We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, amazing views and great service”
Review of Villa di Sotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa di Sotto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The restaurant was recommended to us by the owner of the house we rented on the nearby Arceno estate. The food was excellent and the staff were attentive.The views from the restaurant are amazing and it was well worth staying around just to see the sunset.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank 4SJB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

This restaurant was suggested to us by a business owner a few towns away. (Radda in Chianti) When he found out we were staying in the area he highly recommended it.

This is a bed and breakfast with a small restaurant that has mostly outdoor seating with a beautiful view of vineyards in the Chianti region of Tuscany. (About 20 min. from Siena)

We arrived at the restaurant after a long day in Florence (approx. 1 1/2 hours away). When we walked up to the restaurant the owner greeted us with a lot of enthusiasm (we think he thought we were someone else). He asked if we had a reservation and when we said no, he said “problema", but then without batting an eye the servers went into a room and pulled out a table and chairsand put it out on the patio in an empty spot! It turns out that Villa di Sotta is owned by a husband and wife and the husband was the one who greeted us. He speaks only Italian but his wife Paolo speaks English quite well. They were both very nice to us and we talked to the wife quite a bit.

There was a very large party of young guys staying at the B& B for a bachelors party. They took up about 1/3 or more of the restaurant and were great entertainment as one of them played the guitar and they all sang songs until the steaks arrived piled high on a huge platter. We had steaks as well and they were wonderful!

We enjoyed our wonderful meal as the sun was setting over the vineyard. What a great end to a rainy, hectic day in the city of Florence. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Definitely 5 stars for food and service, 4 stars for value because everything in Italy is expensive!!!! It was one of the best meals we had on our entire three week trip!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanaenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days in May 2011. I would highly recommend renting a car with a GPS if you are going to stay in this area - there is no public transportation and the roads are poorly marked. We enjoyed driving through the beautiful countryside of Chianti and were thrilled with the location of the B&B. We were met by Sauro, who offered us a glass of wine and showed us to our room. The majority of the staff are very friendly but only speak Italian, so there were a few language barriers but we were able to figure it out. Our last day there we met Paola who had booked our reservation, and her English is very good.

The room was simple but comfortable and had an en suite bathroom. Our bathroom lights wouldn't turn on but I had no idea how to communicate that to anyone, so we just dealt with it. There are two pools nearby that guests can use with a beautiful view overlooking the vineyards. The staff had put together a tourist guide available in several languages of things they recommend to do / see while you are staying there. Siena is not far and there are several castles in the region that you can tour.

Breakfast was provided every morning - homemade pastry cakes, juice and coffee. The restaurant was excellent - without question the best Italian food and wine we have ever had.

Overall, I don't think Villa di Sotto is for everyone. If you expect American standards of hotel comfort, you might want to look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a quiet getaway in the countryside without many distractions, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebduval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

We have stayed at Villa di Sotto twice to date and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although I must say we had two totally different experiences both times.

Our first stay was in September during harvest. The weather was divine and allowed us to venture out during the day and return at sunset (over Siena) to take dinner and wine overlooking the vineyards and olive trees at Villa di Sotto. Dinner was served every evening (great menu, for a fee), breakfast served every morning (included). Villa diSotto is very centrally located to all sites in the Chianti region. Paola and Sauro provide a great booklet of places to go and things to do around the area, all including maps directly to and from the B&B. We used it everyday instead of our own maps and it was a great resource to us.

Our second stay was in May. Weather was typical Spring weather, including rain - but that didn't stop us from enjoying our trip. On this trip dinner was not available to us every night. We were expecting it and weren't told until we inquired. Slightly disappointing. We were told if they knew ahead of time, they would accommodate, so the next night we were able to dine at the B&B.

Villa di Sotto is simple yet warm and welcoming. No one speaks english, the bedding is of a typical modest Italian tuscan home and the scenery is straight out of a picture book. If you are adventuresome and looking for an authentic italian experience, this is a great place. If you are expecting a more 'americanized trip to Tuscany', I would recommend a hotel in one of the main cities.

We love that it's not touristy - we can escape all the tourists we see during the day at San Gim, Siena, etc - and sit on the patio each night and enjoy a great tuscan meal and wine (did I mention they have the most excellent enoteca???!!!) and just relax watching the sunset ...as if it was our own villa. We also really enjoy the hospitality of Mama, Sauro and Paola. They are wonderful hosts...friendly, warm-spirited and they know just when to engage you and when to leave you alone.

Villa di Sotto is one of our 'home away from our Italian home' (in Abruzzo). We are cycling enthusiasts, so Villa di Sotto really fits the bill for us as the surrounding areas are great for riding. We intend to stay there many times in the future - including trips with friends and family. The only thing I would do differently is email Paola and make sure to know dinner availability up front. (I believe it is seasonal and depends on how many guests are there at any given time, but they will accommodate if they know in advance)

If you want a real slice of la vita toscana, put Villa di Sotto on your list!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krislars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We rented two rooms in the main house for 3 nights and I was very disappointed. The rooms were extrememly basic -- no soap or shampoo for the shower, a toilet requiring the strength of RAMBO to flush and you could here every word (even snoring) from the rooms next door. You'd also expect when you're spending so much money to have some rudimentary cleaning every day. Not so. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RideStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

That's my favorite place in Tuscany. I feel at home! Great hospitality, great food and great place

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dfusina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Villa di Sotto is a great place from where you can visit Tuscany. It's close to all major tourist destinations, like Chianti, Siena, Pienza...
Of course you need a car.

The house is surrounded by vinyards and olive orchands and the view from the pool and the rooms is amazing. Plus, I had some of the best dinners in Italy there. The owners are nice, polite and don't bother you at all.
The minus point would be the lack of air conditioning which can really cause you insomnia in the summer time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank roxana1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelnuovo Berardenga hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
372 reviews
6.7 mi away
B&B Casa Lucia
B&B Casa Lucia
#2 of 8 in Vagliagli
80 reviews
4.4 mi away
Borgo Casato
Borgo Casato
#2 of 25 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Podere San Quirico
Podere San Quirico
#1 of 25 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
168 reviews
4.7 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
559 reviews
5.5 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Sotto

Address: Via di Santa Caterina 30 | Villa a Sesta, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range: $115 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the superb panorama of the Chianti Classico area, 20 Km from Siena, the Bed and Breakfast Villa di Sotto is a beautiful XIX-century farmhouse surrounded by villages and castles, vineyards and olive groves. The building is located on the edge of an ancient village near Siena called Villa a Sesta, colourful town along the road that leads to the historical Brolio Castle in the heart of the Chianti Classico / Gallo Nero area. Villa di Sotto is the perfect departure point for many different excursions: through the Chianti area (by foot and bicycle), to the famous "Crete Senesi", the cities of art (Siena-Florence-Arezzo), the castles (Castle of Brolio, Castle of Meleto…).The building, restored without modifying its original aspect but equipped with all the modern comforts, offers apartments and rooms with bed and breakfast service. The kindness and courtesy that will welcome you here at Villa di Sotto will make your days unforgettable, and allow you to discover the secret of the beauty of Chianti, and of all the green lands of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa di Sotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Sotto Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing