We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not an impressive stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not an impressive stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our stay was definitely not the: 'woah I want to come back to this place' experience.

The room was ok (supposedly a deluxe double), but not worth the price of 410 EUR. Even though August is one of the high-season months (but the hotel was not nearly full) and higher rates have to be expected. The bathroom was large. A/C was working fine.

The bathroom tiles were not always thoroughly cleaned, but in general cleanness was acceptable.

Breakfast was average at best. I expect freshly made eggs in a 5-star hotel and not some limp scrambled eggs swimming in liquid, or dried-up on top. You can order separate egg dishes at an additional charge, which is not acceptable considering the price for the room.

Seems that hotel management listened to the people complaining about the fact that there was only the one restaurant (which is very high-priced) and a second Restaurant area was added. The food selection is limited. The 'mixed grill' was inedible (steak-leather, chicken-just bones and grease, pork-just fat, sausage- somewhat edible, although greasy). The Bistecca Fiorentina (large T-Bonesteak) is offered in the min. 1 kg size (35 oz or 2.2 pds). The pasta dishes were ok.

The 30 EUR p.P. buffet is uninspired and not what you expect in an Italian restaurant (unless you like cake). I would at least like to see some Italian specialties, in addition to slices of salami and tomato/mozzarella.

Friends who had dined at the other restaurant warned us that it was too expensive for what is being offered and recommended that we go somewhere else. Which we did and we enjoyed a lovely dinner on a wide open terrace with a great view, a mere 10 minute drive from the hotel.

The lunch menu had some good light dishes.

Service was generally friendly, although some waiters do not understand a word of English and ordering a tomato juice can involve 3 people until they understand what you're asking for.

The lawn area for sunbathing is way too small for a hotel of this size and will be impossibly crowded should the hotel be fully booked. The pool is on the small side. With kids jumping in the pool, splashing around and neither the personnel nor the parents asking them to behave, it is impossible to enjoy a relaxed swim.

The piano music in the patio area is too intrusive, sometimes even nerve-racking and the pianist's repertoire not really suitable for the environment.

There is not really any view from the terrace, there are a lot of trees obstructing the view. If you are looking for a great sunset over the hills of Tuscany while enjoying a quiet drink - go some place else.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hiiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgosanfelice, Direttore vendite at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear guest,

We are sorry to learn about your concerns and we would like to give to you some explications: we’re sure you often travel in 5* hotels and know that, except for very few exceptions, the continental buffet breakfast includes scramble eggs and the eggs dishes are charged apart. Even if we change the scramble eggs at least five times every morning, it can happen a little liquid in your dish, often caused by the freshness of the product. It is true that the hotel management listen the client’s opinion, that’s the reason why our GM has accepted your complain about the mixed grill, so, for the good gesture, was kind enough to offer you the dinner you had. Concerning the garden around the swimming pool, the size is more than 1000 sqm, able to accommodate enough sun beds and granting relax areas or more live areas, even if the hotel is completely fully booked. We apologize about the piano music: Borgo San Felice is one of the few hotels of the area which propose 7 days live piano music every evening for our value clients and it is always greatly appreciated (..not this time…). Never less, we thank you very much for your comments; they help us a lot to improve the quality of our service and always important for new different point of view from our clients.
Best regards,

Dario Iaquinto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    55
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
64
266
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. I think it was a converted small town. Awesome service. Rooms were spectacular (although some rooms were smaller than others). The pool area was beautiful and well maintained. Buffet breakfast was well done. We had dinner there as well which was great. There is a winery on-site which gives really cool tours. Would return.

Room Tip: The rooms are different sizes. Make sure you get room that has a sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLSMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We visited the property in July and did not stay in the hotel but in the guest house made available by the winery. It was great but the lack of air-conditioning made for some long days and sleepless nights. However we found refuge in the air-conditioned lobby of the hotel and were very impressed with the amenities; the pool is very refreshing with good service and a nice little restaurant. Plenty of shade while sitting around the pool was more than welcome. Both restaurants were great for dinner with great food, great views and great wine. The hotel also boasts an internationally recognized winery producing Chianti Classico from surrounding vineyards as well as other delicious wines from vineyards elsewhere in Tuscany. This is a very prestigious hotel nestled in the heart of Tuscany that is well worth the visit and less than 30 minutes from Siena!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This former village--complete with town square and church--has been converted into a luxurious vacation spot. It is well located for exploring Tuscany, about 15 miles outside of Sienna. The grounds are magnificent. The staff was helpful and friendly, providing suggestions for places to explore and making reservations for us at a cooking school in Sienna. We had a wonderful room with a patio surrounded by lush flowers. The patio made a big difference, since we were there for 5 nights. (There are only two rooms with patios, this one and a larger accommodation for families.) The dining is somewhat limited. The roads are too narrow and windy for us to feel comfortable leaving at night, so we ate there, and the dining room's room one menu didn't change. Also, the food was a little formal for us. We would have preferred more family Tuscan food.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmnookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgosanfelice, Direttore vendite at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Buongiorno from Borgo San Felice!
on behalf of all the staff of Borgo San Felice, we would like to thank you for your comments. It is always greatly appreciated to know about our client's feedback, so we can share your opinion within all the staff and thinking about the improvements for you!
About two years ago we decided to open another restaurant in Borgo San Felice called "Il Gazebo" which is quite different compared to our main restaurant "Poggio Rosso" (more "gourmet", where the menu is changed three times during the season and able to offer every day some "dalily proposals"). "Il Gazebo" has a more modest country style setting where the same genuine local products are simply cooked on the grill or prepared in a traditional way. It is certainly a valid option in which to enjoy a quick high quality meal.
Thank you again for have been our client, looking forward to welcome you back at Borgo San Felice very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlare, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you need som rest, don't hesitate! We talk about a magical setting of vineyards and olive groves. The area offers a lot of possibilities to discover the surroundings such as the beautyful city of Siena and the southern Tuscan cities as Montepulciano or Montalcino.
The restaurant "Poggio Rosso" has a new chef ans is very creative in his cooking, making a delicious Tuscan cuisine. New is the second restaurant "The Gazebo" where you can eat the real "Chianina" steak.
Of course, don't forget to taste the excellent wines from the resort "San Felice" and specially the "Poggio Rosso" Chianti Classico, one of the best of the "Gallo Nero" area!
Last but not least, the hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere and you need a car.
We definetly go back next year and will bring some wine back at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucasgaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent hotel! Check-in was fast and effortless. Our room was one of the remodeled ones and was great! Hotel makes great use of its property -- you just want to be outside all day. Impeccable service. The restaurant deserves a special mentioning as we dined their both nights and couldn't ask for more. The outside seating creates a great vibe, and waiting staff is extremely well trained. Of course, the food was also really really good. Their outside style of dining reminded me of Il San Pietro di Positano somewhat (minus the sea of course).

Also, hotel has an unbelievable spa. Try their steam room -- you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank world_traveler_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The 5* Borgo San Felice was formerly a hilltop hamlet surrounded. Now converted into a luxurious and immaculately groomed outpost of the Relais and Chateau empire, it is a gem that offers everything one would expect from a top notch hotel.

Surrounded by its own vines and olive groves, set atop a hill in rolling Tuscan countryside, its location is wonderful, really one of the loveliest hotels I have ever seen. The buildings and gardens are immaculately kept and when we visited in mid-July the air hung with the sent of flowers and tree blossom.

Our room, although the least costly on offer, was large, well-appointed and had its own sun terrace. The ensuite bathroom had a generous bathtub.

The swimming pool was a welcome spot to relax after having borrowed the hotel's bicycles to explore the surrounding countryside. Half a dozen pretty hilltop villages, restaurants and a castle lie within a 10 minute drive. The countryside was delightful.

The hotel swaddled us in luxury and this came at a price. Both drinks from the bar and dishes in the hotel's 2 restaurants were significantly more dear than in neighbouring eateries and bars. The utterly relaxing ambience, unique location and warm staff balanced this but a stay in the hotel remains a rather decadent treat.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.4 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
16.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo San Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo San Felice

Property: Hotel Borgo San Felice
Address: Localita San Felice, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Borgo San Felice 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Felice is a medieval hamlet with rural architecture typical for the Chianti, nestling amidst vineyards and olive groves that cover the hills sloping gently towards the picturesque city of Siena. Today San Felice is a five star hotel, part of the prestigious international chain Relais & Chateaux. Situated in the heart of Tuscany in Chianti Classico, San Felice is only ½ hour driving distance to reach the art centres as Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borgo San Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Felice Hotel
Hotel Borgo San Felice Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing