We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castel Monastero
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli(Rapolano Terme)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Palazzetti(Castelnuovo Berardenga)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 2 Mari(Rapolano Terme)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Curina Resort(Castelnuovo Berardenga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mille Primavere(Gaiole in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Borgo San Felice(Castelnuovo Berardenga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Chiassale(Rapolano Terme)
View Hotel
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveler rating
381
100
57
19
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
100
57
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla cantinagordon ramsey restaurantwine cellartuscan countrysidethe hotel managerrooms are beautifulspa experienceconverted monasterygreat propertyour honeymoonservice was top notchjunior suiteeach morningsmall groupspent daysexplore tuscanyour night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 564 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I were looking to spend a few days in Tuscany away from the big cities. Our travel agent, Kathi Sheridan found us this great hotel (Leading Hotels Group). It used to be a monastery and thus is a combination of many buildings. It also houses a large spa and a pool. However, we like touring the small towns and mountain top villages so we just stayed here for its location. Once again we were upgraded(triple) to a huge suite near the restaurant. The view was not good but then again, our room was spectacular; clearly the largest on our trip. Their restaurant, La Canta was good but pricey. The morning buffet breakfast was included and was quite good with a wide selection of hot and cold foods. The service at the hotel was superior and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager was always nearby and looking to help out or answer questions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Mr. Scott92 ,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I just got back from a 3 night stay at Castel Monastero -- booked via Luxury Link. The property really is beautiful. The rooms are spacious, the amenities fantastic and the staff is incredibly friendly. Francessca greeted us daily each morning with a huge smile at breakfast. The hotel has an excellent breakfast spread -- and you can even order delicious omelets from the kitchen. Valentina was another staff member who stood out as incredibly nice and helpful! This is a great place if you want to chill out and just relax. Good spa (although pricey.) ... a couple of nice restaurants. If you plan on leaving the resort, you'd best rent a car as taxis are very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Mr. thetravelingguy,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were given a lavish large penthouse, which we ordered in any case, it was lovely. The views were stunning out our side window, tuscan country side. The people at the front desk were not very nice and the welcome was a bit lacking. The La Canta restaurant was average and so was the service, we did not feel there was sufficient attention given to service and mistakes were made. The manager is a true gentleman, he checks on everyone and is kind and courteous and so is the lovely lady that runs the spa, both were my favourite people there as well as two waitresses, that remembered details such as which beverage we prefered. The pool's were all nice as was the spa. We were trapped in the lift it broke and we had to be rescued at one point, the woman that run's the spa was so worried and attentive and so was the manager, they compensated us, all was okay in any case and I really valued their care. We asked about day trips, not having rented a car and were told there was none by front desk, the next day we tried again, getting a more senior person, who in front of the front desk staff, gave us brochure's and we picked a day trip with limosine chauffer, laterv that day we got a mercedes minivan instead, we did complain but proceded. It was a lovely trip we went to a vinyard a restaurant, Sienna, a Monastery and other sites and our guide was a gentleman. The gordan ramsey rstaurant was lovely and the breakfasts were lovely to. The wasp's go at your food though, I am allergic, so was constantly in a state of fear. The wasp's are everywhere so watch out! Mixed review, some good bits some bad bits, but mostly they need to get new front desk staff, they act as if they are superior to you, when obviously they are not. Politeness and helpfulness go a long way!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilmisskaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Mrs. lilmisskaty ,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you want to get away from all the noise from a city, this is the place to go.
Staff are very nice and helpful, rooms are spacious and well equipped.

The best part is the SPA and the restaurants, dinner at LA CANTINA are very good and with very reasonable prices.

If you're looking for some activities during your stay, reception staff can suggest different options based on your preferences. I went horse riding to a Polo club nearby, which was quite enjoyable.

I would recommend this place for a romantic getaway, although there were several couples with kids.

The hotel is not that easy to find, I do suggest a sat nav if you're getting there by car (which is the best option)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koush_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Mrs. Koush Ann,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We don't normally write reviews but we felt compelled to do so for this property. We chose this property for our honeymoon. This is our feedback:

The story:

On arrival we were given a room that faced the road and parking lot outside the complex. The room itself was large and nice but the location was simply a non-starter, it felt like the old garage but converted. We booked the place through a travel agency and specifically asked them to inform the hotel this was for a special occasion. We pre-paid about CAN$550 per night and for that price, we were not impressed. After some long discussions, the front desk manager (very nice and charming) tried to accommodate us by showing us three options in which 2 were upgrades. After 24 hours of travel non-stop and being exhausted, we opted to pay an extra CAN$225 dollars a night, the non upgrade room was simply not what we were looking for - very average. After prompting, the manager did include the spa amenities as part of the upgrade (access fee are over CAN$100 a day) but since we weren't in Tuscany for the spa we barely used it (but it is a amazing spa).

On the same night, after finally getting the room, we ordered a dish through room service. They added a CAN$30 dollar fee for bringing a plate of pasta to our room. The cost of the fee was more than our meal (excluding bottle of wine). Being active travelers, this is the only place that we ever stayed with this fee. On top of it, they won't give you an iron and force you to use their services which range from 10 dollars and up per item. (we later learn this is a rule in Italy, but there should be other arrangements possible - traveling your cloths always need ironing, we calculated to iron all the cloths we wanted to wear during the 7 day stay at this hotel would be around CAN$500).

The next day we ordered a taxi to go to a town. We ordered it at noon. We asked it be there at 1:30 PM. We arrived at reception on time and there was no taxi. After some research and waiting in lobby, they informed us that the taxi could take a while as it came all the way from Siena. Since the trip is only 20 minutes we didn't expect this and should have been informed. We waited until 2:45 PM for the taxi.

The housekeeping is average. The toilets here are very "powerful" and "splash" a lot - toilet water gets out when you flush it (we don't mean just a bit, we mean a lot). We noticed that the marks left by this on the floor were not cleaned from one day to the next. They did not refill shampoo and other items each day. The shower rarely produced warm enough water (weirdly enough the bath had hot water). Given how much we were paying per night, this was quite surprising. However, we came home to all of our cloths folded on the bench. Interesting choice of priorities.

We stayed here 7 nights and each day it was the same breakfast. For a place that tries to look like a five star hotel, it really isn't. It was standard breakfast. There were no options for making items such as omlettes etc. However, the morning staff (Fressanca) and most restaurant staff are very nice and charming.

The food at the restaurants is good. You should know that the Gordon Ramsey restaurant does not have many Italian options. We were not impressed with the service at the Tuscan restaurant by the restaurant manager. The hotel and restaurant accommodates celebrities and the elite. We didn't realize that when we booked. Even though we both are doing well in our careers, if you are not perceived as the elite, they make you feel it. For example, we made a reservation at this restaurant. When we arrived there were two seats available. One was the worst seat in the place and the other was in a quiet nice place. Since it was meant to be romantic evening we asked for the quiet spot. We were seated there initially. After five minutes, the restaurant manger came running over to tell us the worst seat was for us. The seat we were in was for someone else. We felt embarrassed amongst other guests to be escorted to the other seat. We observed that the seat we were removed from was vacant for over an hour. Eventually a couple arrived who got a lot of attention-we figure someone important to them. They tried to make it up by giving us some sparkling wine but by then the damage was done. We weren't important and neither was our celebration. The hotel did nothing to make us feel special. They just made a lot of money off of us.

In our view. this is a great place for people who have significant monetary resources looking for a good location, good food but average service. We noticed that the hotel staff respond to the comments of reviewers on this site. However, if you look at the common feedback by travelers, very little has changed. In summary, we will not be recommending this place to our friends. This place is far from a five star but has enormous potential if it changes its rules, policies and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2cents2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

firstly, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and for your invaluable feedback regarding your recent stay at Castel Monastero. The feedbacks we receive are very important to us and help us ensure that we continuously deliver the excellent standards which we are renowned for.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion the hotel did not meet your expectations and that it not live up to the usual excellent standards we consistently strive to provide. Please rest assured that I have personally investigated the matter and proper action has been taken in order to correct the letdown of service as well as avoid any further recurrence.

I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting our property in the future, giving us the opportunity to recover and show you that we are indeed a hotel with a high standard of service.

Please kindly contact me directly and I will be pleased to ensure that you have the service you expect from our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews