We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful and enriching holiday in a wonderful community” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenuta di Spannocchia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiusdino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tenuta di Spannocchia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful and enriching holiday in a wonderful community”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We loved our stay at Spannocchia - we stayed at 2 different farmhouses - one with friends for a week and then the second week just our family of 4 (2 children one 3.5 yr old and one 12 weeks). We loved the spirit of the place and relished in its sense of community. The interns really helped make the experience and our son is still asking " where's Laura from the restaurant house" (the main building where communal meals can be eaten (great meals too). It was the perfect mix between plenty of personal/family space and community when needed. The place is beautiful. We took a cooking class, fed the chickens, swam in the pool, explored the local surrounds and near by towns and attractions. We were blessed with artists and classical musicians staying at the same time as us, whose creativity only enhanced our experience. With small children it was a wonderful place to stay!
We highly recommend it for anyone looking to get close to nature, out of the city and away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knoomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    5
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Wonderful relaxing stay in Tuscany with full kitchen to try out all those Tuscan recipes I've been learning for last few years. We stayed in casetta leccio which was a way from villa and pool but suited us for the quiet and space we needed. Lots of fruitbanf herbs in the garden for meals was perfect. A very different holiday with opportunity for hands on if you want it. Very friendly management and staff. Only gripe is the hard beds but this seems to be typical Italian standard. Option of bed toppers (eg: like they provide in denmark) to be available for people like us who prefer softer beds would be great. Otherwise it was heaven on earth.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the self contained cottages which was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kofliss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We recently returned from our second family vacation at Spannocchia. Our family rented a farmhouse (Casetta al Padule) and shared it for a week with another family. All together, we were a group of nine including five children from the ages of 4-10. We plan at least one large family vacation each year and I can honestly say that our family spent more quality time together at Spannocchia than any other trip. There are no TVs or internet (in the farmhouse) to distract the children and it was amazing to see how the simple pleasures of nature and farm animals kept them entertained for hours. We planned a number of day trips to nearby towns - Montereggioni, Siena, Volterra, San Gimignano but the highlight for the children (and probably adults) was the Cinta Sense pig tour. The program is remarkable and exemplifies the thoughtfulness and care Spannocchia extends to cusine, culture, and the environment. It was a trip we won't ever forget and know our children were deeply affected by the experience. We are hoping they will return as interns someday! If you are interested, we published a detailed report of our trip online at http://www.slowtrav.com/tr/tripreport.asp?tripid=1997.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank FiveDiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

After choosing Spannocchia from an email deal, i had no idea what to expect. It was breathtaking. We were warmly welcomed by the interns who are residing there and seeing as we arrived on a bank holiday they ensured we had everything we needed for our first night. Being a working farm, we had some of the finest food we have ever eaten, teamed with information from katie the very passionate educational director about what we were eating and drinking and the history of how Spannocchia came to become. Our pasta class was fantastic - a lot of fun. If you are looking for beauty, nature, food and vino - this is ideal. We loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

The people are wonderful, the food is delicious, and the location is spectacular. Staying in a mediaval castle is pretty cool too. Highly recommended for a special and memorable visit to Tuscany.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

As an expended family of 6 children and 4 small children, we recently (September 2011) stayed at the largest farmhouse at Spannocchia. This farmhouse was some distance from the others and in a natural bushland setting. It was large and rambling and minimally but very adequately furnished in a rustic style. All the plumbing worked and the chairs and beds were comfortable. There was a huge covered area along one side with a bbq and a large table for relaxation, eating and entertaining. The adults enjoyed the relaxed, unpretentious but genuine feeling of the place and the children had plenty of space to play in, both inside and out, and to run off steam built up after time in the car. There was also a swimming pool to be enjoyed but not worried about as it's on another part of the property. On arrival we bought a huge box of vegetables and herbs grown organically at Spannocchia, also some of their wine and oil, and helped ourselves to figs growing on the trees dotted around the house. We loved eating the produce of the land. We also enjoyed the meal up at the 'big house' meeting some of the other residents. Staying at Spannocchia we felt that we weren't just tourists but guests with a sense of belonging.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I spent the last night of our honeymoon at Spannocchia in late September. As soon as we arrived on the property we wished we'd booked a few more days - a week even! There is so much to do and explore on the property and the feeling you get when you're there is too hard to describe. It's like stepping back in time and getting back to basics - but with a magical twist. Like I said, not easy to describe.

Spannocchia is a working farm that provides guests with a very unique opportunity to learn about and participate in the farm to table concept. You feel very much a part of the culture there instantly. It's very special.

The Bed & Breakfast rooms are beautiful - and the farmhouse we saw looked fabulous as well. Their special Wednesday night dinner is something to be experienced - very special. A great way to truly feel a part of the countryside and its traditions.

And if you happen to be there when they're harvesting grapes, that's very cool as well!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiusdino
6.8 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
13.8 mi away
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
#2 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Fornace di San Galgano
La Fornace di San Galgano
#1 of 16 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Agriturismo & Casale San Galgano
7.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Mulino Delle Pile
4.1 mi away
Tenuta di Papena
Tenuta di Papena
#4 of 16 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Spannocchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Spannocchia

Property: Tenuta di Spannocchia
Address: Tenuta di Spannocchia, 53012, Chiusdino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusdino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Chiusdino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spannocchia is a magical place. It is a unique integration of historic architecture and landscape: a working organic farm, a center for education and enrichment focused on both ecological and cultural history, and a multinational community. If you are looking for a vacation destination that is off the beaten path but still has a comfortable community environment, Spannocchia is the place for you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Spannocchia Hotel Chiusdino
Tenuta Di Spannocchia Italy/Chiusdino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing