We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good, relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta di Monaciano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tenuta di Monaciano
Certificate of Excellence
Even Yehuda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good, relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

it was according to our expectations, roomy,clean, all facilities, located well and good service. Cost was also fine. We simply had good time and Pina, the lady who runs the place, is fluent in Englsh, very pleasant, helpful and friendly

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ran_Yaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

Just the right place from where starting many one-day-tours all around the Chianti area. We were at Monacianello. the apartment was big enough and clean, with a nice kitchen.
The farmhouse is on top of an hill in the Tuscany countryside of Siena. You shall see the edge of the “Torre del Mangia” (the main tower of Siena) just outside the house in the middle of an outstanding landscape and there is a quiet lake nearby.
They only have self catering accommodations that are cheap if compared to an hotel rate in town.

  • Liked — New chip large quiet and clean, what more.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the butchery just outside Monaciano at Ponte al Bozzone. It has delicious meat and home made ham and salami
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2006

An excellent holidays. Ric destroyed what otherwise would have been perfect tranquillity by entertaining numerous (2 to 10) children, much to their delight! Monaciano is rural enough to be wonderfully peaceful but close enough to the main cities for plenty of sightseeing.
The accommodation itself was clean and comfortable (despite Ric‘s 43 bites in one night!)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2006

I was looking for a place to stay during the Palio last July and came upon Monaciano. (The Palio horse race was amazing.) Not only did Monaciano turn out to be a better deal than staying in Siena, it was an amazing experience in itself. (Under 10 minute drive to the heart of Siena) I had planned on staying for 4 days and ended up spending my entire vacation there. The scenery is quite stunning you find yourself saying ‘can this really be real.’ Nice walks in the morning around the estate and afternoons by the pool, what a life. The main villa itself is probably the best kept secret about this estate. (If I understood correctly it is about a century and a half old.) The gardens of the villa include a number of fountains, an aviary, a garden with a couple hundred lemon trees, and outdoor playhouse (they evidently have small productions in the summer months). I have since sent a number of friends and relatives. Check out the last minute specials (where I found the best rate.) Their wine is also top notch.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2004

We wanted to spend some time visiting Tuscany but we were afraid to have our children bored. So we rent an appartment in Monaciano and it was fantastic. Very close to Siena but otside the city lithing, Monaciano is a central point to start many one-day trip-around and in the afternoon children were happy to end the day in the pool in front of the house while preparing dinner outside in the garden under the stars shining.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2003

Excellent location, amazing views. We stayed at Poggio, 2 families with 4 and 5 children. the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. It was somehow too hot untill late in the evening but we had been there at the very big heat of August 2003 and it should not be a problem in a regular summer. The pool is very nice and big enough to have a lot of fun. apartment no. 1, where the bedrooms are on the ground floor is not recomended for lack of privacy. The farm produces also Kosher Chianti, for those who care. The service was exceptional as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2003

The house was big, confortable and clean right in front of the pool.the view was superb, vineyard and olive tree as you wold expect in chintishire.Very close (10') to Siena, and not far from Florence (1 h), Moreriggioni, S. Giminiano ad other touristic places in Tuscany.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
2.6 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Curina Resort
Villa Curina Resort
#5 of 11 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 11 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#12 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 39 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Monaciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Monaciano

Property: Tenuta di Monaciano
Address: | Ponte a Bozzone, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Tuscany, is a hidden gem. The Tenuta di Monaciano has something for everyone—whether you’re looking for a relaxing getaway, a family-friendly adventure, or an action-packed vacation visiting ancient hill towns and the wine regions of Tuscany. As you wind your way up our drive with its awesome views of the countryside, you will pass through fields of sunflowers, vines and ancient olive groves. Come home to our charming restored farm houses, equipped with every comfort necessary for a pleasant stay surrounded by nature. Check us out! Flexible accommodations provide limitless options when booking your vacation. Would you like a cozy retreat for two? If traveling with family and friends, would you like a multi-bedroom apartment, or an entire farmhouse, or even a cluster of farmhouses? Our apartments are fully furnished in the traditional Tuscan style, with wooden beams and a well-appointed kitchenette and outdoor dining area. Some offer fireplaces. Some are pool side. We offer common areas with pools, wide open spaces, barbecues, umbrellas, tables and chairs, a play area and parking. We offer the sights, smells and fresh air of the Tuscan countryside. Our farmhouses are surrounded by the working vineyards and olive groves that their original inhabitants tended for centuries. The estate continues to be farmed today for the Chianti Classico wines of the splendid Villa of Monaciano—with its formal gardens, sculptures, winery and cave. Don’t take our word, take a look! Or a taste! Located in the countryside just minutes from Siena and a quick walk from the quaint village of Ponte a Bozzone, our central location in the heart of Tuscany gives our guests quick access to hundreds of cultural events, historical sights, the Palio, wineries, family activities, local attractions, nearby shopping and outdoor recreational opportunities. Just ask! Relive the day’s adventures. Reconnect with loved ones while dining alfresco on your patio with fresh local ingredients prepared in your kitchenette. Don’t want to cook? Take quick walk down the drive to savor the offerings on the menu of the restaurants of Ponte a Bozzone or Siena. Go ahead! Do everything or perhaps nothing at all. Relax. Simply lounge by one of our two pools. Watch our incredible sunsets. Hike or bike our vast property or connect to the labyrinth of local country roads. No need to bring your bike. Reserve one through us. Arrange for a tour of our formal gardens: among the most magnificent in Italy. The beauty and tranquility of Monaciano might lull you into forgetting that Siena and all of the delights of Tuscany are just a short drive away! The Tenuta di Monaciano is centrally located in Tuscany just 7km away from the center of Siena, 20 km from Monteriggioni, Castellina in Chianti and Radda in Chianti, 30 km from Terme di Rapolano, 43 km from San Gimignano, 45 km from Montalcino and Pienza, 70 km from Florence. In the quaint village of Ponte a Bozzone, 1,5 km away from the Tenuta, there is a small city center, with restaurants, grocery store and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tenuta di Monaciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Monaciano Hotel
Tenuta Di Monaciano Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing