We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camping Il Gineprino
Nearby Hotels
Il Chiassetto(Bolgheri)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hermitage(Marina di Bibbona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcobaleno Village(Marina di Bibbona)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Flora(Marina di Bibbona)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Park Hotel Marinetta(Marina di Bibbona)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varo Village Hotel(Marina di Bibbona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nina(Marina di Bibbona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
99
101
56
57
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
101
56
57
72
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 385 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2010

My friends and I, where visiting the Tuscan coast for the first time. We landed in Pisa and decided to take a road trip down the coast, I had heard from my friends back home that this was a great place to stay. We stayed at the camping for 10 days, in a cozy little "Casetta" in the camping. We were surprised by the great location and the "value for money", we walked to the beach everyday and often had dinner at the restaurant! This was a perfect get away for me and friends! We will be back next summer for sure! I Highly recommend this spot!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliviaCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I spent at Il Gineprino 5 days, from 9 to 14/08/09, with my wife and my daughter.
As soon as you arrive you are informed you have to pay in advance the full amount of your stay, and also that they do not accept credit card and you can pay only cash.
We tried the only two ATM of the town, but they were broken, so at the end of the day they said that in that case they would have accepted the credit card (!!).
Furthermore, they choose for you the pitch for your tent, even if a lot of them are free. No way you can state your preference.
If you rent a room, you are immediately informed that your rent is considered as a B&B, so no intermediate cleaning is foreseen/included, even if you stay there 15 days! This happened to two friend of us who were there in the same period. Obviously you can pay an extra for this service.

As for the facilities, they are very old and their maintenance is very poor (I would rather say absent).
The pool is almost new but the water does not appear very clean.
The only positive thing I have to admit is that the restrooms were clean considering that our stay was during the high season. But this is not sufficient to balance all the negativities of these place.

In addition, the sea is far away (about 1 km) and the path to reach it is sandy and steep, so no way you can walk it with a babychair.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

About Camping Il Gineprino.
I have never befor had to pay the whole price in advance.
If you changed your mind og didn´t like the place, you had lost your money as they never pay money back!!
The places were rather small and the toilets and showers neede more cleaning.
Shopping far away. A long walk to the beach, where the sand was black and very coarse.
The reception was not very firendly.
We cannot recommend this camping.

Jørgen Nielsen
Denmark

jcn@nal-net.dk

Stayed: June 2008
3  Thank jcnOdense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Having booked two campsites for 8 days we experienced the rare speciality of having to pay the full amount for the stay in advance.
Our friends at the second site informed at arrival that their children would leave some days earlier and so they wouldn´t be the same number of people on the lot the whole period.
This created a whole lot of confusion at arrival, but the booking assistant would try to sort things out with his boss.
After several attempts during the week to get some information about this problem our friends ended up in having to pay the full amount for all persons for all days even though their children left after 3 days.
This way of rigid behavour to their guests is very disappointing and therefore I cannot recommend this campingsite to others.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank toretiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We chose Il Gineprino as we were looking for self catering accommodation on the Tuscan coast, within walking distance of the beach and restaurants/town, but with easy access to inland places like Siena.

After a lot of surfing the internet and checking maps, we found Il Gineprino in Marina di Bibbona and booked a ‘Casetta type D’ for the last 2 weeks of August 2007.

Although on the camp sites web site there were various types of accommodation, the ‘Casetta type D’ was essentially a modern mobile home, with a double bedroom (with an additional narrow bed) and a smaller bedroom with 2 narrow single beds arranged in an ‘L’ shape. There was a combined toilet/shower room and a living area with basic cooking facilities (4 gas rings, a fridge and minimal plates/cooking utensils). There was air-conditioning which was EUR35 per week extra.

Outside there was a covered fenced off seating area with a table and chairs.

Although the casetta/mobile home layout was practical for our needs, the cooking utensils were basic and although we did minimal cooking (just breakfasts, sandwiches and a few salads) we ended up buying some extra things ourselves (e.g. glasses, cutting knifes and even a cork screw).

There was a pleasant pool area, which could get crowded (but then it was August) and a restaurant which was reasonably priced. The mini market (attached to the restaurant) sold the absolute basics (and not much more) and was only open the first week we were there, then closed without notice. Service in both the restaurant and the bar could have been friendlier.

Cars were only allowed on site when arriving and departing and had to be parked in a car park across the road, next to what seemed to be an overflow camping area.

The actual site is quite small with a mix of bungalows and mobile homes to rent and privately owned caravans (with large awnings covering their pitches) as well as pitches for tents, touring caravans and motor homes. The downside to the camp site was that the bungalows, mobile homes and caravans were very close together arranged in lines off a main pathway and in our case we were on a corner over looking the toilet block. As a result, we felt that we had no privacy and that we were being watched by anybody walking to or from the toilet block. Tents, touring caravans and motor homes seemed to be squeezed on a central area wherever they could find space.

Another downside was that they did not accept credit cards, so the deposit and final payment had to be made by bank transfer (which is expensive from the UK to Italy), or bring the balance of the rental in cash.

We were disappointed with Marina di Bibbona as a resort. It is separated from the beach by woods with just a few access points (the beach was about 10 minutes walk from the camp site) and the resort is basically purpose built, had little character, no sense of being next to the sea and very few restaurants. The beach is a mixture of coarse sand, shingle and pebbles and dropped steeply into the sea, making it difficult for young children to get in and out of the sea particularly with the waves. In the end, when we were not sightseeing we spent most of the time by the pool.

There were a few small supermarkets in Marina di Bibbona, but we found a couple of large supermarkets in Cecina (about 10 minutes by car).

However, we found the location good as a base for getting to the inland sights of Tuscany. Volterra is about 45 minutes drive, San Gimignano just over an hour and Siena about 90 minutes. There are also some small villages nearby following the marked wine route.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWW's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews