We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy family restaurant in quaint village”

La Grotta di Tiburzi
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Chiusdino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The "Grotta di Tiburzi" is a small Wine Bar Restaurant run by Mariangela and her daughters Bianca and Ada. It lies in the historical center of the medieval small town of Chiusdino (Siena) within easy reach of the Romanesque Abbey of Montesiepi and of the Cistercien Cathedral of San Galgano. Galgano Guidotti was born in Chiusdino where his home, turned into a chapel nowadays, can be visited. Chiusdino is perched on a small hill overlooking the "Alta Val di Merse", an age-old route through the "Colline Metallifere" leading from Siena to Massa Marittima and the nearly Maremma, once a land of malaria and bandits. The management therefore has rightly chosen to call the restaurant for the bandit's name. The restaurant which is located in Via Paolo Mascagni n.15, Consists of three distinct rooms adorned with structures and decorations typically medieval, such as arches vaults and settling tanks for water storage, besides a natural cave with even temperature. The rooms were once used as a distillery until the mid-1900, nowadays however they can sit up to 25/30 guests around wooden and marble tables. A cosy homely atmosphere welcomes you to enjoy the typical Senese cooking, still firmly bound to tradition and to taste some excellent red wines, such as "Chianti", "Brunello di Montalcino" and "Nobile di Montepulciano".
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy family restaurant in quaint village”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stopped by here for lunch on a cool, rainy day in Tuscany. We all had the special Tuscan bread soup and some bruschetta appetizers. Wonderful soup and presentation was lovely. The trio of appetizers took the edge off our appetites! Family run and the place was sparkling. Recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    203
    45
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SE CT
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family run restaurant in Chiusdino”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The restaurant is located in the vehicle-free part of Chiusdino but is easy to find. As both its name and the photographs indicate, the inside of the restaurant is essentially a brick-vaulted cave. The restaurant is primarily run by a mother and her two daughters who communicate effectively in English. The menu is small but with a focus on fresh, local food in season. We visited the restaurant twice during our stay and sampled several of the antipasti including bruschetta, crostini and salumi, pasta, which is cooked perfectly and served directly at the table out of the pan. The veal scallopini in lemon and pork steak were also perfectly cooked and the house wine was of decent quality. The fried mixed vegetables were superb.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeregrineSeCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Deserves it's high TripAdvisor rating. Cosy, good home cooking and lovely service.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We adored visiting Chiusdino this Sunday out of season in Mid-October. Few tourists, most people going about their Sunday lunch. For us, eating at La Grotta was the perfect accompaniment. I had the day's special - tagliatelle with mushroom sauce served at table straight from the pan. My wife had veal. Both were beautifully cooked and so simple. Altogether just €30 with salads and coffees. The two young women serving were both efficient and charming.

The restaurant is a little grotto with books, bottles and other objects tastefully arranged. We sat beside an old fireplace. Several table for two and one larger table for a party of six.

It was beautifully peaceful too, though the music was being turned up as we left. The loo door didn't lock well. But overall we just loved it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GBeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice little family restaurant”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The restaurant was quite hidden away at the old centre of Chiusdino but we managed to find it with a signboard and asking a local. The decor of the restaurant looked like an interior cave. The food was something one would not have expected. We ordered patatas frittas for our 2-yr old. The patatas frittas were not cut like french fries but in thin wide potatoes' slices fried crispily with a bit of batter. For myself I had a spinach en cheese gnocchi as appetizer and vegetables' fried crisp in batter as main. They tasted really good but very filling at the end of meal. My husband had mixed vegetables as appetizer and steak as main. The mixed vegetables comprised of porcini mushrooms and local vegetables. The steak was rather thin but very tender with a sauce of creamy peppercorn. We had an enjoyable dinner with a litre of white Castelnuovo wine for only 45 euros.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FJBoersma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful authentic food...service was a bit indifferent!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great value delicious food, but we sat outside and felt a little forgotten about!! Certainly would recommend though

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperLondonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta di Tiburzi also viewed

 
Chiusdino, Province of Siena
Chiusdino, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Grotta di Tiburzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing