We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in a stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a stunning location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The countryside around the Borgo San Felice is Tuscany at its best and the hotel, which has essentially been created by taking over a small hamlet is very charming. When we arrived we were initially shown to a rather small poky room which certainly did not live up to my expectations of a junior suite. When we asked if any other rooms were available we were quickly shown to a much better room with a separate living area and although it was more expensive, we were not charged any extra. Apparently we were allocated the first room because we had asked for a terrace and my impression is that there are very few rooms with terraces at this hotel. In contrast to some other reviewers I thought that the food was generally very good, although the menu does not change frequently enough if you are there for a few days and do not want to drive in the evening, it is quite expensive and the second outdoor restaurant was not open while we were there. We had room service one evening and the price was exorbitant, so avoid. Staff a little bit impersonal, but overall a very pleasant stay in a lovely location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Optimusprime100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    55
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
65
266
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The place is impressive... it is a complete vilage transformed into a hotel.
We spent only one night as we were in a bike tour with DigNGo (by the way, excelent choice to discover Tuscany!).
We did the wine tasting and visit and it was probably one of the best ones we did: not too long, our guide knew all the details and the wine was excelent!
I cant comment on value as the hotel was already included in a package, but I would definetly would come back: good location, good views, excelent spot to be a base to treavel around Tuscany.
Rooms were great (but I personaly didnt like interior decoration to much)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a difficult report for me to write, as I would so much like to give this property a 5 star excellent report especially as the manager and staff were so helpful, but there are a few niggles, which for me, just let it down slightly.
Perhaps part of the problem with this stunningly beautiful resort is that it is used by travellers staying just a few nights and then moving on to other parts of either Tuscany or Italy, hence you get a slight feeling of impersonality - like an airport hotel?. The staff are helpful, but at times seem aloof, especially in and around the dining areas. Furthermore, like a lot of "older hotels" it suffers from the problem of globalisation. By this I mean, if you are going to charge upwards of €410 for a double room and €595 for a junior suite, todays' savvy traveller is going to expect quite a lot of "bang for his/her buck" and sadly this was a tad lacking. Rooms are fine, unfortunately the air conditioning struggled to cope with a particularly hot and humid spell we experienced when we were there, you are always aware that you are staying in a beautiful and historic building, in superb surroundings. Breakfast was OK but a lack of variation meant that it became a little boring after a few days. I would agree with other reports that the restaurant for lunch and dinner doesn't quite live up to expectations and there are excellent restaurants, both in terms of food and value, to be found a short drive away ( a car is a must for this property - I would recommend Osteria Del Castello, L'Arsinello and La Bottega del Trente (30). Some investment in terms of swimming pool loungers for next year wouldn't go amiss. 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HomeJames991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent four nights in this typical tuscan Hotel, which is well represented in the professional and travellers photos, and exceeded all our expectations. We travelled with three children, aged 12, 13, and 6 and there were plenty of other families staying with children of all ages, so it definitely is child-friendly. There is a wonderful swimming pool which the children spent hours playing in - there is a billiard table, which we played at a few times, and also tennis courts across the road, but that's about it. The rooms are very authentic, tuscan style, comfortable and accomodating, but of course, not modern!! The staff are wonderful, kind, and accomodating. We celebrated our sons birthday there and they prepared a special meal for him according to our request which was very nice. The only thing that might be said to be a little lacking is the choice in food - Breakfast is a buffet and very tasty, but for lunch and dinner, there is not too much choice, and there is no pizza, or burgers so the children are limited to pasta and after three or four days you can want more than pasta. There are a couple of nice restaurants which the kind chap on reception recommended and they are fine but take into consideration your are limited a bit foodwise. Otherwise, first class, very enjoyable. Hope to go back.

Room Tip: We took a suite with a third bed in kids room, just remember very little cell phone reception and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesgreathotels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Felice Circeo, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

During three nights at this lovely Tuscan hotel, where staff were very helpful and we were upgraded to a suite, we wanted to write a brilliant review. However, we were less than satisfied with the hotel kitchen which produced dull, boring, badly prepared and poorly cooked food. Breakfast was fine; but after experiencing lunch and dinner, we decided to eat elsewhere and explored nearby towns in Chianti for more exciting restaurants. It was such a shame as the hotel itself is lovely. But what is the point of staying at this sort of expensive hotel when the food fails to reach a high standard?

Room Tip: First room we declined as too large and impersonal as well as being on the ground floor with everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriciaR736282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and had an absolutely fabulous time! We loved our room, the food, the coffee, the wine, the flowers and the gorgeous setting! The waiters and waitresses couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating! We had very quiet late afternoon swims at the pool just before dinner that were relaxing. We had dinner every night there, 2 nights in the formal dining area outside (beautiful setting) and one night at the grill. We loved both experiences.

The only negative was the wine steward was a bit unfriendly and rushed during our wine tasting even though we ended up buying quite a bit of wine to send home. This though did not leave a bad taste in our mouth, we can't wait for it to arrive!

We would highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

utterly blissful, breathtakingly beautiful grounds and buildings, and lovely service. Could not fault it, and would hope to be back one day. Food options good (2 dining options: cuisine-style restaurant and more trattoria-style), and excellent breakfast. Like staying in one's own private little hamlet (which this once was).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.4 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
16.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo San Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo San Felice

Property: Hotel Borgo San Felice
Address: Localita San Felice, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Borgo San Felice 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Felice is a medieval hamlet with rural architecture typical for the Chianti, nestling amidst vineyards and olive groves that cover the hills sloping gently towards the picturesque city of Siena. Today San Felice is a five star hotel, part of the prestigious international chain Relais & Chateaux. Situated in the heart of Tuscany in Chianti Classico, San Felice is only ½ hour driving distance to reach the art centres as Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borgo San Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Felice Hotel
Hotel Borgo San Felice Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing