We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible location and views...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castel Monastero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castel Monastero
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Incredible location and views...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here for part of a tour around Italy. The location and surroundings are beautiful as are the furnishings, artwork and interiors. The rooms also beautiful with peace & quiet for a wonderful nights sleep. We were let down by poor service a few times which did put a negative side on our review for example we were told by 3 separate members of staff we had to pay for the use of the spa eventhough I said our travel agent had told us it was included and made to feel rather embarrassed by the way it was translated as if we were trying to get something free! After emailing our agent in UK we received an apology saying the use of spa was actually included! As I thought!!
The spa has lovely sauna and steam room but some of the jets weren't working in the main indoor pool and the seats are probably the most uncomfortable spa seats we've ever experienced... Like wooden slatted moulded chairs so they could do with some loungers or cushioned chairs to lie on perhaps?
The cocktail bar man was wonderful and the housekeeping staff and particularly the breakfast staff led by Francesca. Superb level of service and simply delicious choice too.
Be warned when checking out that extras aren't added onto your bill as ours was too!
All in all a stunning setting to experience the local area and some fantastic restaurants in villages close by... Be sure to eat in the Osteria in Buccine village.
In summary we feel for even lower standards of hotels we have experienced far better service so may be an area for them to improve upon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stephy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    91
    51
    15
    5
See reviews for
75
283
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I would like to thank all team of amazing, magnificent Castel Monastero! It has been a great pleasure to stay in this Castel during my holidays in June!
My visit at Luxury Monastaro has been truly enjoyable and memorable! I'm impressed with the style, atmosphere, coloring, service, accommodation, catering, SPA & leisure facilities! Castel Monastero seems to be like a luxury dream and I'm sure it remains one of the best hotels among The luxury Hotels ))).
I make sure that "Castel Monastero" is the BEST suitable hotels in the region for people that keep the level of high service and MAGNIFICANT atmosphere on the highest level!!! I would like to thank all the team of the hotel for attention and support during my stay! Mr. Andrea - a GREAT GENERAL MANAGER!!! I was impressed with all stuff who served us on the resort -with the Reception, Guest Relations, Room Service, Housekeeping, Restaurant outlets, Service SPA and pools area and so on and so forth! They are real professionals!!!
Special thanks to Anna. She made unreal things, she helped us with everything ... transfers ... excursions... schedule of spa treatments ... dinners, etc. .. everything was organized perfectly! She is very attentive, active, punctual, and accurate! Big thanks to her!
Thanks to Mr. Nello, he is a very charming and creative Chef!!! Everything were masterpieces and soooo delicious ... and we thought about recommendations of Dr. Ali all the time, but we couldn't stop. Thanks to Mr. Rodolfo he was so attentive to us.
Wish to all of them success, good luck, stability, growth. I hope to come back to magnificant oasis of peace where everything have been done to get awesome recreation!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilona_Starchenkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 days at Castel Monastero and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Castel Monastero is an antique borgo which has been restored and transformed into a 5 star luxury resort.We spent the first afternoon in their Spa which was very relaxing after a week around Italy. The salt pool, followed by the saunas and whirlpools were an energizing experience. We enjoyed a great dinner at the Cantina restaurant ( we were there on Sunday & Monday when the high end Gordon Ramsey restaurant was closed ) with a great meal and a wonderul passito wine. Breakfast was served buffet style and was very good, the staff cordial. We would like to thank the General Manager, Mr. Andre Prevosti, for his geuine courtesy and all the staff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely base to explore Tuscany. Sienna only 20 minutes away by car. Rooms had a rustic feel but clean and comfortable and the housekeeping staff were pleasant and very thorough. The reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast (managed by Francesca) was excellent. The spa has a wonderful sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi. We enjoyed several evenings in the bar. The bartender is fabulous. My husband especially enjoyed his elderflower cocktail but I would recomend the Rosemary Sour - not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our last stop on our trip through Tuscany and it did not disappoint. When you enter the gates, you really feel like you are in a place separated from the rest of the world. Sitting in the pool with a cold crisp chardonnay wine from the Estate's winery with nothing but silence and the countryside before you was a highlight of the trip. We could not wait to get back from a day of touring to relax there. The breakfast is set up in a little piazza and the buffet and cooked food was fantastic. Try their poached eggs. We ate in the cantina one night and the pasta and wine was superb and I can honestly say that their pork belly with radichhio was one of the best dishes we had on our trip. The rooms are spacious and modern, the bathrooms great. They also give you a special touch by leaving you a complimentary bottle of one of their red and white wines. The hotel is close to Siena and is convenient to go to Cortona and the Chianti road. My only regret is that we did not use the spa. I wish I was there now!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nedrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

While exploring Tuscany, we came upon this magnificent property outside Sienna. The ambiance, design, food, and service was great but the spa was off the charts. Inside the spa you'll be able to relax in the float pool and experience the best jacuzzi with water falls that felt like hundreds of fingers massaging our shoulders. The outdoor pools, work out facility, and serene yoga room with windows overlooking the property were also stellar. All this and the outstanding food, especially the breakfast, make this a not to be missed property if you're in the region.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very special place on this Earth, 15 km from Sienna. 11th century Monastery was reconstructed and hotel created. Here you soul can find serenity, re-rest and to find inner strength to move forward. Way to yourself, romantic escape for two, anniversary, special celebration, wedding – all will be momentums of your life. You and your World – Castel Monastero…

By the way, Palio in Sienna this year is on August 12th, 2012.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, unique. Just ask reception to show you available if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
10.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
10.0 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
21.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
22.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Monastero

Property: Castel Monastero
Address: Loc. Monastero d'Ombrone, 19, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castel Monastero 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While painters are born, travellers are made and no land has aroused the curiosity, the enthusiasm and the culture of entire generations more than Tuscany. Certainly, not all of them have had the luck to begin their journey in the enchantment of Castel Monastero. In fact a few kilometres from our village, along roads of pure delight, can be found masterpieces of art and of the highest culinary tradition.Every day, a discovery. Every day a different itinerary passing through unspoiled scenery. Every day, on your return, a massage and a candle-lit dinner. And together, over a romantic meal for two or with your friends, you will recall the frescoes of Piero della Francesca and the perfect walls of Monteriggioni, the Renaissance utopia of Pienza and the gastronomic glory of Castellina in Chianti. And again, to surprise you, there’ll be a sunset over Pitigliano and a stroll around the Etruscan necropolises of Sovana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castel Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Monastero Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castel Monastero Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing