We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Tuscan Cooking!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Fancy to learn some authentic Tuscan cooking from a real Italian grandma? Le Pietre Vive is the place for you! We spent a wonderful and memorable night with Nonna Ciana (farmhouse owner, Nicola's mother) and Valeria (the translator), learning basics and tips of authentic Tuscan cooking from them! The handmade tagliatelle and gnocchi Nonna Ciana taught us to made, using ONLY fresh and organic ingredients from farms near-by, tasted "perfectto"!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank prototype_jenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Owner at Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review-you too as guests were perfetti! Hugs from Nonna Ciana at the coking class and greetings from all The Pietre Vive Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 122 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here in November last year, we wanted to stay in Castello delle Quattro but it was fully booked and were offered the apartment. We were extremely happy with the apartment, it was perfect and had everything we could have wanted. The apartment was immaculate and we were greeted by Nicola's adorable Mother who was as authentic as it comes as an Italian Mamma. She looked after us incredibly well and even cooked for us one night. Was by far a highlight of our trip. Highly recommend to anyone that wants an authentic Italian stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Owner at Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Very glad you enjoyed your " authentic" Tuscan experience-thanks for the review and hope to welcome you back again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We wanted to book a room at Castello delle Quattro Torre in Sienna and it was fully booked so we were offered the apartment at Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti and after reading the internet reviews we booked it for 3 nights. It was a good choice and we enjoyed our stay at this nice farmhouse. The apartment is spacious and clean and it suited us well for a family with 2 small kids. Nonna was a welcoming host and she cooked a traditional Tuscany dinner for us and some other guests in the restaurant one evening and that was one of the best meals we've had in Tuscany. Thanks Nonna and Nicola and we are definitely planning to return here next time we are in Tuscany.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank dub_ec_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Owner at Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Thanks for your nice review- looking forward to seeing you agian next time you are here in Tuscany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were planning to stay at Castello delle Quattro Torra, but it was not available, so Nicola told us that they did have room at their farm house. We were glad that we ended up staying at the farm house. It was authentic Tuscan farmhouse with field of blooming sunflowers. The rooms were comfortable with nice views of the fields. The breakfast was excellent, and we enjoyed listening to Nicola's charming mother-in-law tell us history of Tuscany. The farmhouse is an easy 10 minute drive from Sienna. Nicola's brother was on vacation when we there, so we didn't get to experience his cooking, but we went to dinner in a village close to the farm recommended by Nicola, and it was one of the best meals we had in Italy. We will for sure stay at the farm house again on our next visit, and allocate more time to spend at the farm. Nicola is and his family are wonderful and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saguaro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Owner at Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us on the farm and we will be delighted to see you again next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

WOW an experience of life time. We stayed at the Farm “Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti.
Our stay was like those you dream about or read in a novel. The staff, food, room, location, the chef, and what a chef he is. We ate in his restaraunt every night and enjoyed the wonderful local produce grown locally or direct from the garden. Nonna made the whole family feel very welcome as if she had known us all for a lifetime. A fantastic experience, one our whole family will talk about for the rest of our lives, Or until we visit again.
Thank you from the Brooks family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Owner at Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Thanks for the great review and for the fantastic photos! We especially loved your appreciation of our local produce..Tuscan agriculture welcomes your support!! Big hug from Nonna and best wishes from all the Pietre ViveTeam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

For our 30th Anniversary celebration, we took a "bucket list" trip to the Greek Islands and Italy. It was truly a trip of a lifetime with so many special places and memories.

The highlight of our travels in Italy was our stay at Quattro Torra, a beautiful Castle in the middle of the Sienna countryside. Nicola the owner was very warm, welcoming and attentive to our needs. We stayed in the Blue Room which was large, comfortable and the views amazing. Breakfast each morning was delicious, well presented and served by Nicola himself.

Our plans had included taking a cooking class and just 10 minutes away, Nicolas mother-in-law Nona Ciana offers a wonderful experience in her farmhouse kitchen with the help of a translator.
Both Nona and Valeria were so sweet, charming and funny. While sipping great wine, we were taught how to make Tagliatelle and Gnocchi that was nothing like I have ever had. I am now a Gnocchi convert!

Our experience at both the Castle and Farmhouse was everything we had hoped for in our stay in Tuscany. Thank you Nicola, Nona and family! Joe & Stephanie

Room Tip: The Blue Room was large, comfortable and had a mini fridge which was a bonus. Views amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeandstephie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were staying at the sister property, Castello delle Quattro Torra, and were recommended to come here for dinner. How fortunate we did! The chef is the brother of the owner of Quattro Torra, and he prepares his meals with passion from fresh local ingredients. It is a set meal each night, with the menu being decided based on the ingredients that are in season and the inspiration of the chef! He presented each course personally, with explanations of the ingredients and preparation. Everything was delicious! For only 30 Euro per person, including wine and digestifs, it was an exceptional evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocean-mountainview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelnuovo Berardenga hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
374 reviews
6.9 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
562 reviews
5.6 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Brignole
Villa Brignole
#1 of 1 in Montaperti
50 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dievole
Dievole
#1 of 4 in Vagliagli
303 reviews
4 mi away
Casa Cernano
Casa Cernano
#9 of 26 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti

Address: Via Martiri di Monteaperti | Loc. Monteapertaccio, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range: $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo a gestione familiare a 10 km da Siena.The area is also marked as "Parco Termale dell' Acqua Borra,because only a few hundred meters from the farm there is a small hot spring called Acqua Borra, with curative properties.The farmhouse has been renovated with care and passion by the owners and today, while deliberately keeping intact the original structure of the building it is fully restored and equipped with completely new and advanced plants, with only a wood heater (boiler inverse flame emission 0)in winter, and solar panels for hot water in summer. In the Farm they produce, together with old varieties of wheat, extra virgin olive oil and Chianti wine,In the garden is planted with different varieties of tomatoes, peppers, hot peppers, eggplants, courgettes, lettuce, cabbages, cucumbers, pumpkins, strawberries, melons and watermelons. The products, depending on seasonal availability are used for food preparation along with herbs from the Farm: basil, parsley, rosemary, sage, oregano, tarragon, mint, bay leaves and juniper. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Pietre Vive Di Montaperti Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing