We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Italian Idyll”
Review of Villa Talente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Talente
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Happened on this lovely villa hotel when looking for a hotel to while away a couple of days in northern Tuscany. We stayed in a small apartment about 350 metres from the main house, Clean, comfortable and with spectacular views, it's main charm was, however, an enthusiastic puppy belonging to the owner. He took a shine to the contents of my bag and we had a pleasant chase around the garden- sadly he ate my bikini top before I could catch him!!
The main villa is so charming, shabby chic maybe, but the view, pool and general ambiance are perfect. The greatest asset of the villa is the staff. Simone is, without a doubt, the most helpful, courteous and approachable of hotel managers. He does everything that you could expect and then, more.The whole experience was like staying in the home of an old friend.
I have given four stars as I feel that the apartment was not particularly good value for money, otherwise it would be five stars. The rooms in the villa seem good value.
There is a great little shop nearby and you can buy a picnic to eat in the lovely gardens. Buy the Chianti house wine to quaff alfresco -great value and lovely.
Simone took over in March 2013 so some earlier reviews may not reflect the current level of service.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the villa. If possible with view to countryside as the road is quite close and quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GwenPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place very close from Florence- perfect to discover beautiful Tuscany. House is beautiful, rooms are very big and comfortable and the vue is magnificient..
But the best thing about this place is the feeling of being at home thanks to its great staff - special thanks to Simone and chef Teru who cooked amazing dinner that we enjoyed having looking at Beautiful sunsets. Great memories for all the family.
Truely a special place.
Tip: Mosquitoes love Tuscany so don't forget to bring some repellant spray and use it all day long !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasumi0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

End of August we spent a couple of nights in the Villa Talente.
A Villa from the 14th century with all the comfort you would expect, situated on a hill in the middle of olive trees and wine grapes with exceptionally friendly staff.
But still it just takes you 30 minutes by car to the center of Florence and about an hour to Siena.
The breakfast is awesome, the dinner is even better - if you get one. Unfortunately it seems that dinner is only served in certain times of the year. But then it is really exceptional as the owners are very keen on using fresh ingredients. The cook took the spices from the garden.
If you want to spend a romantic weekend this is the place to go to.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room on the first floor "with view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped at Villa Talente just for 2 nights in September 2012. It would be probably hard to find a better commuted place if you want to visit Florence and the region of Chianti around Florence in just a couple of days. The windows from the backside were overlooking the still and monumental landscape similar to some best known paintings of Italian Renaissance...You could relax viewing this landscape in the clean swimming pool. In contrast the frontside of the villa was situated next to the busy transit road, very noisy even in the night. I had conflicting impressions about the place. The best point was for sure the breakfast, with fantastic breakfast buffet, perhaps the best one we have had in Italy for years. The rest was less positive. The villa is run for mercantile purposes, that's obvious, but it was shabby outside/inside and needed desperate renovation. The bathrooms were in very bad repair with at least 1 leaking WC (with constant water flow) in my daughter's room. Besides, there was no shower at all in our double room but "vasca da bagno" and no shower curtains. Imagine the water everywhere in the bathroom after we left... For 2 days stay it was OK, but for a longer stay it would be better to try to find another place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisPoznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed two incredible days and nights in an "economy" room.

Upon arriving at mid-day there was no one at reception; rather, one of the guests clued us in to the vibe of Villa Talente. Think of it more as your rich uncle's villa that you can crash at while you explore this incredible region. So rather than checking in, we changed into our suits and headed to the infinity pool overlooking rolling hills of vineyards and olive groves. And it only got better from there. That evening (and the next) we drove the 3km into the village of San Casciano for a few drinks at the local bar, then a tasty dinner. The next day we took a road trip through the Tuscan countryside, including some sampling of Chianti, olive oils and fresh cheeses. Talk about a dream vacation.

Our room at Villa Talente was large but basic -- no A/C means it can get hot at night, and hope that no mosquitoes find their way in. There was some mold on the bathroom wall. But don't book Villa Talente for the rooms (think "medieval").

But for the price, the absolutely fantastic service (thanks Andrea!), the brilliant pool and views, the tasty breakfasts, the whole Tuscan experience... look no further than Villa Talente.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank defaultusername123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in Villa Talente for 3 nights in the beginning of August and we had a very nice stay. The villa is an old estate and is still in its old state. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The villa has the most amazing view over the Tuscan countryside from the garden, where you have breakfast as well, as well as from the pool. The owners are very friendly and cooked the most amazing local dinner, with their own wines, for us in the garden. It is located just 20 min outside of Florence and the highway is easily accessible.
As point of improvement I would recommend the owners to install (mobile) air-conditioning in the rooms, when we where there it was extremely hot and therefore as well in the rooms.

I would recommend everyone to visit this place and if you do you should try the dinner there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansvrolijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It doesnt look like much on first arriving and then you walk through the villa and see the most stunning gardens and views and are blown away. Simone and the team are incredible and made our stay so enjoyable..would recommend the villa's evening menu. Pool is great and a short drive to the local town which has some great restaurants. Such a romantic place at night by candlelight with a nice bottle of local wine..a great find for us!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanusBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Casciano in Val di Pesa hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
797 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#3 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
534 reviews
4.4 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tenuta il Corno
Tenuta il Corno
#1 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Mangiacane
Villa Mangiacane
#3 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
271 reviews
2.7 mi away
Relais Poggio Borgoni
Relais Poggio Borgoni
#2 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Talente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Talente

Address: Via Empolese 107 | Località Talente, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: $72 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded Chianti vineyards, Villa Talente is set in a restored 13th century villa. It offers an infinity pool, and luxury rooms with antique furnishings. Florence is a 30-minute drive away.All rooms at Villa Talente have terracotta floors and satellite TV. Each room provides an elegant private bathroom, equipped with hairdryer and toiletries. Some rooms feature wood-beamed ceilings and exposed brickwork.Breakfast at the Talente includes homemade cake and local fruit. It is served in the villa's kitchen, which still has the original medieval fireplace.Guests are free to explore the extensive ground, which host an old chapel and vestry, a paved courtyard and a loggia terrace. The infinity pool is heated, and offers panoramic views of the Tuscan countryside.Villa Talente is 36 miles north of Siena, and an 80-minute drive from Livorno. The estate provides free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Talente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Talente Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing