We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. We arrived on New Year's Day and were grateful for the assistance we were given to find somewhere for lunch as many places were closed due to it being a public holiday. The place they booked for us was fantastic - we never would have found it on our own.
The breakfast was great - lots of variety and everything was fresh. The rooms were spacious and the view was beautiful.
I can only imagine how beautiful it would be in summer.
Mostly importantly though, the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Customers,

Your words make us very happy and satisfied.
It has been a pleasure to spend a few days in your company and we really hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 796 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We pleasantly stayed 4 days in this beautiful old villa in Tuscany. The villa is of great architectural interest, located in an enchanting region, close to Florence and not far from Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Monteriggioni and Chianti road. The staff were very courteous and fully collaborative. The park is very nice and in summer should be really nice. The breakfast takes place in a nice room and the food is varied and tasty. A further reason for staying in this lovely Villa is that dogs are allowed and well accepted.

Room Tip: double room facing garden to the olive grove and pool inglese spagnolo doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to all of us, we are so happy when our guests appreciate our efforts and enjoy their stay.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards.
Villa il Poggiale Team
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I were visiting in November this year and we had a wonderful experience at Villa il Poggiale. The staff were so helpful and friendly, the food was amazing, the setting breathtaking and every comfort was thought of. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Sirs,

We are so happy to read your wonderful review. We really enjoyed your stay with us and so glad that it was the same for you!
Come back soon at Villa il Poggiale.
Best regards
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Location of the villa is excellent, nearby Florence, Chianti-route, Sienna nearly 1 hr away.
Great hospitality of everybody.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Breakfats are very good, every morning fresh homemade cake. The Villa is beautiful. We loved to stay here and like to come back soon. We stayed 5 nights, half december, perfect period.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thanks a lot for your words towards our Villa and our hospitality.
We enjoyed very much the time spent with you and we really hope to welcome you again.
Happy new hear from all of us!
Villa il Poggiale Team
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is really a nice place in Tuscany, close to Florence and in the middle of Chianti area. We really enjoyed a lot, the staff is very kind and helpful! Once we were travelling with a kid and a baby, we just missed a room service which would save us leaving for dinning after a very exausting day. But, at the ende, the experience was fantastic! Monica and Danielle are fantastic hosts!

Room Tip: Rooms close the reception are the best ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Special guests,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Il Poggiale and look forward to having you with us soon.
Thank you for your positive remarks about us and we are going to endeavour to improve so that you may be prepared to give us full marks the next time you are with us.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just returned from our 5th stay at Villa Il Poggiale and cannot wait to make it six!!!!
The staff could not be more cooperative and helpful!!! We were even assisted in arranging
for an olive picking excursion!The location is exceptional and the views are outstanding.
Breakfasts are very good while buffet dinners are exceptional!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Special guests,

We are pleased that you enjoyed again your stay with us at Villa Il Poggiale and look forward to having you with us soon!
All of us appreciated your words kindness and generosity; this is what makes our work worthwhile.
A warm greeting from all the staff!!
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our stay was at the end of Oct. into early Nov. The weather was not great every day, which made us appreciate the Villa even more. Our room was very large containing a loveseat, chairs, coffee
table in addition to the standard furniture, so it was very comfortable. The public rooms, many,
were filled with seating space plus lovely music and flowers. The views and the Villa itself created a wonderful atmosphere. Tea and pastries in the afternoon,
plus early evening tidbits and an honor bar in addition a very nice breakfast served to make this
lovely property the greatest bargain at 145 eu per night. Monica and staff were gracious and accommodating without being intrusive. Will definitely stay again and recommend. Stu and Carol

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank trustyBocaRaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure for us to welcome you at Villa il Poggiale!!!
You have been so nice with us and guests like you makes our job more beautiful and more easy every day.

All the staff will be very happy to have you here again!
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
575 reviews
8.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
645 reviews
19.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
552 reviews
11.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#3 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: $134 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing