We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Local Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Locanda di Tommaso - CLOSED

La Locanda di Tommaso
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
LEEDS
Level Contributor
117 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Local Gem.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were lucky to be recommended to this great small village restaurant by a local vineyard owner.
He certainly knew his food.
We went midweek and it was full of locals.
We had a complimentary glass of Prosecco and nibble to start. The bread basket then arrived containing warm and varied delicious rolls.
The starters were great but the star dish was a veal steak coated in a nut and sesame fine milanese. which was fantastic.
The service was very friendly and excellent.
Well worth visiting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIKEFOODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    39
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montecalvo Versiggia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This was definitely one of the best restaurants I have ever dined at. And in such a small village, nothing special, on a so so square. Unbelievable. Delicious bread, several types, home made, that you cannot stop eating. A courtesy rosato as appetizer as well as an amuse gueule, liver pate in our case, better than you will ever find. Then an incredibly refined pasta, pappardelle, with the freshest ricotta and some very fine touches of red onion slices and an excellent melted cheese. For seconds a baby veal, almost raw, with almond crest and a deliciously refined sliced green vegetable. Hardly any room left for the dolce unfortunately. In addition to this the very friendly service, great choice of wine and prices to laugh at. We paid 30€ pp for the meal, plus 15 for wine and a few bucks for service and coffee. We will return this week to try a few of the other dishes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Four of us ordered the tasting menu at $30 Euros pp and it was definitely worth the money. Four lovely courses of amazing food. We would all recommend this restaurant for a special occasion. This is a small restaurant in the heart of town and was a wonderful surprise. The chef is just excellent! If you prefer to order off the menu, we also did that on an earlier visit and each meal was prepared perfectly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The owners were a young couple and you could tell they enjoyed making our dining experience delightful. The menu was somewhat limited but excellent.. One of the owners spoke a little English and provided us with a menu in English. We ate there several times and really enjoyed it. We were there in early March.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited this restaurant and the lovely couple twice during our holiday in July 2012. Each time, the lady of the house was concerned about her guest and the husband, Tommaso, Chef, was cooking excellent dishes. The wine card is appropriate. Excellent restaurant in this little town!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FM1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda di Tommaso also viewed

Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 
San Gusme, Castelnuovo Berardenga
Ponte a Bozzone, Castelnuovo Berardenga
 
Ponte a Bozzone, Castelnuovo Berardenga
Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing