We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel beautiful scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Curina Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel beautiful scenery”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is very well maintained and has beautiful scenery. The room was large and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was included and was the standard fair, the did make scrambled eggs and bacon everyday.

Check in was not as smooth as it should have been. The front desk person tried to get me to purchase another room for my nanny. I booked a suite which can sleep three people plus our infant. I emailed the resort and received confirmation from the manger Cinza saying yes the nanny could stay in the room for an additional $90 euro a night on the pull out sofa.

When we checked in the front desk stated that italian law required another rome because she was over 16 years of age. My response was really I have been all over Italy at this point and had no problems anywhere else and I already had a confirmation from the hotel. He called the manger and confirmed this. It made me feel he was trying to con me into another rome for an additional $45 euro a night. Just placed a bad taste in my mouth.

The food was good we had drinks and they give you some appetizers with your drinks chips and olives. We did not eat at the restaurant since it was fine Italian and I prefer more regional fare. Wifi service was good. The drinks were a little expensive.

The town near the resort was nice and had several good restaurant options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    32
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Myself and my wife had previously stayed at Villa Curina 10 years ago when we were married in Siena, for our anniversary we decided to return.
Villa Curina is nestled in the rolling Tuscan countryside about 20minutes drive from Siena. The views of the surrounding landscape are simply breath-taking and almost worth the price of admission on their own. Well-tended gardens surround the villa and there is a large outdoor swimming pool and plenty of places to sit in either the sun or the shade and simply relax.
Our room was on the first floor with a balcony which overlooked the swimming pool. The ceilings are high and the room was generously proportioned, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was bright and airy, there is a shower, but no bath. Satellite tv was available in the room with movies and sports for a daily charge (we didn’t bother watching tv while there), there is also tea/coffee making facilities and a mini bar.
We ate in the restaurant while there and really enjoyed the meal.
Breakfast was a buffet affair, with plenty of breads, cheeses, cereals, juices etc, all very fresh and tasty.
I would have no hesitation recommending Villa Curina for a romantic and relaxing stay in a stunningly beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacurina, Proprietario at Villa Curina Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

many thanks for your beautiful review.

We are really happy you spent a nice anniversary with us and we hope to have you as our guest again and again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014

It was an amazing experience, the rooms were huge, comfortable and very very clean!!! The staff were all extremely polite, nice and helpful. I don't think I had ever had come across to such helpful and warm staff, that helped us organise and better our trip. The location and the building was also amazing and gave you the impression that you were in a movie. The restaurant and breakfast were also great. I was a bit hesitant when I booked it, since from the photos on the internet it didn't seem that great. However, it really exceeded my expectations and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evangeline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacurina, Proprietario at Villa Curina Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your beautiful review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your kind words for all of us.

We hope to have you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Villa Curina was a wonderful second stop on our trip to Italy. A car is most definitely required as it is very much in the heart of the country side and in order to get to anything you will need to drive. It is a beautiful location, with breathtaking views of the rolling tuscan hills. The staff where very nice and attentive and our room was a great size and very clean with updated bathrooms, great shower pressure, etc. We did not try the restaurant that is on site, but it has great reviews and was packed. We mainly used it as a base location for our day trips into Siena and to visit some other hilltop towns, but if you want to just sit back and relax on location all day, they have a nice pool as well! Would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Really enjoyed this place. Huge rooms. Bed ok comfort. The shower wasn't huge, but was adequate. You're a little ways from other stuff since you're sort of isolated on a hill, but that's true of many places in Tuscany, and that's part of the charm. The restaurant at the hotel was above average for dinner. Breakfast was average at best. There's a pool here too if you come when the weather is hot (or can tough it out). Either way, the pool area is nice for relaxing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Like another reviewer, we stayed here as part of the Backroads bicycling tour. It was certainly a nice place to stay but not our favorite. We had a two story room with the couch and desk downstairs and the beds and bathroom upstairs. The beds were comfortable but no more so than the other places where we had stayed. The bathroom was long and narrow, but the shower was a good size and actually had a small seat in it. Unfortunately they had already turned the air conditioning off for the season so it was very hot all night long, even with the windows open, which let a ton of bugs in. The breakfast was okay but nothing special. The boxwood garden was very pretty and well-maintained. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to be accommodating and that was likely the best part of this property. I purchased some of the local olive oil that was pressed from the olives harvested from the trees in the area and will be excited to try it!

Room Tip: I would recommend NOT getting a two story unit, it was a pain to have to go up and down to get to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwsllc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This was the last inn we enjoyed on our Backroads "Casual Inns" bicycling tour and it was easily our favorite. Our room on the top floor was spacious and beautiful with the most comfortable beds we found in Italy. We had space to spread out and a luxurious bath and shower, as well. The grounds were perfectly maintained, and I especially enjoyed the tented gazebo overlooking the vineyards for a glass of wine before dinner, a cool breeze and a chance to chat with fellow guests or read. The linens were sumptuous, the towels thick, the pool chilly cold. the restaurant with outdoor seating was especially nice and the food very good. I could have stayed far longer and been happy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TeresaB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
5.8 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
8.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Curina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Curina Resort

Property: Villa Curina Resort
Address: Localita Curina SNC, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Curina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Villa Curina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Curina Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Curina Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Villa Curina Resort Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing