We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Tuscan food with service to match”
Review of Ristorante Nello

Ristorante Nello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Quality Tuscan food with service to match”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed nearby and was recommended this great restaurant by the Hotel owner. The staff are very friendly and speak good English. Although simple the food is very fresh and high quality with a good selection of reasonably priced local chianti wines. We stayed in the area for 5 nights and ate there 3 times. The second time we booked through the hotel the restaurant did not receive our booking, the restaurant owner however went out of his way to ensure we were accommodated. Book to save disappointment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    143
    27
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good, authentic, local Tuscan food. Recommended.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed near San Casciano and were recommended this by our hotel staff. The menu is quite concise and simple, with all dishes using local and biodynamic ingredients where possible. It shows in the food - great bruschetta with the very freshest tomatoes for example. We had good tagliata with truffle and lardo di collonata, amazing tagliatelle with lobster, a simple and delicious spaghetti with pomodori for our daughter and a good panna cotta amongst the dishes we tried on our three visits. The only gripe we had was with our first tagliata which was served well done (they probably saw Brits and made a judgement call!)

Service is friendly, with children welcome. Water is brought free, decent chianti is served by the glass and they serve a decent macchiato afterwards. Prices - pasta 8-10 Euros, tagliata and lobster tagliatelli around 15 Euros. We thought this was good value given the quality of the ingredients. Highy recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pasta to die for!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A great restaurant with some lovely local dishes as well as the most wonderful homemade pasta. The panne cotta with chocolate is simply heaven! If one was to be critical if you want to eat here more than a couple of times the menu is slightly limited in choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Real italian food!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great food! Great service! Real italian food!!!
the fact that we could enjoy a great wine and delicious food with A/C was a must in the very hot italian summer!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank anahissnauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our dinner at Nello. Both the ambiance and the food were very good and to a good standard, although not cheap. The gnocci for starters was memorable, and worth coming back for.

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Nello also viewed

San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Nello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing