We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, Rustic, Wonderful Place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenuta di Spannocchia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lively, Rustic, Wonderful Place.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I came here with my mom for few nights, and it was wonderful! The property is not only beautiful, but the staff make you feel very welcome. The meals were excellent, as was the company. The sites are breathtaking, and there are a series of hikes to nearby places. Furthermore, it can be educational if you want it to be. Tons of organic produce and wine are produced on-site, and you can learn about cultivation methods and processes. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taos, NM USA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a wonderful, relaxing place to visit and stay. All the food is organically grown on the premises. Pizza night is wonderful! I couldn't count the different types of pizza that was served. The wine, food and staff are awesome. Best vacation I have had in quite a while. Spent 10 nights in the main castle and drove every day to a different Tuscan town. The days that we stayed at the property, we hiked to other castles on the property and had a very relaxing vacation. The rooms are small, quaint and feel like I am back in medieval days. No TV or internet in the rooms...pure escape from the insanity of our techie world. There is internet in the internet room for those that have to be connected.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogey911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited Tenuta di Spannocchia in September of 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The Italian cooking class was great fun with delicious results and we got to see how farm to table really works. The interns were very engaging and the "bed and breakfast" style of this location made it a fun place to vacation. It was rustic and a great way to break away from the connection to phones and the internet. Also a great middle place to stay and explore the chianti region. Romantic wine on the terrace before delicious dinners and quiet nights. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and hope to go back!

Room Tip: we stayed in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a great time. We stayed in one of the farmhouses, which was fantastic. Our own house away from all, but we could go to the main building for dinners and activities. Very much for people who are into sustainable agriculture and living. Also, beautiful country.

Room Tip: We liked the farmhouses
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victorp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want a Disney farm experience, go elsewhere. This is a real farm with olive orchards, grapes, pigs, cows and lots of resident cats (though they are all outside). Meals (breakfast included and dinners optional) are all communal and a great feature. You will meet people interested in sustainable/organic farming, Tuscan history and art, Italian food, and from all over the world. We all shared experiences and guided each other to sites of interest. Talk with the interns - young people on three-month internships to engage in sustainable farming. They'll give you great hope for the future. If you can tear yourself away from the farm and the hikes nearby, you are also close enough to Siena, Pienza, San Giminagno, San Galgano and many other wonders of Tuscany. This is more than a hotel - it's an experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Extremely over priced. Poor attention to detail. A lack of interest in the guests comfort and a failure to follow up on concerns raised. The tone of the paperwork is very dictatorial and unfriendly. Maps about walks and amenities poor. Dining room for dinner is very like a boarding school in atmosphere with ugly plastic table cloths and the food itself is very ordinary. A great disappointment overall despite a beautiful setting and a picturesque farmhouse.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penelopej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We loved our stay at Spannocchia - we stayed at 2 different farmhouses - one with friends for a week and then the second week just our family of 4 (2 children one 3.5 yr old and one 12 weeks). We loved the spirit of the place and relished in its sense of community. The interns really helped make the experience and our son is still asking " where's Laura from the restaurant house" (the main building where communal meals can be eaten (great meals too). It was the perfect mix between plenty of personal/family space and community when needed. The place is beautiful. We took a cooking class, fed the chickens, swam in the pool, explored the local surrounds and near by towns and attractions. We were blessed with artists and classical musicians staying at the same time as us, whose creativity only enhanced our experience. With small children it was a wonderful place to stay!
We highly recommend it for anyone looking to get close to nature, out of the city and away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knoomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiusdino hotels
6.8 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
333 reviews
7.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Mulino Delle Pile
5.8 mi away
Agriturismo & Casale San Galgano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Fornace di San Galgano
La Fornace di San Galgano
#1 of 15 in Chiusdino
106 reviews
6.9 mi away
Albergo Il Palazzetto
Albergo Il Palazzetto
#2 of 3 in Chiusdino
8 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fattoria Le Planaie
Fattoria Le Planaie
#10 of 15 in Chiusdino
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Spannocchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Spannocchia

Property: Tenuta di Spannocchia
Address: Tenuta di Spannocchia, 53012, Chiusdino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusdino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Chiusdino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spannocchia is a magical place. It is a unique integration of historic architecture and landscape: a working organic farm, a center for education and enrichment focused on both ecological and cultural history, and a multinational community. If you are looking for a vacation destination that is off the beaten path but still has a comfortable community environment, Spannocchia is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tenuta di Spannocchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Spannocchia Hotel Chiusdino
Tenuta Di Spannocchia Italy/Chiusdino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing