence or go through the Chianti region. We used it as our homebase. One night we went to San Casciano, a 2 minute drive, for dinner in a local place. As we were going to drink a lot of wine, we got a ride there from the hotel and had a cab take us back. Twice we brought wine, cheese, meats and fruit back with us from Florence and ate at the hotel. The "Great Room" is fantastic. Breakfast's are great. I can't have enough nice things to say about this little piece of heaven in the middle of Tuscany.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments on our villa and our service.
Customer satisfaction is our strength!!
It has been a pleasure to welcome you at Villa il Poggiale and we really hope to welcome you again.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights. What a lovely spot, with great views, places to walk, and good breakfasts.
We had a room on the outside, with a small kitchenette, which was an added bonus!
My only regret is not having enough time to just relax and enjoy the surroundings more!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comment.
Come back soon so you can see better also the area of Chianti and we will be happy to give you all the advice you will need.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. We arrived on New Year's Day and were grateful for the assistance we were given to find somewhere for lunch as many places were closed due to it being a public holiday. The place they booked for us was fantastic - we never would have found it on our own.
The breakfast was great - lots of variety and everything was fresh. The rooms were spacious and the view was beautiful.
I can only imagine how beautiful it would be in summer.
Mostly importantly though, the service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Customers,

Your words make us very happy and satisfied.
It has been a pleasure to spend a few days in your company and we really hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
8.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
3.5 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#2 of 20 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#4 of 20 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Property: Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing