We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Campingvillage Le Capanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have just returned from a fortnight at this site, having stayed in maxicaravan 'Elba'. The site itself is immaculately clean and very shady in amongst lots of eucalyptus trees. The maxicaravan was compact, but was well equipped and there was a real benefit in having 2 ensuite bathrooms giving children and parents a little more space and privacy. It was clean and the only criticism (and slight disappointment) was how close we were to the other caravans. Ours was only 10 feet away from 3 other caravans and maybe 20 feet from 2 others. Not a major problem, but it would have been nice to have a little more space around us. The verandah extended the living space and it was lovely to sit out in the evening, playing cards over a bottle of the local red wine/aperol spritz. As everyone else has said, it is predominantly Dutch people visiting and a few Italian families - we only heard one other British family when we were there. Most staff speak English and our requests were perfectly well understood. The pool is clean and has a nice bar which serves a good selection of drinks and snacks - the slushes were particularly popular with us in the sweltering August sun. The staff at the pool were particularly helpful and friendly. However, there is little shade in which to sit if you are spectating. We were pleasantly surprised at the restaurant on site - we were expecting the normal reheated/deep fried offering but were delighted to find fresh pizzas and pasta, fish, wonderful antipasti and meat dishes - the food was of a very good quality. The steaks were beautiful and didn't disappoint! Most of all, the menu was reasonably priced and very relaxed atmospere for a lovely family meal. Again, the staff were realy pleasant and helpful. Finally, the mini golf course again was perfectly kept and a good way to spend an evening. The surrounding area is beautiful, especially the wine trail from Bolgheri to Castagneto Carducci but expect to drive 15/20 mins if you want a white sandy beach. I would recommend this site, particularly if you are seeking a family holiday with lots to do on site but without being too full on!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gninja12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Campingvillage Le Capanne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 357 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

This village is ideal for kids and parents but in our location mobilhome we had a minimum of equipments regarding coocking we dind't get heater, microwave, bbq, etc also there is no internet free included in the price and we had to pay 10€ for 5 hours and the network is really not efficient, the pool is perfect and well cleaned
i recommend this camping but some things need to be changed and added

Room Tip: Ask when you book to have all equipments in your accomodation
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank routard41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for 1 week at Le Capanne in a mobile home. Friends had stayed there and were very positive about it. It's definately not a bad campsite, but the overall rating by us is 'so so'.

The big + is the splendid location of the accomodation. In a nice pine forest with lush vegetation. Lots of shade. The mobile home was perfect (with much needed airco and a veranda).

However the pool was in our opinion sub-standard for the following reasons:
1) not enough chairs
2) absolute lack of shaded spots
3) impossible to watch the children in the pool from the chairs (natural boundry) which is unpleasant when they cannot swim yet...
4) not suitable for adults to swim
5) too crowded

The design is nice and the material of the pool-bottom (soft plastic) also, but when you cannot find a shaded spot 5 min. after the pool opens (only from 10 a.m. - 7 p.m. by the way) the disadvantages outweigh these positive things.

Campsite was clean, driving range next door not too expensive (24 balls @ 2 EUR incl. rental clubs).

Last thing: if you don't want to be at a 90% Dutch campsite: don't go...

We had still a good time, but I wouldn't recommend this campsite (for the peak season).

PS all our friends stayed in June -> less crowded + better...

Room Tip: Maxicaravan 54 was located nicely. Maybe a bit too close to the Animation...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_Dutch_observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from 2 and 1/2 weeks at Le Capanne with Eurocamp. Very clean, pool refreshingly cool and large enough for kids to play and adults to swim, The trees on this campsite offered much desired shade throughout the day, which was perfect for us lily white brits! Toilets cleaned regularly and well stocked with loo roll, showers offered ample hot water. The site staff were extremely helpful when booking trips or sourcing public transport, they were always polite and professional.The food delivered by onsite ristorante was excellent and amongst the best we experienced whilst in Italy. The staff were welcoming and delightfully indulgent in our sometimes poor attempts at Italian dialect, their warm and friendly manner added to our pleasant holiday experience!! This all added up to a wonderful stay at a delightful campsite in the beautiful Tuscan countryside.

Room Tip: The only down side would be its close proximity to the main road and train line, which is busy throu...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from this charming little campsite. Absolutely impeccable and meticulously clean. The swimming pool was larger than we thought and we loved the more personal feel that comes with a being a smaller campsite.

Set amongst a pine forest with eucalyptus and olive trees in abundance, this really was the perfect setting for a relaxing holiday. Nice play area for the kids too and the on-site restaurants and gelateria food were great. Immaculate campsite. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed in a Canvas Tent on this really lovely campsite. The campsite is a nice size around 400 pitches, about 50-50 mobile to camping.
Toilet blocks are clean, well equipped and accessible from all pitches. Loo roll is provided but as is usual on the continent NO SOAP!
The pitches are well laid out, the tour operator pitches are not nearly as good as their own pitches and much smaller. The other pitches are around 110msq and some come with a fridge in its own little container.
The resteraunt is lovely, very affordable with house wine only 8E a litre and most pizzas around 7 euros and you can choose to eat inside or on the terrace.
Great little shop and gelaterie, nice crazy golf and a decent play park.
The swimming pools are divine, what is lovely is that they are surrounded by grass so you can choose to lay on a lounger or sit on the grass. Be warned however, the pools are not heated which i suspect is not a problem for 90% of the season, but this May the weather has been bad so the pool really was too cold.
Two things I would wish to change, one is depending on your proximity to the motorway is the constant noise from the motorway, which to be fair is not heard on much of the campsite, but some of the Canvas emplacements will suffer.
Also, hot water is not constant, so that could be improved.
Overall, a brilliant campsite, with excellent facilities in a truly beautiful part of the world. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warbis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were very impressed with every aspect of our holiday here. We booked with Eurocamp and had never been with them before so didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. When we arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who took our details etc. and gave us the card for the barrier which you need to pay e refundable deposit of 10Euros. She then directed us to the Eurocamp courier who went out of his way to make sure we knew where everything was inside and outside the camp. He gave us useful local information such as the cheapest supermarket to go to (Penny Market, in Cecina) and places to visit etc.

All the staff at the camp site were very friendly and luckily for us who didn't speak very much Italian they all spoke very good English (and quite a few other languages having overheard them speaking to other customers).

The pool is amazing, it has a big main pool which joins under a bridge to a toddler pool which has 2 sections, 0.20metre depth and 0.50metre depth, great for my 2 year old to splash around in. The pool was very cold as you would expect in May but you get used to it after a couple of mins. There was also a water slide in the main pool and lifeguards in attendance during opening hours. There is also a little cafe/bar by the side of the pool and plenty of sun loungers all around.

The shop is small but sells all essentials plus more, it also has a section when you enter that sells beach/pool equipment and kids toys etc. Again the staff here are very helpful and friendly.

The restaurant is reasonably priced and the food is nice, be aware if you've not been to Italy before that you will have to flag down a waiter if you wish to order further drinks, courses, get the bill etc. but this is common for any restaurant in Italy.

There is a great sized park for the kids, my 2 year old loved it, he needed help getting up all but 1 of the slides but I think next year he'll manage most of it by himself so suitable for 3 years up without assistance.

There are about 3 large grass hut type buildings which house the showers, toilets and washing up rooms, all very clean but poorly lit in the day as the roof blocks a lot of sun out and the lights don't come on til it's gone dark, but don't get me wrong, you can see what you're doing! In the washing up room there are 2 washing machines which you have to pay 5Euros to use but this includes you're washing liquid. I would recommend not to use all the liquid, maybe half as they set the machines to only allow you to select the minimum amount of water for rinsing so everything comes out not quite rinsed properly, we had to re-wash everything when we got home on a rinse cycle and there were lots of bubbles! Still, it was handy to have the option to wash as my son wet the bed the 1st night we were there :(

The location is great for trips to Volterra, Pisa (both about 1 hour away) also Sienna, Florence and many more places in Tuscanny which are up to about 2 hours away.

Overall, a very good experience and would definitely go back and recommend to friends/family :D

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank k8loolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibbona
2.0 mi away
Park Hotel Marinetta
Park Hotel Marinetta
#1 of 9 in Marina di Bibbona
1,193 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camping Le Tamerici
Camping Le Tamerici
#1 of 18 in Cecina
377 reviews
2.4 mi away
Camping Il Gineprino
Camping Il Gineprino
#7 of 19 in Bibbona
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Camping Village Le Pianacce
Camping Village Le Pianacce
#2 of 41 in Castagneto Carducci
214 reviews
17.1 mi away
Park Albatros
Park Albatros
#3 of 28 in San Vincenzo
1,455 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Esperidi Village
Le Esperidi Village
#1 of 15 in Marina di Bibbona
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campingvillage Le Capanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campingvillage Le Capanne

Address: Via Aurelia km 273, 57020 Bibbona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Bibbona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Bibbona
Price Range: $65 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campingvillage Le Capanne 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Campingvillage Le Capanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campingvillage Le Capanne Bibbona, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing