We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Glicine

Locanda del Glicine
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda del Glicine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Campagnatico
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've been spending weekends at this hotel since 2002. The location is marvellous, a classic building right on the central square of a small, lovely medieval town.
The staff is very caring and helpful. Our kid received the best attentions, their intention is to make you feel at home and they definitely succeed at that.

Special mention to the restaurant, Chef Daniele's cuisine is superb, an intriguing menu prepared with care, flawlessly. Even the breakfast was completely homemade, grandma's style :)

Room Tip: Room number 6 (top floor) while not large has a lovely terrace facing the town square and a window l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Umbertide
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had to stay near Grosseto and found this. We stayed 4 very comfy nights - the owner is 75 and owns an award winning vineyard. The Sri Lankan waiter overheard my wife say she was diabetic and the chef got up early next morning to make a superb choc and pear cake for breakfast! The food in this restaurant with rooms is Michelin standard but very reasonably priced. The house wine has a choice and is wonderful - ridiculously cheap. The whole experience was superb - it is a bit off the beaten track.

Room Tip: I think they are all nice but we had the junior suite. It is 3 star as they do not have amazing faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at the Locanda del Glicine on our honeymoon for three nights. I had stayed in Campagnatico before although my husband had not. He was overwhelmed by the service and accomodations.
The rooms are a delightful combination of old and new with the exposed medieval stone walls of the tower combined with a recent renovation and modern bathrooms. The room was quite large and was the biggest that we stayed in during our trip to Italy.
The staff could not have been more personable and ready to serve. Our every needed was anticipated and met including appertivo waiting when we arrived late afternoon. The restaurant downstairs has some of the best Tuscan rustic cuisine that I have ever tasted. The tempura fried zucchini flowers were particularly delicious. The owners, the Monaci family, also own Cantina Pieve Vecchia, a winery and olive grove just below the city and serve their finest wines, grappa, and olive oil in the quaint restaurant.
The town boasts a delightful coffee shop, a beautiful old church, and sweeping views of the Maremma. Located close to Grosseto, Siena, Montalcino, and Montepulciano, making it a great place to explore the coast and the famous Tuscan wine regions.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayhew58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This was the best part of my 10 day trip to Italy! My friend & I were the only guests & we were treated like queens. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. Simonetta is lovely. My friend was ill during our trip & they really helped us when we needed it! Sandun, our waiter, wore alot of hats for us... he served us our most impressive dinner, than in the morning drove us to the winery of the owners of the hotel, Vincenzo & Mariagratzia for a private tour, then he was kind enough to drive us to the train station!! Vincenzo even arranged ticketsfor us @ his theatre in Rome. This truely made the trip all worth while.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamaraf33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

If you're looking for a comfortable, affordable place to rest your head in a quaint Tuscan hilltop town this is it. We spent 2 nts and were very well attended to by a great bi-lingual staff. The village of Campagnatico is full of enticing narrow streets to explore with panoramic views. The restaurant is this hotel is the BEST in town and one of the best on our trip. The young chef came from Milan with experience in Calif. and New York....very creative,and an excellant value. Even if you don't stay @ the hotel, do have a meal here....fantastic!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank palmetto36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

I needed to bring my dogs with me during the weekend so I asked the owners and they told me it was no problem, as long as the dogs were used to staying and sleeping indoors.
I found the rooms very quiet, comfortable and elegantly furnished.
The restaurant and services were the best part of my weekend. The food was divine, in the Tuscan tradition. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast at the Locanda: greatly impressed!
Unfortunately I stayed just one day at the Locanda: hope to go back there soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comunicati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campagnatico
9.2 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
7.1 mi away
Castel Porrona Relais
Castel Porrona Relais
#1 of 1 in Porrona
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
11.7 mi away
La Melosa Resort
La Melosa Resort
#1 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
3.3 mi away
Albergo La Pace
Albergo La Pace
#3 of 7 in Civitella Paganico
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
4.3 mi away
Agriturismo Sant'Anna
Agriturismo Sant'Anna
#4 of 4 in Cinigiano
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Glicine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Glicine

Property: Locanda del Glicine
Address: Piazza Garibaldi 6/7/8, 58042 Campagnatico, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Campagnatico
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Campagnatico
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda del Glicine 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Locanda del Glicine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Glicine Campagnatico, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing