We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream place in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Sant'Elena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Sant'Elena
Ranked #1 of 7 Bibbona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dream place in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

we visited this beautiful relais in august and it was a very nice experience. The house is set nicely in the landscape and you feel truly in a different world. especially nice is the sunset which you can experience the best from a tower near by. The rooms are at a high standard which is worth the price. We did not try the dinner but breakfast was perfect, so many choices. Will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobiasWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    33
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
230
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a beautiful, quiet, relaxing place! My one night at Sant' Elena just wasn't enough! But it was long enough to experience the beautiful and serenity of the Tuscan countryside, experience an amazing sunset, their wonderful dinner and charming service. Oh, and the breakfast buffet was the best of my vacation.

Room Tip: I requested the Charme room and the room was lovely and had a small patio table outside where I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Relais Sant'Elena for one week during our honeymoon. It was perfect, from the moment we arrived. Everyone was taking care of us, making sure we have everything we need. The buffet breakfest of this hotel is the best I have ever seen, giving you a reason to smile from the moment you open your eyes. Also, the restaurant terrace is a good place to have a nice dinner and enjoy a bottle of wine.
The rooms are all nice, contributing to the wonderful Tuscan experience.
The hotel is located in a very quiet place, offering total relaxation and making every moment spent here a great one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Relais Sant'Elena for a couple of nights during our Honeymoon. We could not have been happier. Very elegant with the classic country charm of Tuscany. The day we arrived, we signed up for a dinner and wine tasting event, which was really enjoyable. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and the accommodation was very comfortable. A lovely location and easy to reach some of the local villages as well as nearby beaches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voliamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here a little while ago. our booking was with the hotel direct paying just under 300 euroes a night in one of the best rooms not the best though.
Since returning we find with expidia it would have been 180 euros Not too pleased with the differance.

The hotel is very nice very quiet good service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaundenTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent our honeymoon here and were able to relax lots at this lovely hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was great (a wide choice at breakfast, organic food produced at the hotel's sister farm, organic wine, homemade olive oil). There are two lovely cats, and especially Trudy is very friendly to the guests :-) Be ready for lots of wildlife, with geckos, foxes, swallows, bees, butterflies, and - unfortunately - plenty of wasps, mosquitos and hornets. There are lots of extra services available to the guests, which, like the rooms (over 200€ a night for an en suite double), are pricey: 6€ per item of clothing in the laundry service and 90€ for an hour's massage. The bathrooms, though, are particularly impressive and the decor in general is lovely with natural stone floors.

Wherever you look there is a beautiful countryside view and there are gorgeous flowerbeds around the grounds, but don't make the mistake we made and come expecting any kind of transport links to the outside world. There are no buses, no taxis (minimum 50€ for them to come from the closest taxi point 15km away), and to get anywhere without a car you'll need to rent bikes or hike down into Bibbona in narrow, unlit streets. There are a few little niggles (some maintenance work needed, very soft bed, bad wifi which only really works if you're in the communal lounge area, only one room key for couples, causing problems for the other person to get back onto the grounds through the locked gates). On the other hand, if you want peace and quiet and don't mind not being able to have a few drinks in the evening, this is the perfect place for rest and relaxation; the hotel really takes peace and quiet seriously and expects guests to keep it down at night. As a side note: unless you make a "Do not disturb" sign for your door, reckon with the very effecient cleaners turning up at 10am sharp!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-in-Osnabrueck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

A Tuscan dream. Beautiful rooms that were very clean. Fantastic views - it is as if the hill with the tower on top was purpose built to be viewed from the swimming pool! The breakfast is one of the best we have ever experienced, there was an impressive selection to choose from and everything was very fresh! There are some fantastic beaches nearby, Baratti was our favourite. Bolgheri the nearby wine village is almost a must, their best wine Sassicaia seems to be sold in all the best restaurants in Tuscany and beyond. We will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SJP-999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibbona
12.1 mi away
Relais Poggio Ai Santi
Relais Poggio Ai Santi
#4 of 25 in San Vincenzo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
24.0 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
4.6 mi away
Park Hotel Marinetta
Park Hotel Marinetta
#1 of 10 in Marina di Bibbona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Strada Giulia - 16
Strada Giulia - 16
#1 of 2 in Bolgheri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Locanda di Villa Toscana
0.8 mi away
Villa Il Palazzino
Villa Il Palazzino
#2 of 7 in Bibbona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Sant'Elena

Property: Relais Sant'Elena
Address: Via Campo Di Sasso, 57020 Bibbona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Bibbona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bibbona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Sant'Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Sant`Elena Hotel Bibbona
Relais Sant'Elena Bibbona, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing