We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to explore Chianti”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Confortable and good place to explore chianti region of tuscany. It is a real italian villa, with a beautiful view over vineyards and a good swim pool. The staff are efficient , you feel at home with a honesty bar, where you can help yourself. The villa is a historic building, wit some rooms with afrescos. Suggestion: see the room before, because they are different, and some of them not so good, with a bad view ou a noisy from the road. The internet is free in the longe, but each time you have to get a password, it is not the best way to connect.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are better, without noisy from the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruiferriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

We are happy when our clients appreciate our welcome and our Villa.
We always hope to make guests feel at home away from home!
We hope to welcome you again in the next future.
We will do even more of our best so that you can give us 5 score!
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 802 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were looking for somewhere with character, fairly central to explore the Chianti region.
This was a great place.
Food was outstanding. long lazy breakfasts sitting outside (wouldn't have liked to be sitting inside if the weather was bad and the villa full as it would be congested). Had 3 dinners in the villa, which were excellent. We ate elsewhere for 3 nights and the costs were probabaly a bit cheaper at the Villa. It was great to have a variety without having to think about choosing.
Cheeseboard was sensational.
The room was excellent. Quiet, simple, very comfy bed and nice bathroom.
Bursting with character. we felt very privileged to experience a really well run, friendly and historic place. It was like staying in a stately home!
Had a couple of really lazy days by the pool, which was magical.

Room Tip: It is close to the road, which only really affects rooms right on the road side of the villa. we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailinghigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Special Guests,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our villa and our kitchen!!
Thank you on behalf of all staff, which as always was able to meet our wonderful customers, still a big thank you and hope to see you soon.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Pros:
- The mansion and grounds are beautiful
- Quiet setting to read and enjoy a glass of wine while while looking out over the valley below
- Staff was welcoming and courteous and offered us an upgraded room
- Simple, fresh, and pleasant breakfast offering

Cons:
- No mention of the fantastic Chianti Festival when we asked for suggestions of things to do in the area. Thankfully we stumbled upon it after dinner, but would have loved to have planned our evening around the food stands and live music offered all night!
- Beds are HARD
- Awakened early the next morning by wedding preparations going on below.
- Hot water in the shower didn't work. We called to inquire about it and were told someone would be up to fix it shortly -- we waited over an hour and no one ever came so we ended up taking cold showers before checking out.
- Its a bit of a walk from the parking lot to the front desk, but I was told we would need to lug our luggage across the courtyard (wheeling it through the grass or over the gravel driveway) and couldn't pull the car around front. Surprising given that we'd heard cars/trucks coming and going all morning with preparations for the wedding.
- Overcharged for our wine from the honesty bar. Minor, but charged 5 euros a glass at checkout instead of the 4 euro/glass listed on the honesty bar price list. Not a big deal, but still a bit ironic.

Bottom Line:
Villa il Poggiale is nice, but our experience didn't match the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottm247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your comment even if when I read all your observations I was slightly surprised.

I’m not completely in agreement about some of them especially “weddings are their priority”. All our customers are our priority and I hope you can understand the preparation for such important event like a wedding.

I’m sorry but I have to refute the last comment. It is not our practice to overcharge our customers..rather we usually offer our guests water, coffee, welcome drink etc…

However I thank you for bringing all of them to my attention. Me and my wonderful staff will dedicate more energy to the improvement of our services
I’m pleased that you have chosen Villa il Poggiale for your stay and it would be a pleasure for us to meet you here again.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A Typical old ,well looked after Tuscan mansion.
Numerous lounges and coves with lots of atmosphere.
The rooms are spacious and we had a very beautiful suite with doors leading on to a walled patio.
We found the restaurant menu very expensive.
We will go back some day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Special Guests,

We really thank you for your beautifull works about us and our Villa.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Villa il Poggiale.
Hopefully to welcome you in the next future, we send you our best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were made to feel at home and enjoyed a wonderful relaxing honeymoon. The quality of the villa and it's location were outstanding, staff were really friendly and welcoming and the evening meal excellent. Breakfast could have been varied a bit more but otherwise a great place.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichSaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Dear Sirs,

We really thank you for your words!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our Villa, our staff and also our food!
As you know every morning we serve a breakfast of genuine dishes and homemade cakes, usually our customers appreciate our breakfast, however we keep account of your suggestion.
We hope to welcome you again in the next future!
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I, along with my parents, stayed at the Villa early this week. It is a beautiful property and wonderfully situated close enough to Florence, yet in a setting so picturesque, it hardly seems real.

The villa is well kept and very clean. The staff is very friendly. Much appreciation to the housekeeper who quickly and pleasantly fixed our in-room safe. Also to the lovely young woman working in the breakfast room - so pleasant and attentive. She makes a great cappucino! The man managing the dining room treated us like royalty. The man who checked us in (Stephano?) was so kind and thoughtful. He had to figure out which bags belonged where and deliver them, which was unnecessary but highly appreciated! He lugged some pretty heavy bags! He also brought us coffee and wonderful shortbread when we arrived because our rooms were not ready yet. After a bit of a walk, we proved our suspicion that nothing is open in the small surrounding villages on a Sunday afternoon and having had nothing to eat since breakfast at our Florence hotel, we were starving! Dinner at 8 was so long to wait. He brought a plate of meats and cheeses, and a bottle of wine to us in one of the small sitting rooms. So many thanks! (and many apologies for being terrible with remembering names!)

Our room was simple but nice, with a lovely view. And so quiet! The beds are a bit firm, but the extra pillows are nice and appreciated. My parents room was downstairs and a bit larger, but with awkward steps leading up to it. We do warn people that this place is full of steps, so if you have trouble with steps, this may not be the place for you. There is no avoiding the steps!

There are a lot of small sitting areas, and one large area where we spent an evening drinking wine and eating wonderful food from our big adventure touring the Chianti region. There is also an 'honor bar' with a nice selection of beverages.

It is not a "high tech" place. We tried to check emails at the computer in the Library, but the internet wasn't working our entire stay. We didn't care too much. We were able to check out the night before we left while keeping our keys (skeleton keys!) because the office didn't open in time.

We were surprised to be charged for the coffee and shortbread they brought us we first arrived and our rooms were not ready yet. And it is located on a rather busy road (we live in the city so don't notice traffic) so you may want to ask for a room on the other side if that is an issue for you. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience in this lovely villa!

Room Tip: If weather promotes open windows, ask for a room away from the road if you are sensitive to traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear Special Guests,

We would like to thank you for your nice words about our Villa.

However we think that there has been a misunderstanding about the coffe you drank during your waiting, I just doublechecked the bill and I am confident that we haven't charghed you for this.

We couldn't do this to one of our guests!!

In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I, son and daughter-in-law and grandson, stayed at the Villa's La Fonte for 10 days. La Fonte is a separate farmhouse from the large villa, and it has been converted into several large apartments.
Let me start with the pluses - the grounds are picturesque, beautiful views of vineyards and olive groves, close to Florence and intriguing smaller towns, Irene and other staff members were friendly and helpful with reservations and questions about the local area, and La Fonte does offer more privacy I assume than staying at the villa.
However, the negatives stand out in our opinion -- La Fonte is advertised as a luxury country lodge, with fireplace, dishwasher and washing machine, en-suite bedrooms, and a fully fitted state of the art kitchen. It is not luxurious. It is simply but not luxuriously furnished, but that was not a problem for us.
Even with several attempts by the staff to correct the problems, the dishwasher did not work. The fireplace filled the room with smoke. It is a definite health hazard. We feared using it after the staff explained that it never worked correctly. Because the week was cold we would have loved using the fireplace, but without carbon monoxide detectors, we did not trust it.
The kitchen is not state of the art. We needed it because of our young grandson. At times we prepared his snacks and meals before we headed out to Florence, San Casciano, and other areas. The kitchen is stocked with old pots and pans and a tiny gas cooktop.
We signed up for half board, breakfast and dinner, thinking that would be handy because our grandson goes to bed early. We expected to eat lunch out while exploring during the day, and spend quiet evenings with him at the lodge. Their website proudly talks about organic and gourmet, homemade specialties. We found the food bland and institutional. Chef Hannah was friendly and seemed to hustle and bustle and try very hard, and her cooking has a definite Germanic bent rather than Italian. We went to Italy to eat Italian specialties, but the meals lacked the freshness that we desired and expected from the website description. We were very thankful that the staff refunded our money for half board because after a few meals we could not eat there.
Frankly I cannot recommend La Fonte at Villa il Poggiale. The advertisements do not match the actual accommodations. Perhaps staying in the villa itself would be different. I read all of the positive reviews, and I wonder that we are talking about the same property. I also would suggest that you enjoy the fabulous food in the surrounding communities, not the food at the villa.
While the staff tries very hard to be friendly and helpful, their service does not make up for the problems and the inadequate accommodations. I hope that the owners make an attempt to fix the problems because they have some wonderful staff that are trying to make it work.

Room Tip: Do not stay in La Fonte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
3  Thank Elaine-SouthTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Sirs,

I have already aswered by e-mail each point you made in your review about your stay here with us.
Everybody concerned with Villa il Poggiale from the owners, who granted ypu ahuge discount, to the gardener did everything possible to make your stay cofortable and relaxing.
Analyzing our mistakes I realize that the fist one was think that the lot of time spent to satisfy all of your requestes, as early dinner, dinner at home, half day cleaning, extra towels etc..., could be enough to make you happy.
After words I hope that you will appreciate our goodwill and you will give us a chance to welcome you here again.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
583 reviews
8.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
652 reviews
5.3 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel di sor Paolo
Hotel di sor Paolo
#2 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
78 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lebbiano Residence
Lebbiano Residence
#2 of 5 in Scandicci
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#3 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: $97 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing