We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax”
Review of Tenuta di Papena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tenuta di Papena
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Everything my girlfriend and I were looking for. The place is beautiful and you can spend days on end with the views out over the hills from the pool. Little touches like the option to have fresh bread delivered and the friendliness of Ginny and her Mum make the difference. Couldn't recommend more highly. We will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjh972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for an idyllic week from 15th June 2013. Everything from the beautifully restored rooms, the daily delivered fresh bread, the view from the Infinity pool and the personal touch of Giny and her lovely mum made this trip for us. And venture out-in every direction there are views to literally take your breath away. Like someone has painted a beautiful scene and dropped it in front of you! We met some great people also. Couldn't recommend it more. In fact we would like yo return with our whole family! Thank you so much for making our first trip to Italy a trip to remember forever Papena!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset England
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A truly wonderful location with superb panoramic views of the surrounding Tuscan countryside. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially the fabulous swimming pool. Ginevra, our host was very welcoming and helpful. Lots of pretty hilltop villages in the area where we found tradional restaurants for evening meals. My son who is a keen bike rider enjoyed riding up and down the mountain roads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Papena for week, making it our base to explore Tuscany. What a gorgeous setting! We loved the authenticity and the care in renovation. Ginevra and Fabiola were very welcoming. The apartment was very clean, which is a must for me! We had a table outside our front door where we ate "al fresco" looking out on the beautiful courtyard. We enjoyed sitting poolside overlooking the Tuscan hills. In retrospect, I wish I had planned for more days just to hang out and relax. Definitely a place to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dartsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Simply Superb excellent location. Lovely Apartment, Excellent friendly welcome from Ginevra and Fabiola. we Llked have in the dogs and Horses around as feels like home from home but with the added bonus of sunshine.

And the pool is very nice with an unbeatable view and water just the right temperature and not full of nasty chemicals

Ginevra is always available if required, very and happy to give good recomendations and advice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a brilliant hotel? appartments? suits? - renovated and furnished with love and Italian taste. It brings in such a peace you forget you're at the hotel... The nature in gorgeous, the swimming pool is so tempting you just can't resist, although the water was pretty cold, it was the end of September. Don't miss to order the bread in the morning...
It's pretty close to Sienna (I think about 20 min by car), but if you ask Ginevra she'll give you the exact driving times and instructions. The owners speak great English and are very willing to help when you want them to, but on the other side don't interfere if you don't.
We came to Toscana to have wine tasting and Ginevra organized a brilliant trip for us, which was pleasant, informative and not as expensive as those offered in Firenze or online. Highly recommended!
We had a brilliant time there and are planning to came again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naleBgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soestdijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed 4 pleasant days at the tenuta and it's beautiful surroundings and enjoyed the
tasteful interior and pleasant reception.
The place is excellent if you don't mind being with "other people", because all the apartments are facing the same centre, where the comfortable couches, chairs and, tables are placed.
There was just one thing, the couple next to us had a baby that cried regularly and unfortunatly
the sound isolation between their and our place was unsufficient, so we could hear their talk and of course the baby.
But all together our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ad v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiusdino
3.2 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
322 reviews
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo & Casale San Galgano
3.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Mulino Delle Pile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Locaia Vacanze
Locaia Vacanze
#65 of 88 in Siena
4 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Fornace di San Galgano
La Fornace di San Galgano
#1 of 16 in Chiusdino
102 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo I Pianali
Agriturismo I Pianali
#5 of 16 in Chiusdino
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Papena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Papena

Property: Tenuta di Papena
Address: Case Sparse Papena SNC, 53012, Chiusdino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusdino
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Chiusdino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Tenuta di Papena 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unforgettable holidays in one of the most beautiful medieval hamlet in Tuscany. Tenuta di Papena, inserted in the splendid naturalistic atmosphere of the Saint Galgano Abbey, welcomes you in the evocative scenery of the Tuscany countryside, a few kilometres from Siena, famous for its art and for the "Palio di Siena", which takes place on the second of July and the eighteenth of August. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Tenuta di Papena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Papena Italy/Chiusdino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing