We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of tranquillity in a maddening World!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aguglia Agriturismo hotel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Noto
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The location of this Oasis of tranquillity is everything! Aguglia Agriturismo is situated in the middle of a farming area, but within an hours driver to many places of interest, parks and 10 minutes to a variety of restaurants .Though the excellent rooms are in converted farm out buildings, they are well away from the working farm, in there own well thought out and attended grounds. Awaking in the morning to little more than the wind in the trees and birds on the wing was remarkable, only the occasional distant sound of a passing car, or of farm activity drifted into our tranquil surroundings. Daniela's attention to detail is reflected quality furniture, the superb bed, to the candle in the bathroom. Surprisingly the lack of air-conditioning was never a problem and the requested fan was never turned on!!
Breakfast, was tailored to our tastes and included fresh baked bread, cake, farm produced eggs, herbs, Jams and honey that had our taste buds singing!
Our hostess was very knowledgeable about the area, helping in planning our day, guiding us to places we would not have considered, ensuring availability and making reservations if required.

A remarkable find that should not be over looked due to to lack of air-conditioning or pool.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nigsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aguglia, Owner at Aguglia Agriturismo hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I read only now your comment about us on Tripadvisor: thank you very much, you were very very kind.
My warm regards
Daniela from AGUGLIA agriturismo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

Aguglia - a renovated farmhouse set in acres of unspoilt farmland. This is possibly one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. The rooms are large and decorated with a rustic charm. They have air-con, a fridge, a proper double bed (not two singles stuck together) and a spacious en-suite bathroom (with shower).
Then there's the little things. In the bathroom you can use olive oil soap made on the farm. For buffet breakfast you can eat home-made jams and honey, home baking, locally grown fruit, yoghurt, cheese, cold meat, juice and coffee, all outside on a lovely terrace overlooking farmland.
And finally your hostess - Daniella. She is always smiling and eager to help you explore the surrounding towns. She speaks good English, is friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
This is an excellent base if you have a car and want to see Noto, Palazzolo, Avola, Modica, Ragusa, Buscemi or Scicli (all within 40 mins drive). Syracuse is less than an hour away.
PS you will need a car to stay here and you will need directions: Aguglia sits on the SP24 (between Palazzolo and Noto), about 15km outside of Noto. If you have satnav, use the town of Rigolizia as your destination. If you're coming from Noto, pass through Rigolizia and drive for another 1km. Keep an eye on the signposts. Aguglia sits between 7 and 8 on the right hand side (I believe they show the number of kilometres to the next town). If you're driving from Palazzolo, Aguglia sits between 8 and 7, on your left. If you reach Rigolizia you've gone too far.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BenPaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We have come to stay at Aguglia during the off-season. November is till a wonderful time to travel and we were pleasantly surprised by the warm and sunny days. Despite the fact that everyone around us was wearing winder jackets we enjoyed the breakfast in short sleeved shirts on our terrasse. Daniela was a wonderful guide providing us with lots of information about the region and guiding us to sights, towns, and restaurants that she enjoys. Due to her recommendations we enjoyed the trip to the fullest.
At Aguguila we enjoyed not only the excellent breakfast, but also specialities produced at the farm. The olive oil of excellent quality was a delicious accompaniment, but so were the olives cured in wild fennel and walnuts. We stocked up on the various products, which are now enjoying at home. We will have to return once we run out ;-))

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olim3ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

what I did like: the agriturismo is nicely restored, with "buon gusto"; unspoilt countryside all around, with beautiful wiews; spacious rooms; excellent bathroom, with all amenities; excellent, simple but cozy breakfast; peaceful setting; we did not meet the real owner, but over the phone she was really willing to help and sympathetic; the kindness of Signora Mariarosa, working there and taking care of us.
what I did not like: lack of wireless internet connection; be warned, you need a car, you are in the middle of nothing.
There is no pool, but it was not a problem for us. If I was the owner I am not sure I would actually build one.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SigfridItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2007

We stayed at Aguglia farmhouse from April 9 to 13. We loved it here; a real find for us. It is located in the middle of old farm country, with lots of old style twisty, winding roads. Probably the way it was, and still is. Quick drive into Syracuse which we did, but our favourite was the trip we made to Ragusa – well worth it. Our host, Daniela did everything possible to make our stay pleasant – very attentive. She even made sure we were warm when the temperatures dropped. We loved the spaciousness of the rooms – actually a large downstairs entry with a very large loft. The farm produces great products which we got to sample every day, such as: the wonderful home made soap, the absolutely unbeatable tangerine marmalade at breakfast – I couldn’t get enough of it or find the same recipe elsewhere. Breakfasts were sumptuous. The farm is located km’s away from any major road, hence very quiet. We recommend it highly if you want quiet, off the beaten track rest in beautiful countryside, within a 30 minute drive to Syracuse. By the way, Daniela’s father, who does not speak English, was an absolutely perfect gentleman, very likeable. It was most pleasant to make friendly conversation with him – dictionary in hand.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerXkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sabrina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tommaso V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noto hotels
9.6 mi away
Tenuta Olive Alive
Tenuta Olive Alive
#7 of 33 in Noto
84 reviews
7 mi away
Masseria degli Ulivi
11.2 mi away
Albergo La Fontanella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#11 of 33 in Noto
350 reviews
14.7 mi away
Masseria Della Volpe
11.1 mi away
B&B Montandon
B&B Montandon
#22 of 33 in Noto
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguglia Agriturismo hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguglia Agriturismo hotel

Address: Contrada Aguglia | Strada Provinciale 24, Km 7.300, 96017, Noto, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Noto
Price Range: $96 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aguglia Agriturismo hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo hotel AGUGLIA is for guests who look for: rooms of a superior class, a special breakfast, bar and room service, swimming pool, peace and quiet. Aguglia is 640 metres above sea level, in the middle of a 67-acre farm, full of nut, cherry and olive trees, 7 kilometres away from Palazzolo Acreide (a town designated as a World Heritage site by U.N.E.S.C.O.), 20 Kilometres from Noto and Cavagrande Nature Reserve.The country house is half an hour's drive to the beaches, Syracuse, Ragusa Ibla, Modica,Pantalica Nature Reserve and the beaches. An hour's drive to Caltagirone and Catania.We are on SP 24 road that joins Palazzolo Acreide - Testa Dell'Acqua - Noto town. Between the road signs "7th" and "8th" km,at exactly 7,300 km from Palazzolo, you will find the road leading to the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aguglia Agriturismo hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguglia Agriturismo Hotel Noto, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing