We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Property in Tuscany” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castel Monastero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castel Monastero
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Property in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great property, located on top a hill, in the beautiful Tuscan country side. We did a very nice trek from the hotel up the nearby hills. The spa is one of the most complete I have ever enjoyed. Food and restaurant are very good and very nicely set. Our room was a little small, but new and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Manuel S,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    90
    51
    15
    5
See reviews for
75
282
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was really nice, rooms were excellent, wifi was good and works wherever you are on the resort, staff couldn't do enough for you, always got a smile on there face, (Francesca at breakfast) starts your day with a big smile and a little conversation.
The pools were nice when the sun is shining its lovely just to sit around them and take in the scenery.
Downside was cantina restaurant a little
Pricey and not a big selection, but a beautiful setting in the old cellar. The other restaurant is contrada ( a Gordon Ramsey ) restaurant is closed Sunday, Monday, so wanted to book for Tuesday but were told they were doing something in kitchen so was closed Tuesday as well, disappointing as we're not told previously.
Spa was nice but pricey €40 per person just to get in, to us we thought being a guest at hotel you should be able to enter for free, treatments were very expensive.
Far from anything so definitely need a car.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Ty1078,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are three friendly families planned to welcome new year's Eve in Tuscany. We chose this complex after reviews from other visitors. But unfortunately there are a lot of when we arrived. The premises were a terrible cold, around 12C. I had to sleep with clothes on. Our daughter was three years old. After repeated complaints to us explained that after up to 48 h, will be warm. On the second evening we could change clothes and take a shower, but not the children, it was around 17C. The bathroom was not cleaned after the last repair. On the third day, the temperature in the room was normal about 20. I think it is not normal for a complex with a claim to happen, I don't know!!!!! You be the judge.

Room Tip: Do not go there at the winter!!! There's nothing to do !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyubomir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Lyubomir,
firstly, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and for your invaluable feedback regarding your recent stay at Castel Monastero. The feedbacks we receive are very important to us and help us ensure that we continuously deliver the excellent standards which we are renowned for. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion the hotel did not meet your expectations and that it not live up to the usual excellent standards we consistently strive to provide. Please rest assured that I have personally investigated the matter and proper action has been taken in order to correct the letdown of service as well as avoid any further recurrence. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting our property in the future, giving us the opportunity to recover and show you that we are indeed a hotel with a high standard of service.
Please kindly contact me directly and I will be pleased to ensure that you have the service you expect from our hotel.
Yours sincerely,

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at caster monastero in may 2013. The place is just amazing, the setting in Tuscany with the surrounding vineyards, trees and green hills is beautiful.

The hotel is finished to an exceptional standard, we stayed in a junior suite which was huge with stunning views. The restaurants and bars were superb, the food was excellent. Contrada the Gordon Ramsay restaurant was fantastic.

If you are looking for something completely different perhaps for a short break honeymoon or a spa break in Tuscany this the the place for you.

Castel monastero Is like something from a fairy tail.

Room Tip: If you can afford it stay in a junior or deluxe suite they are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfiemoon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Alfiemoon999,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

With the family we stayed a week in Castel Monastero. Very disappointing. They would not allow children in the Spa even when the hotel was almost empty. Only one restaurant was open, the other "was not worth opening". I was very difficult to get any drink in the bar. Room was ok but not up to a 5 star standard! Room service existed but came down to only 2 choices of plates. Not worth the money at all. But the region is fantastic. I went back and will go again, but not in the Castel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest Anso T,
thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We sincerely apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations and did not live up to the usual excellent standards we consistently strive to provide.
In reference to your comments about our restaurant, I am very sorry to hear about your less than satisfactory experience. Clients have always commented on how warm and accommodating our team is, and on the high quality of our food - you can also read this from our past TA reviews.
In regards to the spa, I do apologize for the inconvenience however unfortunately by law we cannot grant people under the age of 16 access to the spa
I have shared your feedback with the team and we will make sure that certain errors don’t reoccur in the future.
I do hope you have the opportunity to return to Castel Monastero in the near future and experience a faultless stay that exceeds your expectations. The overwhelming response from our guests is that we have a product that puts us among the very best hotels in Italy, I am only sorry that you could not leave with that impression.
Best regards,

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent our honeymoon here in April, 2013. The weather was perfect. We drove from Florence, which was quite a challenge as we were not prepared for roads that are not labeled as they are in the US. We even had a GPS and still had quite a difficult time finding the resort. Despite this, the views through Chianti were amazing and distracted us from the fact we were lost. (If anyone drives from Florence, I recommend driving toward Sienna first, then head east toward Castelnuovo or Brillo).

But, once we arrived, our stay was amazing. We were greeted and taken to our room while the staff took care of our car and baggage. Upon entering the room, there was a bottle of champagne and tangerines awaiting our arrival. This was a nice treat given our difficult drive.

The staff and management went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. We stayed in the Junior Suite which is in the main tower. It is a two floor room about the size of our apartment here in the US. The bathroom had a fantastic bathtub as well as a standup shower. The towel warmers were nice and I believe the bathroom floor may be heated as it always felt warm. The lounge area was a nice touch and the second floor tower offered breathtaking views of the Tuscan countryside.

The restaurant in the basement is an old wine cellar. It is a half circle shaped ceiling made entirely of brick. Very nice ambience but the food was just good, not great. The service was very good and the management was always seen strolling through making sure everyone was having a nice stay at their resort.

I must say we did not visit the spa as we wanted to get the most out of Italy and only had a limited time of 4 nights here. Therefore, I cannot comment on the spa whatsoever.

The grounds were beautiful and the vineyard is nice. We actually bought some of the chianti wine made from the grapes here in the US (we got it at Total Wine in Tampa, FL).

All in all, it was a fantastic honeymoon location and we could not have asked for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Ryan J,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Once a country monastery now a luxury spa/hotel in the Tuscan countryside. After a wonderful stay in Florence we looked forward to relaxing in the hills of Tuscany. Castel Monastero offered just the experience we were looking for. The hillside property was one of the most beautiful we had ever encountered in our travels. It was like being in our little Italian village. Our room overlooked a nearby vineyard and was well appointed. I would have liked better lighting in the vanity area. Enzo,the manager was made us feel like family. Francesca's breakfast buffet was always delicious and plentiful. Lucca took excellent care of us in the Contrada restaurant, even going out to get us pizza one night. We wish the Gordon Ramsey restaurant had been open (may1) but we did not go hungry. The location was great for driving to the areas many little towns and Siena. many thanks to Enzo and his wonderful staff!!!

Room Tip: a room overlooking the vineyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michella48009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. Michella 48009,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
10.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
10.0 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
21.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Monastero

Property: Castel Monastero
Address: Loc. Monastero d'Ombrone, 19, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castel Monastero 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While painters are born, travellers are made and no land has aroused the curiosity, the enthusiasm and the culture of entire generations more than Tuscany. Certainly, not all of them have had the luck to begin their journey in the enchantment of Castel Monastero. In fact a few kilometres from our village, along roads of pure delight, can be found masterpieces of art and of the highest culinary tradition.Every day, a discovery. Every day a different itinerary passing through unspoiled scenery. Every day, on your return, a massage and a candle-lit dinner. And together, over a romantic meal for two or with your friends, you will recall the frescoes of Piero della Francesca and the perfect walls of Monteriggioni, the Renaissance utopia of Pienza and the gastronomic glory of Castellina in Chianti. And again, to surprise you, there’ll be a sunset over Pitigliano and a stroll around the Etruscan necropolises of Sovana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Castel Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Monastero Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castel Monastero Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing