We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria Corzano e Paterno
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I along with another couple spent an idyllic week in this little piece of heaven on earth. Mirella is the perfect concierge. Her care for guests and attention to detail is amazing - especially her knowledge of the local area. I say that as a seasoned traveller who appreciates superb service and accommodations.
An easy drive to Siena, Florence, and San Gimignano, the location is central to some of the most beautiful Tuscany countryside. The region has many places of interest and beauty, especially in the hills of the area, well worth a leisurely visit, especially if interested in the extraordinary history associated with it. Whether taking a day to relax among the vineyards or sightseeing in some of Italy's most historic cities, this is the place to stay.We also took a cooking class and helped prepare a wonderful dinner in the house we rented. There is simply nothing I can say critical of our stay. We left reluctantly but with a determination to return some day. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We first found Corzano e Paterno in 1998 and became immersed in the people and their story, seduced by the wine and the pecorino cheeses and the ambience of a beautiful landscape. We have returned every year but one since 2002 for up to 8 weeks with friends and guests from New Zealand, Australia and the UK, 350 in total many of whom have returned to the farm's hospitality and generous spirit. Expect 14th Century buildings with modern facilities, no 24 channels of television or wifi in the bathroom, expect charm, Tuscan life that is real and engaging. Enjoy the proximity to excellent Trattoria and restaurants where food is tipica, mention Corzano and be welcomed with generosity. Visit Siena 45 mins, San Gimignano 40 mins, Florence 30mins as well as your local market on Monday at San Casciano. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Both sides of the farm have pools. Fallochio at Paterno has a range of apartments and a communal kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixensart, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I knew the Corzano wines, I wanted to find out where they were made and was not disappointed, what a beautiful location, vineyards and olive trees all around, true Tuscan countryside. And, surprise, they also make their own olive oil and pecorino cheeses which we found excellent. We stayed there for 2 weeks, appartment Giallo in the Fallocchio house, very spacious and comfortable with a small terrace in the back. All the staff are very friendly and anything you need will be provided for on request. The swimming pool is fantastic and offers a great view. Definetely a place to go back to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A friend recommended that we try this place out, and said that once we arrived we would not want to leave. Absolutely true, and so we visited yet again this June, this time staying for two weeks. As other reviews have noted, the location is ideal--you are in pure Tuscan countryside, and yet such a short drive to the endless wonders of Florence (and Mirella can advise you exactly where to park), with Siena, Volterra, San Gimmignano, Montalcino, Montepulciano etc all within reasonably short driving range. The produce of the farm itself is marvelous, with the holy trinity of excellent and distinctive wine, cheese and olive oil enshrined right on site (btw 2006 was a banner year). We stayed in the Gina apartment, with each of the three bedrooms its own delight; the kitchen is fine, but you can also arrange to have a cook come by with a prepared Tuscan meal that you will relish the leftovers from. Evening walks through the olive groves with the lovely farm dog Lulu were only interrupted once by a wild boar (at a safe distance), and the pool at the main site (which is where Gina is located) is the perfect place to cool off. The family who run the vineyards are so nice and Alyosha, the winemaker, is always happy to talk about the wine--there are no pretenses anywhere here. The main host is Mirella, who is such a lovely person, always helpful and thinking of your particular interests to come up with suggestions for enhancing your visit. We especially appreciated the fact that our young son loved Corzano so much the first time he visited that he was keen to return, and keeps talking about his wonderful experiences there--a sense of home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MachiavelliNiccolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Nederland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were guided by Silvia, who was extremely nice and told us about the wine & cheese making process while showing us around the farm. The farm was a bit difficult to find, if you want to visit..be sure to rent a car, that's the only way! After the tour we enjoyed a great lunch with products from the farm. We got to taste three wines and some olive oils. There's also a little shop that sells the products you've just tasted. We're glad that we did this, it's surely something to remember! P.s....great for couples as the place is romantic

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriela_Ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed four nights at the "Fienille" which is not located at the main property, but we had a great pool almost for ourselves (only shared with another house, and honestly, never crossed with the neighbors).
The Fattoria is located in the middle of the most beautiful Tuscan country, surrounded by Olives and Vines, and everywhere we looked around seemed like paradise.
Mirena hosted us a visit to the winery and cheese factory and offered a tasting of their world class wine, cheese and olive oils.
The location is perfect for day trips to Siena, Florence, Pisa, San Giminiano and most of the amazing sight seeings os the region.
I'd recommend this place for families as well as couples who like the concept of rural tourism.
You won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eyes-wide-opn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed a week at the Corzanello farm house and absolutely loved it. 7 very comfortable bedrooms, lovely large well equipped kitchen set amidst vineyard and olive groves. No TV or clocks to disturb your drift into the Tuscan rhythm of life.

Mirella, who coordinates the agritourism business of the farm (they produce great wine, cheese & olive oil), was fabulous at recommending restaurants, sites etc. She went above and beyond the call when my son arrived with strep throat and accompanied us to the the doctor's and pharmacy. I have never had someone be as responsive as she was.

The property is nestled at the ridge of Chianti hills and surrounded by breath taking views. The roads in this part of Tuscany are not for the faint of heart but after a day or two, you adjust and become a pro at pulling to the side or being the aggressor!

Truly a magical place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toujourparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
2.6 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
753 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tenuta il Corno
Tenuta il Corno
#1 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Castello di Gabbiano
Castello di Gabbiano
#3 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
202 reviews
2.6 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
552 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Poggio Borgoni
Relais Poggio Borgoni
#2 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Corzano e Paterno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Corzano e Paterno

Property: Fattoria Corzano e Paterno
Address: S. Vito di Sopra | Loc San Pancrazio, 50020, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria Corzano e Paterno unites neighbouring properties acquired from the historic Florentine families, the Machiavelli and Niccolini. Three distinct sectors complement each other: wine and oil, stables for sheep for artisan cheese production and agriturismo. The AGRITURISMO is comprised of four large houses positioned in pristine locations amid cypresses, olive groves and vineyards, views that have escaped the passage of time. Their restoration has maintained, with the exception of modern kitchens and baths, the original structures of beamed ceilings, open sit-in fireplaces and large, airy rooms. Situated in this classic Tuscan landscape, near fields of our grazing sheep, the houses overlook the verdant valley that lies between the two distinctive hills of the farm. CORZANELLO: With views of our vineyards on all sides, this house was once home to an artist whose atelier in the tower has since been converted into a bedroom. It sleeps twelve, has a large, roomy kitchen with a walk-in fireplace, a comfortable sitting room, six bedrooms and three bathrooms. In the garden there is a pergola for dining with a panoramic view of the valley. Nearby is the original functioning bread oven. Within a walled terrace also overlooking the valley there is an octagonal dipping pool; the larger farm swimming pool just a short walk away. GINA is an apartment in the oldest section of Casa Corzano. It is spacious and high ceilinged, set over two floors. The history of this house can be read in its ancient stone staircase and vaulted ceiling. On the ground floor is the kitchen with fireplace and a large salon with dining area. On the first floor two double bedrooms, one twin, bathroom with shower and bath and washing machine. Outside there is a private garden and the farm's swimming pool is a few meters away. CASA ERTA faces south, and has an uninterrupted view down the valley. It has been restored without compromising the large, high ceilinged rooms and beamed ceilings. It sleeps twelve, has a large kitchen with fireplace, six bedrooms and four bathrooms. Outside there is a large garden with pergola and pizza oven. FALLOCCHIO is a spacious house divided into five large apartments with one or two bedrooms, kitchenette, living room, bathroom with bath and shower. In the restoration of the house, the beamed ceilings and large rooms have been preserved. On the ground floor there is a large and well-equipped kitchen with fireplace available for communal use. The house is surrounded by a garden with a covered patio and barbeque and views across the surrounding valleys. ERTA and FALLOCCHIO share a swimming pool with panoramic views. Given the high quality of the farm's wine, olive oil and cheeses, it specialises in enogastronomic tourism and often has visiting chefs who are available to prepare meals and give cooking courses on request for guests in their houses if requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fattoria Corzano e Paterno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Corzano e Paterno Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing