We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Asinello

L'Asinello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $88
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Go for the fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Love this little place in the delightful paese of Villa a Sesta. The owners - waitress and chef - are friendly and welcoming - I go for dinner to enjoy beautifully prepared fish in this area of Toscana!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gullivertravels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    33
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baia Mare, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Hosts and Superb Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We visited this delightful place twice durring our stay in Tuscany. What a terrific find!

Thoughtful menus with exceedingly fresh and quality ingredients, creative touches without being obtuse, flawless service across the board. It's all great.

You can find authentic tuscan food with a gentle modern touch. The result is wonderful!

In chatting with the gracious hostess, I found out that this is a two-person operation. One in the front, and one in the back. Just a young husband and wife doing a bang-up job in a very demanding business. Because of their dedication to what they do, they are succeeding!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyTravelPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tuscan Food with a twist.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We enjoyed a very pleasant meal in a relaxing setting. Food was of good quality and the chef has imposed his own style on the Tuscan cuisine.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruefguet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
1 review
“Cozy ambiance with amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

I went there this summer with my family and I loved it. The atmosphere is very warm and friendly with beautiful outdoor seating. The chef sent us a mixture of starters which included a classic cold appetizer with selected Italian meats and cheeses along with a special he had made that night of foie gras. It was cooked perfectly and was so flavorful and the texture was perfect. I then ordered the gnocchi with rabbit and pesto and it was absolutely delicious. I also tried the cinghiale (my personal favorite) and it was cooked perfectly in a wonderful sauce/broth. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough to anyone travelling through the Chianti area!!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TS181442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dinner with very special service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had dinner here recently on my family's two week vacation in Italy, and it was absolutely amazing. I am blown away that we were served such a meal in such a tiny little village. The cuisine was very progressive, not necessarily traditional Tuscan. However, the ingredients were of the freshest quality and were very Tuscan.

This restaurant is run by a husband and wife team. The husband is the chef doing all the cooking, and the wife served us. She happened to be very pregnant ... her baby was due in only 4 days! However, her service was amazing. She recommended a very good local wine for us to drink at a very reasonable price. We were there with our two young daughters and they were happy to make them pastas that were off the menu that were more suitable for them. We tried three desserts that were all amazing and unique, and then afterwards we were brought complimentary little sweet treats to enjoy with our coffee.

I cannot say enough good things about this place. It is definitely worth coming here to dine if yo uare in the area. You will not be disappointed!! We will definitely be back if we are in the area!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdc8082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Asinello also viewed

Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 

Been to L'Asinello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing