We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Italy's Best Hotel/Spas”
Review of Castel Monastero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castel Monastero
Certificate of Excellence
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of Italy's Best Hotel/Spas”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

About 15 miles from Siena, in the heart of Tuscany sits a lovely 5 star hotel/spa called Castel Monastero. Formally a monastery/village dating back to the 11th century. We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. The food, the service, the friendly staff, the walks around the hotel grounds and through the tuscan countryside, this was a very relaxing 2 days.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car, you can take a taxi from Siena for about 40 Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaPrevosti, General Manager at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Comfort,

Thank you for taking the time to write this very nice comment on TripAdvisor.

It is always a pleasure to learn that our clients leave the Resort happy and satisfied.

I would like to assure you that I will share your comments with all the team here at Castel Monastero, as comments like yours will further motivate each and every one of us to continue working towards maintaining and improving the high standards we set out in offering our guests.

I hope to have the opportunity to stay with you once again in the future and in such case please do let us know in order to assist you with your arrangements.

All my best regards,

Andrea Prevosti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    94
    51
    17
    5
See reviews for
76
288
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan,NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I went here 2 years ago and it was the first week of October. It was magical and it was harvest season and the beginning of truffle season. We decided to return and see if the relaxtion and professionalism still existed. To our amazement it still lived up to our first incredible trip. We have travelled all over the world and this place is the most relaxing, beautiful we have ever vacationed. There is something about this location and thebeauty of the surrounding nature that is transforming,vineyards and rolling hills of sunflowers. The room was hugh and had 6 windows, very clean, excellent spa, and the breakfast was always a pleasure. Each morning Francesca greeted us with her beautiful smile and just wanted to please her guests. She has been there 4 years and to this day really happy to be there helping and making a beautiful buffet. I cannot wait for next October and return to this wonderful hideaway!
We rented a car and went to many towns in the area. You can drive 10 min or 45 min and really enjoy the Tuscan sun. The towns were really tiny to large and all of them had great trattoria's.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spread out but still close walking distance to the spa and recption area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Harriett at the excellent Bailey Robinson travel company recommended this hotel. We were not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff (as all the staff were). Our room was on the first floor near the Spa. The room was excellent and well furnished. Noise from guests in the room above was sometimes a problem (recommend a top floor room). Facilities at the hotel were excellent. Breakfast excellent (hot food not kept hot though). We tried the Cantina restaurant for dinner-excellent. The Gordon Ramsey restaurant where breakfast was served was not as atmospheric. Plenty to do around the hotel and plenty of little restaurants in surrounding villages.
All in all a 4.5 star hotel with 5 star staff.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room (as long as you do not mind steps)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007BillM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here for part of a tour around Italy. The location and surroundings are beautiful as are the furnishings, artwork and interiors. The rooms also beautiful with peace & quiet for a wonderful nights sleep. We were let down by poor service a few times which did put a negative side on our review for example we were told by 3 separate members of staff we had to pay for the use of the spa eventhough I said our travel agent had told us it was included and made to feel rather embarrassed by the way it was translated as if we were trying to get something free! After emailing our agent in UK we received an apology saying the use of spa was actually included! As I thought!!
The spa has lovely sauna and steam room but some of the jets weren't working in the main indoor pool and the seats are probably the most uncomfortable spa seats we've ever experienced... Like wooden slatted moulded chairs so they could do with some loungers or cushioned chairs to lie on perhaps?
The cocktail bar man was wonderful and the housekeeping staff and particularly the breakfast staff led by Francesca. Superb level of service and simply delicious choice too.
Be warned when checking out that extras aren't added onto your bill as ours was too!
All in all a stunning setting to experience the local area and some fantastic restaurants in villages close by... Be sure to eat in the Osteria in Buccine village.
In summary we feel for even lower standards of hotels we have experienced far better service so may be an area for them to improve upon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stephy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I would like to thank all team of amazing, magnificent Castel Monastero! It has been a great pleasure to stay in this Castel during my holidays in June!
My visit at Luxury Monastaro has been truly enjoyable and memorable! I'm impressed with the style, atmosphere, coloring, service, accommodation, catering, SPA & leisure facilities! Castel Monastero seems to be like a luxury dream and I'm sure it remains one of the best hotels among The luxury Hotels ))).
I make sure that "Castel Monastero" is the BEST suitable hotels in the region for people that keep the level of high service and MAGNIFICANT atmosphere on the highest level!!! I would like to thank all the team of the hotel for attention and support during my stay! Mr. Andrea - a GREAT GENERAL MANAGER!!! I was impressed with all stuff who served us on the resort -with the Reception, Guest Relations, Room Service, Housekeeping, Restaurant outlets, Service SPA and pools area and so on and so forth! They are real professionals!!!
Special thanks to Anna. She made unreal things, she helped us with everything ... transfers ... excursions... schedule of spa treatments ... dinners, etc. .. everything was organized perfectly! She is very attentive, active, punctual, and accurate! Big thanks to her!
Thanks to Mr. Nello, he is a very charming and creative Chef!!! Everything were masterpieces and soooo delicious ... and we thought about recommendations of Dr. Ali all the time, but we couldn't stop. Thanks to Mr. Rodolfo he was so attentive to us.
Wish to all of them success, good luck, stability, growth. I hope to come back to magnificant oasis of peace where everything have been done to get awesome recreation!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilona_Starchenkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 days at Castel Monastero and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Castel Monastero is an antique borgo which has been restored and transformed into a 5 star luxury resort.We spent the first afternoon in their Spa which was very relaxing after a week around Italy. The salt pool, followed by the saunas and whirlpools were an energizing experience. We enjoyed a great dinner at the Cantina restaurant ( we were there on Sunday & Monday when the high end Gordon Ramsey restaurant was closed ) with a great meal and a wonderul passito wine. Breakfast was served buffet style and was very good, the staff cordial. We would like to thank the General Manager, Mr. Andre Prevosti, for his geuine courtesy and all the staff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely base to explore Tuscany. Sienna only 20 minutes away by car. Rooms had a rustic feel but clean and comfortable and the housekeeping staff were pleasant and very thorough. The reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast (managed by Francesca) was excellent. The spa has a wonderful sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi. We enjoyed several evenings in the bar. The bartender is fabulous. My husband especially enjoyed his elderflower cocktail but I would recomend the Rosemary Sour - not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
10.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
654 reviews
10.0 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
359 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
330 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
21.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Monastero

Property: Castel Monastero
Address: Loc. Monastero d'Ombrone, 19, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castel Monastero 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While painters are born, travellers are made and no land has aroused the curiosity, the enthusiasm and the culture of entire generations more than Tuscany. Certainly, not all of them have had the luck to begin their journey in the enchantment of Castel Monastero. In fact a few kilometres from our village, along roads of pure delight, can be found masterpieces of art and of the highest culinary tradition.Every day, a discovery. Every day a different itinerary passing through unspoiled scenery. Every day, on your return, a massage and a candle-lit dinner. And together, over a romantic meal for two or with your friends, you will recall the frescoes of Piero della Francesca and the perfect walls of Monteriggioni, the Renaissance utopia of Pienza and the gastronomic glory of Castellina in Chianti. And again, to surprise you, there’ll be a sunset over Pitigliano and a stroll around the Etruscan necropolises of Sovana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castel Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Monastero Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castel Monastero Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing