We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Villa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Curina Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days of our Honeymoon in Tuscany here. The villa was absolutely beautiful and the views were fantastic! Swmming pool was great although it was too cold for us to swim when we got there. Breakfast consisted of pastries, cold cuts and fruits - which were great. The staff was very accomodating, particularly Cinza (spelling?), she lent us her own personal GPS for our entire stay when it didnt come with our rental car and it was a lifesaver! I highly recommend this for a Tuscan getaway, the location is perfect to see Siena, Montepulciano, Pienza etc. all within an hour drive's away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neenah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spend 5 days at villa Curina and the reason we chose the specific villa was its central location. It's in the heart fo Tuscany which was ideal for exploring the area around. Just 20 min from Siena and a max of 1 hour drive to Florence. As the villa is concerned it has nice grounds and amazing tuscan views. Our room was very spacious and cleaned everyday. The breakfast was more than adequate with nice selection. The villa also offers light lunch during the day, which we had only once when arrived at the villa. In addition there is a restaurant at the villa which we had dinner once. Great food (go for the Florentine steak) and atmosphere but it's a bit overpriced (50 Euros per person).
You will definetely need a car as the villa is a bit isolated and the next village is about 4km away called Castelnuovo Berardegna.
Now the negatives. The villa belongs to Relais du Silence (silence hotels) but this is not the case. If the villa wants to belong to these hotels first they should not allowed children on the premises (in our case were running up and down...not very relaxing) and second the isolation of the rooms is minimal. You could hear everything in the next door room or in the corridors.
Would I recommend this villa?? Probably yes but they have to view some issues in more detail.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4EverCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

After leaving Florance, we stayed 2 nights at Villa Curina. It was a welcomed peaceful serene setting. The ideal Tuscany estate with its old world charm but with modern adminities.
If neccessary and applicable, inquire about handicapped access.
We were not able to eat at the resturant for dinner. Apparently, reservation are vital.
Staff at the Villa were pleasant and eager to accommodate. Extremely clean.
It was glorious!!

Room Tip: Again, if needed, inquire about handicapped accessibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevHarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We booked for a week here, and found this hotel and its location memorably charming. The views from our window and elsewhere on this property are stunningly beautiful, overlooking the hills and vineyards of the southern Chianti Classico district. The location, while peaceful and entirely rural in character, offers relatively quick access to highways linking us to Siena and southern and eastern Tuscany. The town of Castelnuovo Berardenga lies 5 km away, enabling visits to some of the great wineries of Chianti Classico. The free parking for guests across the road from the hotel proved quite convenient. Our GPS had no trouble locating the hotel from several different directions.

Breakfasts were pleasant and adequately stocked, and we had a reasonably priced and refreshing light lunch on the patio overlooking the hills. Our spacious room was beautifully furnished in a rustic fashion, with a lovely four-poster bed. The staff brought fresh strawberries upon our arrival. The surroundings were generally quiet. The bath was not palatial, with a good shower, but entirely acceptable and well-kept. The staff eagerly and deftly attended to our every need. We encountered a couple of electrical problems during our stay, affecting the air conditioning in our room for a couple of days over a weekend; the staff eventually addressed them. Fortunately, during May, the heat did not linger. We’d gladly return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the pool had commanding view of the beautiful countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moynk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a lovely place. It has views that are gorgeous and the rooms are lovely and spacious and spotless. It is difficult to find, even with the GPS so print directions for backup. The insulation between rooms and floors is not excellent, but it does not seem to attract a noisy crowd so our sleep was never disturbed.

It is a jewel and the perfect place to relax after a tiring day of hill town visits. The pool seemed lovely, but it was still a little too early in May for us to take advantage of it. Be sure to sit outside with some wine and cheese and see the sunset!

Room Tip: We were a group that required three rooms and we requested that they be near each other and they gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itzdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I did a lot of research prior to booking this villa, and I am glad I found this! First of all, let. Me say that" finding it" was an experience in it self. Do. Not rely on GPS, Mapquest and certainly not maps. Roads are not well marked and confusing. Looking back, I wish I just got directions from the owners. Mind you, getting lost is not the worse thing. The vistas just continue to amaze.
We did arrive late and although the kitchen was closed, the owner had them prepare us a late night snack of fresh antipasti , accommodating my vegatarian request.
Our villa was a suite, with a lovely sitting room and canopy bed. It over- looked the country side and Siena in the background. The bathroom was on the small side, but not unusual for our entire trip in Italy. Very happy with our beautiful room.
The food at the restaurant was fresh, carefully thought out with attention to detail. They emphasize using in-season ingredients. The owner, Andrea, made excellent suggestions for food as well as wine. He obvious has personal pride and care in both the villa and restaurant. He offered to show us his wine cellar and explained his collection. By the way, we ended up purchasing several bottles.
We did day trips to Montepulciana, Siena, and Castle Di Brolio.
I would highly recommend this lovely villa in the heart of Tuscany to anyone.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank mmkathnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed three nights and had the most amazing time. The setting, views, and buildings were unbelievable...exactly like we imagined and hoped Tuscany would be. The rooms were spacious and immaculate. The staff was gracious and extremely helpful. The owner went out of his way to guide us, made arrangements for us, and did all he could do to ensure our stay was what we wanted it to be. Their restaurant, Il Convito di Curina, was absolutely amazing...best food we had in Italy. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcjohns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
5.8 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
394 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
559 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
372 reviews
8.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Curina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Curina Resort

Address: Localita Curina SNC, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range: $193 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Curina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Curina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Curina Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Curina Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Villa Curina Resort Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing